McLaren Engineering Group Reviews | Glassdoor

McLaren Engineering Group Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Malcolm G. McLaren, P.E.
8 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time

    Pros

    Great environment that fosters growth both intellectually, professionally and personally. Diverse culture with many exciting divisions/projects resulting in a work place where one is never bored.

    Cons

    Not enough time in a day to take in all the firm has to offer.....days seem like seconds and each one presents new challenges and work experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work...continue to hire additional mid and senior level technical managers to foster continued growth and open doors to new business markets.

    McLaren Engineering Group2016-07-19
  2. "Junior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time

      Pros

      Friendly coworkers and a lot of work experience

      Cons

      Fast learning curve and a quick turn around on projects

      McLaren Engineering Group2017-12-19
    • "Relaxed Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Junior Engineer in New York, NY

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time

      Pros

      Relaxed atmosphere, excellent work-life balance, flexible schedule, opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      Pay is decent, but not as competitive as larger firms; management could be better organized; benefits are not great

      Advice to Management

      Management should foster better communication with each other. Internal organization leads to external reward.

      McLaren Engineering Group2017-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Senior Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      There is a wide variety of projects and McLaren is a great place to get experience. There are a lot of intelligent engineers and there is really no limit to the problems they can solve.

      Cons

      There is currently no formal training program for technical and procedures, however a training program is being developed. Sometimes the volume of projects can be high which makes for more stress; this comes and goes and is characteristic of the industry.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more project managers and upper level people to help share the load so that managers can focus on business development and growing the firm.

      McLaren Engineering Group2016-05-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "A Great Place to Start Your Career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Structural Engineer in West Nyack, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Management truly cares about your success. I could not ask for a better advocate for my success than my manager. Projects are diverse and interesting. Young employees are given opportunities to step up early in their careers and assume as much responsibility as they are able. These creates a fast-paced and challenging work environment.

      Cons

      Finding a place for yourself once you have your PE and a few years of experience can prove challenging. Opportunities to step up like those available to junior engineers evaporate once you've progressed to a certain point. You are not given any autonomy to take ownership of your projects and make decisions to keep them moving forwards.

      Advice to Management

      Please consider adding a middle management structure. This will help take some of the technical work off of the upper level managers' plates and allow for growth and will also reduce frustrations for employees who are ready to grow into new roles but are being stifled in their attempts.

      McLaren Engineering Group2016-04-21
    • Helpful (10)

      "Terrible and unhealthy place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Junior Engineer in West Nyack, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at McLaren Engineering Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The majority of the other entry level employees are very kind and have the same craving of learning in the real world.So it's a way to meet new people your age. However.... it's hard to create lasting friendships between coworkers since the turnover is insanely high. It helps teach you to be a stronger person since there is a lot of yelling, aggravation and low morale throughout the office.

      Cons

      1. Leadership is extremely poor. There is no guidance and when you ask questions or need help, you are looked down upon. I can only name one or two people that were actually willing to guide me in my early years as an engineer. 2. Severe lack of life/work balance. It is not acceptable to the Owner that a worker have a life outside of the office. Therefore, it is looked down upon if you need to see a doctor in the middle...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Overall, almost everything needs to be changed. And even though it has been a few years for me, I know nothing has changed. After leaving and getting a new job, I realized just how bad it was. It was amazing to see in my new job just how many "Nice job" or "Great work" I got before I realized it was normal to hear those things. My advice to management: Compliments go a long way. Treat others as you wish to be treated....

      Show More
      McLaren Engineering Group2016-01-06
    • "Senior Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Engineer in West Nyack, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The company is driven, competitive and in a growth mode. The type of engineering work is far ranging and challenging. You will be exposed to a multitude of engineering disciplines; a terrific place to develop your technical capabilities and career. Those that are driven to excel will be rewarded and allowed to chart their course. The ESOP has empowered all of the company's employees to think like owners and care about...

      Show More

      Cons

      Management policies and decisions sometimes have a short term view at the expense of long term growth and productivity. Company lacks a defined path and corporate structure that is scalable for the future. Some senior management staff do not show a propensity for growth.

      Advice to Management

      Must do a better job of listening to the employees. Be willing to buy into the growth mode of the firm; leave your comfort zone and stop thinking like a small shop. Empower your dedicated senior employees with greater responsibility and roles. Set a clearly defined path and transition plan for future growth and scalability on a division by division basis and overall corporate structure basis for the decades to come. If...

      Show More
      McLaren Engineering Group2015-10-07
    • "Structural Engineer Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at McLaren Engineering Group

      Pros

      Great company to work for as young engineer interested in design various structures.

      Cons

      Training has room to improve as well as field exposure.

      Advice to Management

      Improve training and allow engineers to get field experience.

      McLaren Engineering Group2015-09-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Nyack, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at McLaren Engineering Group

      Pros

      Challenging Projects, fair compensation, nice coworkers

      Cons

      Workload, upper management, clients, guidance

      McLaren Engineering Group2015-08-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Out of the box thinking, high responsibility."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in West Nyack, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McLaren Engineering Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      A lot of responsibility, quickly. Varied projects with multi discipline engineering. Great opportunities. Work expected is on par with industry, and the people are great. Well organized office. Employee stock owned benefit

      Cons

      Leadership needs improvement and they are working on that with the ESOP plan. Not enough people stay a long time, jr engineers usually step out in 4 to 5 years.

      McLaren Engineering Group2015-02-22
    Found 19 reviews