McKinley, Inc. "property management" Reviews | Glassdoor

McKinley, Inc. Employee Reviews about "property management"

Updated Mar 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
McKinley, Inc. CEO Albert M. Berriz
Albert M. Berriz
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people you work with everyday, great pay, great benefits, incredible residents(in 14 reviews)

  • "I have worked at other property management companies that love hiring McKinley employees because they have a reputation for having high standards(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "property management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A breath of fresh air from all of the stale, intellectually void property management companies out there. It was nice to finally work somewhere where they valued intelligence and compensated employees properly for the responsibility that comes with managing multi-million dollar assets. I took great pride working for a company that had such high expectations and backed them up. The work-life balance was great,... leadership provided support from the Regional Directors up to executive management, and managers were allowed to think creatively and solve problems rather than just regurgitate nonsensical corporate policies.

    Show More

    Cons

    The decreased scope of geographical concentration meant my property was sold.

    Advice to Management

    Don't listen to the foolish reviews from people on this site content to live among the mediocre mouthbreathers of the property management industry. You have great people in place so keep encouraging them and allowing them to thrive. The culture, values, and compensation provided are all wonderful.

    McKinley, Inc.2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience as a Community Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time with McKinley was short-lived; approx 18 months; however, I learned a lot about property management and the many responsibilities involved in running a great community. My initial training was solid. I spend multiple weeks 'off the floor' working with my trainer learning the behind the scenes of being an Assistant Manager; i.e. billing, collections, payments, quality assurance etc. Once I arrived at my... home community, I was able to start with confidence and be quite successful in the position for almost a year before moving into the Community Manager role. That was a different story. See below. I thoroughly enjoyed my friendships and mentoring I received from various colleagues throughout the company. Plus a lot of enjoyable residents and prospects.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing 'earth-shattering' negative to say other than upper-management are micro-managers a little more than my personal liking. I realize that they want/need specific information from time-to-time; however, if you are managing a community with limited or no other colleagues, that micro-managing can take it toll. You need to be given time to complete projects, respond to emails, and most importantly,... address resident issues with the correct resources. I began working more hours at home such as on my weekdays and off days I would easily work 4+ hours on leads, prospects, lease renewals etc. Communication could be vague and frequent at times and you had to be able to 'read between the lines' to fully know what was being asked. When you do ask, they then question your confidence in being able to do the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I want to emphasize that as a whole, McKinley is a solid company with a lot happening with opportunities but can be quick to judge their own employees too quickly without regard to circumstances.

    McKinley, Inc.2019-02-22
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible just horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Have to pay high wages because they have a horrible reputation and can't find good experienced individuals because of it. Many communities are lead by inexperienced managers with little to no property management experience, so needless to say there is a high turnover ratio.

    Cons

    Everyone is stressed. Upper management style of management is consistent with that of a dictatorship. They lead by instilling fear so everyone is job scared. It's a shame because this company is huge but it is so corporate that employees are just seen as numbers. With this company the only guarantee you'll have is unemployment. Good luck to whoever thinks this company is for them.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so robotic Grow a personailty People are not just numbers Establish a better culture for your staff

    McKinley, Inc.2018-05-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Has its ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start a career in property management sales

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance. Unrealistic expectations and deadlines. Managers have the potential to be team players. Regional directors have the potential to reflect the same respect given to them by their staff.

    Advice to Management

    “We love our residents” , but how? . Rent payments, billing statements, past due balances, eviction notices, management harassing residents? How else do you love your residents? Don’t just say it or post it on some website or business Show us!

    McKinley, Inc.2017-10-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the culture, the benefits, the ability to work with leaders to plan your development, and the opportunity to learn from some of the most passionate people in our industry. I have worked at other property management companies that love hiring McKinley employees because they have a reputation for having high standards.

    Cons

    In order to make it at McKinley you must have a strong work ethic, a thick skin, and an ability to handle redirection and feedback. Expectations are high and you will be pushed outside your comfort zone.

