McKinsey & Company Associate Consultant Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of McKinsey & Company and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good

    Feb 23, 2021 - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive environment and Broad Network

    Cons

    Extremely busy and over time work

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to learn. But respect your own boundaries

    Jan 23, 2021 - Associate Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tons of exposure to industries, best practices, and moving quickly. great career development platform

    Cons

    Stressful & nebulous staffing process, hard to find balance, everyone is 2 studies away from quiting

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Unethical business that absolves itself of accountability at every turn

    Feb 9, 2021 - Associate Implementation Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits Good exit opportunities

    Cons

    Ethics - countless examples of ethically challenged behavior. From contributing to the Opioid crisis to involvement with Enron. This is really just the tip of the ice burg. Although my personal experiences aren't worthy enough to make headlines, my experiences perfectly parallel the complete lack of business ethics you can read about in the news. Here are a few specific examples: 1. I felt pressured to manipulate facts to show positive results of pilot programs 2. I believe I was involved in short sighted decision making to pad quarterly/annual earnings statements tied to McKinsey fees (think unhealthy budget cuts including people, maintenance, ect. to make short term financial performance appear stronger which presumably leads to higher McKinsey fees) 3. Inherited analytical model with clear mathematical errors and logical breakdowns which meaningfully impacted insights. Generally speaking, I felt the goal of most studies was to support a predetermined outcome with any analytics or research rather than uncover meaningful insight 4. Unethical treatment of non-executive client employees. I was often asked to report on a clients performance with limited exposure into the given employees day to day activities and conduct. I regularly witnessed what I believed to be extremely superficial judgment of employees with profound impact on those employees careers. Hierarchical structure - Despite what they will tell MBAs during recruiting it was my experience that any hire that isn't an "Integrative Consultant" is treated as a second class citizen (e.g., expect slower promotion timelines, more limited staffing opportunities, etc.). If your not being hired as an integrative consultant, go elsewhere (Bain, BCG, Deloitte, EY..) Lack of transparency - pay scales and promotion guidelines are difficult to understand. Work life balance - pretty much awful. Although, thats as to be expected in a management consulting career and is probably consistent across other consultancies For additional context, I left the firm on my own volition and achieved "accelerated" performance ratings on the majority of my bi-annual reviews.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Consultant

    Nov 5, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Boston, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, good salary, good team environment

    Cons

    Workload, working hours, pressure from upper

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Internship

    Oct 9, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Berkeley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good compensation & mentorship

    Cons

    - Long hours & online settings

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Sep 7, 2020 - Associate Implementation Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people - the people are great and are the best part of the company The projects - this is really interesting work The benefits - the company takes care of the people

    Cons

    Lifestyle - It's a consultant lifestyle, so you should anticipate travel. They are making strides in improving lifestyle.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good benefits

    Jun 15, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good healthcare benefits, lots of education offerings

    Cons

    Competitive environment, delayed start date

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A company with limitless amount of knowledge and growth opportunities

    Nov 26, 2019 - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -smartest people I have ever worked with -worked on real work from the start -direct access to senior executives at Fortune 500 companies -amazing pay and benefits -unparalleled exit opportunities

    Cons

    -hours can be long and work can be incredibly demanding -very high expectations, not for everybody

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Super

    Jul 8, 2019 - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Superb everything good perfect fantastic

    Cons

    Nothing till date now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company, difficult work-life balance

    Apr 15, 2017 - Management Consultant Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sets you up for your career, good mentorship by some senior partners, ability to take on work well ahead of others at similar tenures

    Cons

    Work life balance cam be tough. Some partners have unrealistic expectations, often demanded by unrealistic clients who are paying top dollar and under much pressure themselves

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 English Reviews

Work at McKinsey & Company? Share Your Experiences

or