McKesson "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

McKesson Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
McKesson CEO Brian Tyler
Brian Tyler
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work-life balance, flexible hours(in 227 reviews)

  • "immediate managers; WFH flexibility; opportunities to develop and try new things; good benefits; sense of purpose(in 226 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good company, good benefits, flexible work

    Cons

    none I can tell , very good

    Advice to Management

    good company

    McKesson2019-09-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Too much politics involved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Grove City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good at least.

    Cons

    Management ask too much of their employees they under value hard working employees and hold one's that don't work hard way above than where they need to be. Certain managers have their favorites like most companies do. I did my fair share doing two peoples job and then some. The environment there is so stressful management likes to bark orders while they sit in their office. A couple supervisors there were so... unprofessional and some didn't know what the heck they were doing. They cut cost on a lot of things and in doing so the employees suffer if they upgraded what they needed too everything would run soo much smoother and make things so much easier but of course upper management like those bonuses they would rather have money in their pocket then worry about employees under them. They constantly blow smoke up your butt then wonder why they have such a high turn over rate. So no I would not recommend anyone to apply at mckesson if you want to be over worked, under paid, and under valued then thats the place for you if I could give them zero stars i would.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit worrying about the bonuses and worry and do for the employees that keep you employed and the company going. Its time to stop worrying about yourselves and start actually managing and helping instead of sitting in the office all day on your phones and quit worrying about being a friend and start acting like a supervisor. Because the lack of knowledge, leadership, and under valuing good employees you will loose... good people all the time.

    Show More
    McKesson2019-07-21
  3. "Strong Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training Available, Good Salaries, Good Benefits

    Cons

    Hard to move up if you aren't near a corporate office, could be political at times.

    McKesson2019-06-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Just tell us you're closing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR2 in Farmington, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits decent pay if you work here long enough

    Cons

    Lack of communication regarding the outcome of the merger

    Advice to Management

    Tell us ahead of time instead of slowly emptying the building. It's obvious when there are NO jobs to posted in CT. ALL open positions are out of state! The writing is on the wall!!! Send me my severance package so I can work on securing a future with a company that actually cares about me!

    McKesson2019-06-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "McKesson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Systems Analyst/QA Manager - Product Development in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flex working hours

    Cons

    Extremely poor upper management. Lay-offs used as a common practice to cover poor planning. Blame the ACA for cutting benefits when it is the greed of the CEO.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are the only true asset treat them as such. The company Does not behave in a way that demonstrates anything other than lip service to diversity.

    McKesson2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upward mobility, supportive executive leadership, good benefits, annual merit increases.

    Cons

    Customer service is treated different from all other departments. They are on a permanent fixed schedule, no flexibility. They can not attend all employee calls/events due to staffing. They strictly enforce certain policies that other departments do not even have knowledge of. 30min lunch.

    Advice to Management

    Try to streamline the gap between other back office departments and customer service. Try to remember that your CSR’s are your front line and if they are in anyway disappointed in how they are treated it may reflect poorly on our customer.

    McKesson2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Grateful for my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great referral system

    Cons

    Unusual culture for a large corporation. Only a few people get recognized for what they do

    Advice to Management

    Micromanaging is a sign of insecurity

    McKesson2019-06-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Moon Township, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and perks, free parking

    Cons

    Allowing toxic managers to stay in power way too long.

    Advice to Management

    Listen when we tell you someone is toxic

    McKesson2019-05-31
  9. "Solid company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing leadership, esp. immediate managers; WFH flexibility; opportunities to develop and try new things; good benefits; sense of purpose

    Cons

    Some processes are antiquated like the reimbursement process

    McKesson2019-05-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    allowed and encouraged remote employees good benefits

    Cons

    work/life balance not always respected - excessive on-call

    McKesson2019-04-17
Found 226 reviews