    McKinley, Inc.2017-08-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Disaster and disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Maintenance Technician in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In the field there are no pros. The person who I interviewed on the phone was very pleasant . On site interview at their only beautiful property was pleasant as well. They kept me under the impression that the property I interviewed at was where I would be place. I did not know what nightmares I was about to step into.

    Cons

    This is my experience as a Senior Maintenance Tech.They do not give out Maintenance Supervisor titles because they feel that their property managers can delegate the maintenance.This company will help you commit spiritual suicide,no grasp on what's going on. The worst management company in the United States. Please if your desperate for a job don't do it. Just keep looking. Do not pass any other company for this one.... Don't make the same mistake I made. If your in the maintenance realm just listen to what everyone else speaks of this company . Orlando is on the boom with property management jobs. Stay away from this company and be patient.I was fortunate to find employment with another company and my lord what a difference. My first week I worked 50 plus hours.Property management feels like fixing a closet door at 6pm is more important than an electrical emergency. My second week I was placed on a property with 42 open work orders and 4 emergencies on my first day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why do you have to mix your properties together?why must you have to go to another property to take parts or use employees from other properties. It does not work. No other company does it. In the real estate and property rental business you guys are considered to be a joke. Every property should have a maintenance supervisor and have them deal with vendors and delegate the maintenance staff. You should not put that... responsibility on the property manager.All management companies use what's called a P.O system.. if you don't trust your maintenance staff this system will control what's being ordered and what's needed. How can you put one person on call for multiple properties. That's unheard of. If you have your maintenance staff focused on their property then preventive maintenance and customer service will excel and keep the on calls down. Having an experienced supervisor running the maintenance instead of someone in an office who will not even get up out of their chair because it's to hot outside is ridiculous. Example I had a plumbing emergency and an apartment to be painted. The property manager said forget the plumbing emergency lets get that apartment painted I will call a plumber! A plumber cost 1300 a painter cost 175.00. Guess which one the property manager when with?? My advice coming from a Maintenance Supervisor with 18 years experience is to teach your property managers the number one rule of maintenance. Always protect the owners assets.

    Show More
    McKinley, Inc.2017-08-08
  7. Helpful (7)

    "No Ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Ypsilanti, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As most of the reviews are stating, the pay is above market. I worked with a good group of people at the site level who kept me positive.

    Cons

    I wanted to throughly reflect on my experience with McKinley before I posted a review. I am no longer a disgruntled employee, however, I feel that my experience with McKinley will hopefully put things into perspective not only for its applicants, but for its employees. I went through a pretty grueling interview process for a community manager position. When I was offered a position, I was told that they don't like... to hire people with multifamily experience as it can be hard to adjust to McKinley's work environment. Because of this, I was offered a customer service manager position where I would collecting rent and delinquents in order to get my feet wet. After a few days of training, I felt comfortable enough to tell my regional that I was 5 months pregnant. I was congratulated and we moved on. I had 2 weeks of training on an archaic rent collection system, and was then transferred to the largest property in their portfolio. The files and rent accounts were an absolute disaster as my predecessor got burnt out. I previously worked in low-income and had to rehab tax credit files, but I had never seen it that bad. I filed 47 (yes, 47) evictions my first month and that was only for people who had over a $500 balance. I knew that if I didn't start to set the record straight with residents, I was going to sink. Long story short, I was firm about rent collection and following fair housing by not making exceptions for people. I have a heart but the residents in question had been notoriously behind on rent, according to their accounts. I was told by my immediate supervisor that I needed to soften my tone and be a little easier on people. (My job was to collect delinquents at a property where nearly a 3rd of the residents were on section 8...not sure how that's possible!) I did my best to follow her lead but that wasn't enough. One day the president's son and my regional shower up on property. I was taken aback as I was not expecting them, and our exchange was admittedly awkward. That same day I was fired for being too firm and not presenting myself well to ownership. Keep in mind I had never been reprimanded, I didn't do anything illegal, I was 6 months pregnant, and I had just relocated back into the state due to my husband's military reassignment. If that doesn't speak volumes about how the company feels about their employees, I don't know what does. I had never been fired and I had successfully rehabbed a low income property prior to getting hired on with them. This is a horrible company that is worthless to the local apartment association and anyone who has any legitimate experience in property management. It will be a waste of time for you to apply. I'm short, avoid this company at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read your other reviews. The reviews speak volumes.

