McKinsey & Company Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 of over 6K reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "You'll work with some really smart people who really care(in 253 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and good opportunities(in 159 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lots of travel, although some perks come with this(in 162 reviews)

  • "Poor lifestyle, no work life balance(in 61 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McKinsey & Company and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great place"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      Jan 9, 2021 - Summer Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      Not easy interview process for summer analyst position

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Love it

      Dec 30, 2020 - Senior Business Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to start your cREER

      Cons

      Work /travel a lot, can be a lot

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Dec 20, 2020 - Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work ya dig

      Cons

      not applicable ya dig hard to get in

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Aug 22, 2020 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. easy review.

      Cons

      None None None None None

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Focus on innovation, digital and design

      Jul 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, curious, fun colleagues; culture of growth and innovation; agile mindsets and practices, great place to be in design/digital/analytics.

      Cons

      Long hours, pressure to perform.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      World-class company

      Aug 20, 2019 - Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      McKinsey is clearly a world-class company, and overall a great place to work. The talent here is absolutely outstanding, and there are incredible professional opportunities. You could spend your entire career at the Firm (and many do) and have it be just as robust and varied as it would be had you worked at multiple companies. However, I think the best part of working at the Firm is the benefits and flexibility. Our healthcare and other benefits are absolutely unmatched. We have great parental leave options that I took full advantage of in 2018, and felt I had the full support of my team and manager. I feel very strongly that the Firm cares about its employees.

      Cons

      McKinsey can be an intense environment, but it is less so in support roles such as recruiting. Work/life balance can be difficult on the consulting track, but in recruiting, I've had fantastic flexibility and balance in my role.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company!

      Feb 1, 2020 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great place to work.

      Cons

      There aren't a ton of negatives besides hours.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Senior Implementation Coach

      Oct 19, 2018 - Senior Implementation Coach in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Amazing learning and development opportunities - 1-week long professional orientation before the start and almost infinite number of industry/function related trainings. • Creating real impact from the very first study. We were working on the product design optimization to reduce cost and increase the quality of the product. We were able to deliver real tangible savings and make the product more competitive. • Sustainable lifestyle. From my understanding, the firm made a lot of changes to achieve a much better lifestyle. I rarely heard anyone working on weekends, and I rarely worked more than 12 hours a day, while it might depend on the team and the project. The key is that most people come back on Thursdays for a dinner. • The firm is a great place for diverse and conscious inclusion. Despite people here came from all types of backgrounds, everyone is very collaborative, people have a voice and the obligation to dissent regardless of your tenure. People are amazing here!

      Cons

      • Workload might be intense sometimes. Even if you work 10-12 hours a day, these hours could be very intense. • Lots of travel (while you can earn a lot of hotel points and air miles) • Your experience depends heavily on your team leadership and clients. The good thing, though is that if you don't like our experience on a project, it's not necessary to work with the same people and on the same client next time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great invaluable experience

      Oct 15, 2019 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and learn

      Cons

      No real cons here at all

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Oct 19, 2019 - Partner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and loved it

      Cons

      Poor work life balance and lot of travel

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McKinsey & Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at McKinsey & Company? Share Your Experiences

    or