McKinsey & Company Executive Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

McKinsey & Company Executive Assistant Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and Leadership actively advocate and genuinely care about every employee at every level. The Leadership in the Houston office has a distinctive way of supporting and encouraging individualism and are more than willing to meet you halfway to leverage your strengths. Their support creates this unparalleled team environment across all levels. The benefits package are unbeatable. You and are exposed to incredible career developments, and have international opportunities.

    Cons

    You may have to work late/from home, but the benefits of working from home and offered PTO (not excluding the end of year office closure) are a fair trade.

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-04

    McKinsey & Company Response

    December 11, 2019Recruiting Expert

    Thanks for sharing your perspectives!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Tampa Service Center = Glorified Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. (Good thing they are so good, because you will need more meds to manage the stress/anxiety/depression)

    Cons

    Wayyyy too Corporate Cultish. Every little thing is 'big brothered'. After leaving this job, it took me 3 months to shake off the damage it did to my confidence. Unreasonable and unnecessary load of consultants per assistant puts you in a 'set up for failure' position . Just when you think you are getting on top of your Inbox, you will have to cover for an absent coworker and get behind in everything all over again. Should a person have to work at a frenzied pace all day every single day for $39K salary? A hospital emergency room has less urgency! I am now working at a smaller company making $50K and assisting TWO executives who give me reasonable lead-time to complete a task ----- not 12-15 people jamming your Inbox every night as they work until midnight. EVERY SINGLE meeting you schedule will get rescheduled, many of them MULTIPLE TIMES. Someone tell the Partners about the idea of respecting others time and honoring appointments --- the Partners constantly backing out are causing massive re-work and CHAOS out there. Four dimensional calendars? Come on, people. How about this fun workplace practice: Your supervisors will strategically plant themselves near the elevators at 4:55pm to make sure no one is leaving early. Great job, guys -- you're really on top of the big problems around there -- employee time theft! (eye roll). If anyone is stealing anything - McK is stealing LABOR with their terrible pay rate for the output expected from one person.

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2020-01-28
  3. "Good start w the firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits! Lots of opportunities to relocate around the world.

    Cons

    Micromanaging. Team leaders are clueless to job duties. Very sorority type environment. You're treated like you're in kindergarten. No work from home privileges in the TSC while all other offices do get this priviledge.

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Wonderful environment and even better people. Benefits are unbeatable, not micromanaged by superior.

    Cons

    Wish there was more work from home consideration.

    McKinsey & Company2019-10-21
  5. "Great benefits, not so great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can find people who are really awesome, smart, and invested in you.

    Cons

    A lot of the consultants are stand-offish and do not treat admin well.

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unrivaled opportunity for Executive Assistants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many of the reviews on here from EAs are from our support center in Tampa, Fl, and while I can't speak to that, I have found working as an EA in an in-office capacity to be a very positive experience. My working relationship with my Partners is fantastic, there are many interesting opportunities provided outside of your day-to-day role, and the benefits and PTO are truly unrivaled.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and are not always a hard 9a-5p.

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-30

    McKinsey & Company Response

    October 1, 2019Recruiting Expert

    Thank you for sharing your perspectives!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great!! 9-5p hours only, you don’t take work home with you.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to move upward

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at McKinsey. The benefits are amazing & unbeatable. The vacation time is nice also. The week off for Xmas is another huge perk. The work is interesting. Great opportunity for relocation anywhere in the world. The work/life balance is good too.

    Cons

    The salary is terrible. The TSC (Tampa Service Center) is micromanaged & employees are treated like kindergartners. All other locations can work from home except Tampa. The culture is like a girl's sorority gone horribly wrong.

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2019-09-20
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the enviroment and company culture!

    Cons

    Don't have any cons that I noticed.

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-12
  10. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are not bad

    Cons

    The work load is heavy

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 77 reviews