    McKinley, Inc.2016-11-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc.

    Pros

    One of the better paying property management companies. Great benefits!

    Cons

    It's only about the numbers you produce.

    Advice to Management

    Craigslist can attract the wrong demographic.

    McKinley, Inc.2016-04-26
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Assistant Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Community Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity for bonuses as long as they don't take that perk away like they have everything else. McKinley is a good stepping stone but that's it. it's not a company meant for long term employment. You can be their top performer and they will find a way to get rid of you so they can cut expenses. God forbid they have to give someone a raise. Decent money while it lasts. Co workers are nice. The best part is working... with the residents. They are awesome and that's why I love property management.

    Show More

    Cons

    Regionals are heartless and don't seem to remember what it was like when they were in the "less thans" shoes. They have no problem letting you know that you can and will be replaced. 50 hour work weeks with little to no appreciation. CEO doesn't seem to have any idea that his regionals are jerks and most of his property managers are not qualified to even tie their own shoes. I am not a disgruntled employee... regardless of how it sounds. I quit when It was apparent that McKinley only saw me as a number. Run. Run fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice is mainly for regional since most of the property managers have NO property management experience, and therefore cannot be blamed for their ignorance. Regionals should remember when they were in our shoes. Remember if you treat an employee with respect, you'll get a lot more out of them. LISTEN to your employees. If someone is trying to tell you that they need to speak with you in private about their... community manager (because he's asking you to do things that go against company policy) don't take it lightly! Hire competent leaders. YOU are the only one to blame when your properties aren't thriving. YOU aren't hiring competent community managers and YOU aren't taking the time to listen to what people are trying to tell you. You are quick to dispose of your hard workers. YOU should be more willing to coach them. Especially when they are the top in your portfolio. Also, I'm rating the CEO a big thumbs down because he should be more involved in knowing what's going on with his employees. Dozens of wrongful terminations have me wondering if this guy's head is permanently buried in the sand.

    Show More
    McKinley, Inc.2016-01-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Common Sense Isn't Common"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinley, Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    McKinley is a company that actually requires independent thought and the ability to use your brain to run a business. The laughable comments from property management burnouts who need someone to spell out every policy and guideline to run their sites tells you all you need to know about McKinley. They value smart people who can get the job done by using their brains and keeping the customers happy. It's no... coincidence that the last five years have seen this company produce high profits. Albert hiring his son and allowing the company to stop being burdened by stupidity has opened the door for opportunity. there was little appeal to making 40 grand as a community manager following guidelines like an order taker at McDonald's. Money opportunity and rewards are the name of the game now. If you are smart and can think critically then McKinley is the place for you. If you need your hand held and need fancy systems and training then you're too dumb to work here. It won't work. You'll get fired. Read the reviews from the bitter burnouts on here. They don't even understand the basics of how McKinley runs. McKinley cares about people more than any company I've ever worked for. But they care about good people who make a difference and weed out losers quickly. There's no more genuine and caring ceo than Albert Sr.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything isn't perfect. The hours can be long, and we could stand to have more help. You can bounce around from site to site and it's hard to make connections with all of the residents or know enough about their problems sometimes to be able to help as quickly as you'd like. Plus there are people who take jobs here because of the high pay and don't want to work hard or complain and you're left to clean up the mess.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people. Keep giving us the freedom to run the property and not have to worry about meaningless policies. Senior management finally gets it so don't turn around and make numbers the main focus again.

    McKinley, Inc.2015-11-18
Found 20 reviews