McLaren Health Care Staff RN Reviews | Glassdoor

McLaren Health Care Staff RN Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Philip A. Incarnati
1 Ratings
  1. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McLaren Health Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is very heavy emphasis put on a team environment. There is also help when you need it and the manager has an open door policy.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of. The hospital is a very nice place to work and meet new people.

    McLaren Health Care2016-06-09
  2. "McLaren Macomb Cancer Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Mount Clemens, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McLaren Health Care part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Busy workplace, great patients, educated staff

    Cons

    High stress atmosphere, extremely understaffed

    McLaren Health Care2017-12-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Flint, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at McLaren Health Care full-time

    Pros

    Highest hospital nursing wage around for staff nurse.

    Cons

    Hospital getting rich on employees' backs. Keep cutting staff. Running nurses ragged. Not enough allowance for sick time. High prevalence for injuries, due to inadequate staffing/help. High stress due to inadequate staffing and working in Flint, MI. No room for advancement unless you have higher degree or know the right people. Experience counts for nothing. Currently in contract negotiations, and many are talking about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Show them genuine respect and appreciation for being the front line of your business. Care for their safety like you're supposed to for your patients. Make them want to stay with your hospital and be proud to work there.

    McLaren Health Care2016-07-10
  4. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McLaren Health Care

    Pros

    Nice place to learn lots

    Cons

    no cons for me - enjoyed it

    McLaren Health Care2016-02-29
  5. "Like going back to 1980's Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at McLaren Health Care part-time

    Pros

    Cafeteria has decent food. Parking is close.

    Cons

    They promote a specified length of orientation time, but then try to force nurses to come off it early, when they are not comfortable doing so, when they have not had experience in managing drips and calculating logarhythms, due to short staffing. Micro manage the RN's job instead of letting them work within their scope independently in area they are knowledgable. Don't practice what they preach. Nurses areas-lockerroom,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach, and respect the nurses and show them appreciation for their hard work, as without them you cannot function.

    McLaren Health Care2016-03-10
  6. "McLaren Homecare Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Davison, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McLaren Health Care

    Pros

    good pay, benefits. Good field staff

    Cons

    Bargaining unit is useless. Overworked, Under appreciated. Do not care about longevity of staff

    Advice to Management

    Watch who you hire for upper management

    McLaren Health Care2015-11-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Petoskey, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McLaren Health Care full-time

    Pros

    Staff is great. They are the best team.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits. Lowest paid of any mclaren hospital with the highest cost of living. Mandatory overtime 1 day per 6 weeks

    Advice to Management

    Pay people in petoskey the same as people in flint and Lansing. We pay for our "view of the bay" in our cost of living.

    McLaren Health Care2015-07-11
Found 7 reviews