McLaren Health Care Reviews | Glassdoor

McLaren Health Care Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 237 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Philip A. Incarnati
53 Ratings
  1. "Med technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Medical Technologist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at McLaren Health Care full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      New building Parking is easy

      Cons

      Change in management Only invest in physicians

      McLaren Health Care2019-03-23
    • "Decent place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 

        I have been working at McLaren Health Care full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good cafeteria and most staff

        Cons

        Turmoil in overall direction and top level management

        McLaren Health Care2019-03-21
      • "Bureaucratic nonsense."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at McLaren Health Care

          Pros

          Decent pay. Good coworkers. Union.

          Cons

          Management doesn't care about the employees.

          McLaren Health Care2019-04-19
        • Helpful (1)

          "RN"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Flint, MI
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at McLaren Health Care full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Potential to grow and learn in the rapidly changing healthcare field. The pay scale is above average.

          Cons

          The expectation to do more with less while improving outcomes and patient satisfaction scores is unrealistic.

          Advice to Management

          The old adage “you get what you pay for” is often the case today.

          McLaren Health Care2019-03-05
        • "Company wants more with lesa"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Unit Assistant 

          I worked at McLaren Health Care full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great people to work with

          Cons

          Management wants to do more with less. Every patient, Everytime is just a slogan. They don't want to do what they need to do for patients.

          McLaren Health Care2019-03-01
        • "McLaren Health Care"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Medical Billing Specialist in Shelby Township, MI
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at McLaren Health Care full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          They pay well, have really good benefits, and amazing management.

          Cons

          No work from home option.

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the incredible work.

          McLaren Health Care2019-02-22
        • "Cash poster"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at McLaren Health Care

            Pros

            They had Decent priced health insurance

            Cons

            Management didn’t know how to help with anything, they threw jobs that weren’t even part of your title at you and said your yearly review and raise was dependent on it.

            McLaren Health Care2019-03-18
          • "Needs Improvement"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at McLaren Health Care part-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Helping patients and my supervisor is nice.

              Cons

              Getting breaks, cleanliness, cafeteria food and some of the employees.

              McLaren Health Care2019-01-16
            • "Registered Nurse, BSN"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - (Nursing Assistant V Yr )Registered Nurse, BSN (~1 V Yr ) in Bay City, MI
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook
              No opinion of CEO

              I have been working at McLaren Health Care full-time for more than 5 years

              Pros

              My branch is union, which is largely beneficial. For example, we are guaranteed significant raises once an RN reaches a set number of total hours worked. Pay is above average when compared to most nearby hospitals. PTO accumulation is very fair. Overall, nursing staff is comprised of professional people, who perform good teamwork in most areas of the hospital.

              Cons

              The number one con about McLaren Healthcare in my opinion, which I know to be shared by many, is the outdated software used for charting of patient information. It is not user friendly and is far more time consuming than other commonly used documentation software. This takes a large amount of time away from providing one-on-one patient care to the level which should be and often is expected in the field of nursing. McLaren...

              Show More

              Advice to Management

              Motivate the employees working under you. This is something I have seen little of in my ~6 years working for McLaren. This could help give the nursing staff a much needed boost in morale, even if it is only a small one. From my years of experience working at this hospital if I could recommend one thing for managers to work on besides the obvious is would be to find some way to boost employee morale. While many of the...

              Show More
              McLaren Health Care2018-12-30
            • "Management"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Manager in Mount Clemens, MI
              Doesn't Recommend
              No opinion of CEO

              I worked at McLaren Health Care for more than 10 years

              Pros

              Salary average for management, benefits ok. Salary for staff nurses was better than management wages.

              Cons

              A union for the RN's that was impossible for management to work with. Union president and stewards unprofessional and unwilling to compromise. Regarding benefits- NO holiday pay- had to use PTO bank.

              Advice to Management

              Be wary of the union board, not trustworthy.

              McLaren Health Care2018-12-30
            Found 237 reviews