McMurry/TMG Reviews | Glassdoor

McMurry/TMG Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
McMurry/TMG CEO Matthew Petersen (no image)
Matthew Petersen
8 Ratings
  1. "A really great, friendly place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Editorial Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG for more than a year

    Pros

    They make a priority of hiring good people, and it really shows. I was fresh out of college, and it's primarily an older demographic, but I never met a person I didn't like there, and even senior management knew me on site.

    Cons

    It's not the most social of places to work. Partly I was an outlier, as a youngin', but there wasn't a ton of fraternizing going on for the most part.

    McMurry/TMG2014-07-30

    McMurry/TMG Response

    April 13, 2015SVP HR

    Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We have made some strides since the time of this review in trying to provide more opportunities for socializing among staff. Of course, no place is perfect and we'll keep trying to make continuous improvements with the input we receive from both former and current staff. Thanks again.

    Show Less
  2. "More focused on mergers than people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG for less than a year

    Pros

    The location was great! Good people worked there. They allowed telecommuting and were pretty flexible.

    Cons

    The company was looking for a buyout when I worked there. Their only focus was to find a bigger fish to eat them. They made promises they didn't keep, and did not prioritize employee information security...

    McMurry/TMG2018-11-06
  3. "Weird Shakeups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at McMurry/TMG

    Pros

    Great team, lots of friendly people.

    Cons

    Messy organization, didn't seem to have clear go-forward plan.

    McMurry/TMG2017-05-15
  4. "Great company before merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG full-time

    Pros

    Great team, strong culture, fun work environment

    Cons

    Company merger resulted in many challenges

    McMurry/TMG2017-01-28
  5. "Great previous company that fell apart after acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and culture, even after the merger

    Cons

    Post merger, management had zero idea on how to run the company or make it profitable.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to existing employees about the things that made this company great, great enough to be sold to an investment firm

    McMurry/TMG2016-12-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Damaging Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG

    Pros

    I can not think of any pros as I refuse to praise the fact that there was free food (they should have funneled some of that money, along with the decorating budget into salaries). Rating would be in the negative range if possible.

    Cons

    A truly negative experience. Demeaning unprofessional behavior at almost all levels. CEO embodied the worst stereotypical traits. C-Suite was a bunch of brown noses. Middle management needed direction in the worst way, but there was none to be found. The merger that formed this company never worked, the cultures were very different and no one had a clue how to make it work.

    Advice to Management

    Apparently this company is being undone (in its new context) without any help.

    McMurry/TMG2016-07-03
  7. "I loved this job, until the company was sold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Support Specialist in Peoria, AZ

    I worked at McMurry/TMG for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits, the culture, and especially the people. There was an amazing work/life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes upper management weren't as forthcoming with information as they should have been.

    McMurry/TMG2016-05-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Undergoing changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Manifest nee McMurry/TMG is a hotbed of intelligent, hard-working individuals dedicated to their clients.

    Cons

    The ongoing merger with Manifest Digital has complicated and confused reporting structures; I had three different bosses over the course of just a few months.

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to listen to employees rather than try to institute top-down policies.

    McMurry/TMG2015-11-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, free snacks and sodas, I can't fill up this 20 word minimum because that's really all I liked about working there.

    Cons

    Very conservative, way too many meetings, extremely long hiring process, lack of actual productivity due to too many meetings, no collaboration or push for internal growth .

    Advice to Management

    Fewer meetings. Also the video conference set up is so cheesy and unproductive. Never had a meeting there that couldn't have been worked out in a brief e-mail or a quick call.

    McMurry/TMG2015-10-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "unbalanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McMurry/TMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people who work there are awesome salaries

    Cons

    work/life balance doesn't exist we want less happy hours and more opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites learn to manage people and communicate better

    McMurry/TMG2015-08-27
Found 17 reviews