McLane Advanced Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

McLane Advanced Technologies Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Drayton McLane Jr.
14 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Business Development in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Positive energy, good hard-working people. Nice location and family oriented.

    Cons

    Government clients are hard to come by

    Advice to Management

    Increase commercial services

    McLane Advanced Technologies2016-05-14
  2. "Great place for veterans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Small company, family owned with strong purpose to support our country's freedoms.

    Cons

    None really if you're willing to work

    Advice to Management

    None

    McLane Advanced Technologies2018-07-30
  3. "No chance to advance without military background."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    My leadership was truly excellent.

    Cons

    Even though my leadership was excellent, the majority of leadership was not.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the people who are down in the weeds doing the work, and show them you appreciate them.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2017-02-10
  4. "Sub to Prime Company at Rock Island Arsenal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Management Specialist in Rock Island, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits, very good compensation, 401K matching

    Cons

    McLane is actually located in Temple, TX but as a contractor in the Midwest it's hard to know anyone else at McLane other than your fellow contractors.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2016-09-27
  5. "Great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies

    Pros

    Disruptive IT innovator in the GovCon space.

    Cons

    Small size, location, intense competition in GovCon

    McLane Advanced Technologies2016-05-19
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies

    Pros

    The company was a great place to learn about government contracts! Everyone there was very helpful and inviting. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes government contracts are sketchy and they have had a couple of layoffs. The parking lot is full pretty quickly so sometimes you have to walk a ways to your car at lunch/end of day.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to help stop the fear of layoffs coming and be open and honest with the workers. They deserve that much.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2016-02-29
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Ability to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Expected to perform duties above and beyond job qualifications due to reductions in staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees. They are there because they care and want to see the company succeed.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2015-12-01
  8. "Site Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor/Site Lead in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and work environment. Mostly military so I felt right at home.

    Cons

    I was laid off after I h ad just been told that I was a valued team player and had been sent to a site to "clean up someone else s mess".

    Advice to Management

    Find other positions for your strong team players to avoid laying them off.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2015-08-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Steer clear of this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Nice facility Some good people A good place to start but only until something better comes along. They haven't been winning government contracts so tax dollars have not been wasted.

    Cons

    Just gives lip service to ethics--all talk with no action. Poor customer service--a customer is only a "cash cow" as far as MAT is concerned CEO is out of touch-still has a 20th century approach to business. He surrounds himself with "yes" men. Management is top heavy with drones that bring no value added.

    Advice to Management

    Pack up, go home, and just admit failure.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2014-08-27
  10. "Overall, great company but improvements are needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLane Advanced Technologies full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package Outstanding working conditions (i.e. campus, facilities, furniture) Catered lunches, for a fee

    Cons

    Some of the senior leadership is out of touch (VP's specifically) Managers and directors kept subordinates in the dark on a lot of issues that affected them No tolerance for flex schedules or tele-commuting (his highly frowned upon) Although they have tried, there is still a prominent "good ole boy" network there.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the VP's need a reality check. Stop chasing GFI's. Go after opportunities that fit into the company's core.

    McLane Advanced Technologies2013-10-24
Found 22 reviews