KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

McLaren Health Care

Is this your company?

McLaren Health Care

Add a Review

McLaren Health Care Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 395 of over 431 reviews

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
McLaren Health Care President, CEO, and Director Philip A. Incarnati (no image)
Philip A. Incarnati
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "offers good benefits and healthcare(in 16 reviews)

  • "good pay, union, flexible management(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The Poor management team need training(in 16 reviews)

  • "Short staffed at times especially on midnights(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McLaren Health Care and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Sep 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ever since hired in it has been such a great experience working with so many great individuals. Competitive pay, good resources, and great opportunities. It has just been so nice to see everyone come together to ensure we create the best possible patient experience for those we serve. Has been a great experience working within this organization thus far and looking forward to many years to come. Also, cant wait for the brand new Hospital to get done being built. What a exceptional design!!

      Cons

      I do not have any at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Why McLaren Lansing?

      Sep 16, 2021 - Leadership 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Competitive benefits package (vacation/paid holidays, health insurance, employer match on 403B, etc) 2. Supportive team that works together to get the job done 3. Close to home 4. New hospital and medical services buildings (opening March 2022) 5. I have seen many coworkers leave for better things to competitors only to return to MGL saying that we are truly a family and we do things better

      Cons

      1. It's healthcare - changes are slow 2. Sometimes there are too many barriers to progress or to the ability to make changes 3. If you are a nurse - there are ample amounts of upward mobility through the organization. Opportunities are a bit more limited if you do not have an RN

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Pays well...Bad work enviroment

      Jul 26, 2021 - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Flint, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can expect to be paid well, and the health benefits are on par with the industry even though they take some away with each new contract. It is a Union staffed hospital.

      Cons

      It all starts at the top. The CEO's do not care about you, they only care about the bottom line. You can expect to find a few managers that try to shelter you from the ridiculous expectations, but even they eventually bend to the top. This place places their budget over supplies, and quality in general. They expect employees to be satisfied because they "pay well." And they do, but short staffing is a constant issue. Which after years and years burns out even the best employees. Its unfortunate they don't care like they should. I like many before me, and as will be after me; if things don't change, left for the number one reason. THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THEIR STAFF. You are a number, and a body. Nothing more.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Employer

      Sep 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family environment- co workers are caring and friendly. McLaren offers competitive wages and excellent health benefits. Offers great opportunity for professional growth and advancement from within.

      Cons

      I do not have any at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A typical corporate story…

      Aug 14, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Port Huron, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers Most experienced employees receive good pay (for some positions ) A few excellent leaders

      Cons

      *Corporate Executives make huge changes/decisions (I.e restructuring, position eliminations, etc) at a state wide level, without consulting with/considering regional needs/demands *Senior leadership restructured and no longer has regular contact w/staff *Budget seems to take precedence over everything else (i.e jobs cut to save a few dollars yet they continue to use supply chain vendors that are obscenely overpriced) *Accrued PTO must be used for holidays, which seems to negate the point of a "paid" holiday

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      McLaren is my family!

      Sep 16, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      McLaren Greater Lansing is my family! I have worked here for 20 years and I love the staff. We all work as a team to ensure our patients receive the best care and we all support each other.

      Cons

      COVID has been hard on our hospital and staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      You’re a number

      Sep 15, 2021 - Registered Nurse%2C BSN in Petoskey, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location is closer than TC. They are the only large hospital in the local area. Benefits fairly decent.

      Cons

      You’re a number to them. Simply a warm body. Many decisions made from the top simply to save money with no regard for actual floor staff feedback, retainment, and the like.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Northern so understaffed it’s frightening

      Sep 17, 2021 - Anonymous in Petoskey, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hopefully a union soon. Shiny new building to look at every day.

      Cons

      Willing to spend money on everything except employees. New equipment, new building, fewer nurses, less pay, no housekeeping. So short right now patients are waiting hours to register or get a blood draw. Bags of garbage literally in the hallways with nobody to clean. The staff that’s left is overworked, underpaid, and unhappy. Hopefully these union talks go somewhere.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pay

      Sep 17, 2021 - Nurse Tech in Maumee, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently work with great people

      Cons

      Big changes, employees leaving, understaffed, underpaid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      Sep 15, 2021 - Accountant I in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice work culture and nice co workers

      Cons

      Health insurance not good and salary is below average.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 395 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McLaren Health Care Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at McLaren Health Care? Share Your Experiences

    or