McKesson Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

McKesson Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
29%
Recommend to a Friend
McKesson CEO Brian Tyler
Brian Tyler
0 Rating
  1. "Better company than most others that I have worked recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good balance between work-personal life .. Good benefits, quality of people they recruit/attract is much better than most recent companies those I worked with.

    Cons

    politics, it was a huge organization and difficult to manage back in 2016

    McKesson2019-12-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unless you want to be in customer support, run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at McKesson for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I could see

    Cons

    I was hired as a senior software engineer. I have been a software engineer for 30+ years, and the position is usually 80% writing code, 20% testing and documentation. At McKesson the software engineer position requires 20% travel (which I did not find out until I was hired) and most of the time is spent installing fixes at customer sites. If this is what someone likes to do that is fine, but it is certainly not a typical software engineer position and this needs to be explained at the interview. If they told me the job involved 20% travel I would have turned down the job and not wasted everyone's time

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tell the truth about what the position involves during the interview process, since it is not typical for this position

    McKesson2019-07-12
  3. "best company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Westminster, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a large corporation with good benefits and resources

    Cons

    It is a complex organization and make small changes takes longer time

    McKesson2019-01-23
  4. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Hadley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is good work going on there. I believe in healthcare work.

    Cons

    It was hard to stay current with technology.

    Advice to Management

    Respond to employee requests to engage in innovation.

    McKesson2018-12-12
  5. "Sr Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Recommends

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People , very motivated and very relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    Could do better on Benefits

    McKesson2018-02-14
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Decent company but could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Bonuses Sometimes has interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    1) Management doesn't value employees. Especially senior management. Rare to give (meaningful) Kudos, they come and go so often the company path looks like that of a sailboat heading into the wind (tacking back and forth). Almost no reason to learn the name of your VP, by the time you get to know them they move on (and leave their mess in their wake (how about that, two sailing references in one review - a sign!). 2) No job stability. I've been @ McKesson for a long time but there are constant huge lay-offs that have nothing to do with job performance. At the same time, have a look at our CEOs salary. Now that he's getting a big fat tax cut (along with the company) it would be great to see him reduce his salary and stop laying us off 2x/year. 3) It is pretty much impossible to change positions. Whatever you are hired on as you remain (forever). You can climb the management ladder if you're located in the (current) correct place but first level managers are highest risk with their jobs IMO. Very dangerous (and the job sucks).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees a lot more!!!! Allow us to move around a bit. Even if there is a learning gap. You'll end up with fewer silos that way (and employees will be happier). Also, stop gouging our bonuses for stupid crap that we can't control.

    McKesson2017-12-27
  7. "Sr Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, time off, work from home

    Cons

    Coporate Raiders of the 21st century. Stop giving good raises in 08. Yet CEO gets high dollars.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to employees,

    McKesson2018-01-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "End of software developement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was very stable for a time Work/life balance Hands off management

    Cons

    Was obvious that McKesson wanted out of the software business in some healthcare areas Business direction and leaders changed before plans implemented Lots of off-shore development

    Advice to Management

    Try to stick to a plan on move forward with it. McKesson would alienate long term customers looking for bigger customers. Move forward with newer technology.

    McKesson2017-09-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am able to work from home. The hours are flexible. The benefits are comparable to other companies. Pay is on the high end for the industry.

    Cons

    Excessive focus on new products to the detriment of mature products that have great ROI for customers.

    Advice to Management

    Not really much since the software side has been sold to Change and Allscripts. In any case, Senior Management has never seemed to have a grasp of the software development cycle and made decisions that obstructed the process of developing good software that has a high ROI for customers. Examples would be repeatedly offshoring development of new products and new functionality.

    McKesson2017-08-11
  10. "Good culture but low compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance. High quality people, and good culture.

    Cons

    They should pay more.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to employees.

    McKesson2017-06-27
Found 38 reviews