KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

McNabb Center

Engaged Employer

McNabb Center

Add a Review

McNabb Center Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 of over 127 reviews

3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
McNabb Center  CEO Jerry Vagnier
Jerry Vagnier
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am so happy that I decided to work for HRMC and plan to stay here for a very long time(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, room to grow within the company, great people to work with(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay, no maternity leave, time off is earned not given(in 10 reviews)

  • "Working in the mental health field can be tough(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McNabb Center and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love it

      Sep 24, 2021 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are amazing and staff also

      Cons

      I can’t think of anything.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The mission no longer aligns with org actions

      Aug 31, 2021 - Care Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Benefits - Flexibility - Pay is better than most social service positions

      Cons

      Upper management (i.e anyone not working directly in client care) is a nightmare. Workers are treated poorly and our mental health concerns are met with "you have 8 free therapy sessions through EAP." The mental health issues from many workers stem from McNabb being completely driven by funding and thus, productivity. We got into this line of work to help people, and we can barely do that with the workload. Then, we're held responsible for any failures with clients as if we even have the time to help. Productivity expectations are unrealistic and I have asked every supervisor, all the way up to the director of my program, for numbers that prove their expectations are attainable. Each time I have been told "we don't have those numbers." They know they are wrong, but they don't care. They have had so many workers in crisis in the time that I have been in this program and all we can do is talk to one another because our crises go unheard by management. They don't care about employees, they don't care about clients, and they don't care about the Knoxville community. They care about a bottom line and ensuring they have a paycheck at the end of the day. We continue to have the same issues in our department and the supervisors continue to blame the workers instead of seeing that their productivity expectations are unattainable and inhumane. Ableism is rampant from the mental health providers to the supervisors. They talk about our clients in such a dehumanizing and derogatory way. I'm only still with the organization because I have bills to pay. Helen Ross McNabb would be ashamed if she could see the way Jerry runs things today.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      McNabb Center Response

      Sr Director of Administrative Services

      We appreciate the time you have taken to share your obviously serious concerns. Your experience certainly does not represent the standard of care to which we strive for our clients or the treatment we wish for our staff. We would like the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns because what you describe is not what is expected nor intended and we would appreciate the opportunity to address the issues head-on. We want to listen to the staff when there are issues so we would like to hear more. Please contact our HR Services Coordinator Angela Miller at (865) 637-9711 so we can investigate the situation further.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent

      Jul 27, 2021 - School Based Counselor in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment with great advancement opportunities

      Cons

      Travel with many stops and training models to learn

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Start for New SW/MH

      Jul 28, 2021 - Bridges Masters Level Liaison in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive staff Opportunities to transfer to other programs School office, some of which allow you to have your own space and bathroom.

      Cons

      Low salary The amount of paperwork due both digitally and hard copies. You don’t see other staff very often. The school staff becomes your coworkers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      PRN

      Jul 6, 2021 - Milieu Counselor in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible hours for PRNs. Team leads are great. Some good benefits and bonus incentives for full-time employees.

      Cons

      PRNs are paid significantly lower wages for the same education and performance expectations of FT employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, not so great pay

      Jul 12, 2021 - Probation Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to work as you want Great staff No one micro manages

      Cons

      No upward mobility Pay is low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A chance to grow in my career while helping the community.

      May 31, 2021 - Team Leader in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working here, my coworkers and supervisors really make it a caring, welcoming environment. When you work hard, it is rewarded. I am proud to work here seeing all the positive work that is done for those in need.

      Cons

      I really can't think of any.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Mcnabb

      Jun 15, 2021 - Team Leader in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and leave accrual

      Cons

      Upper management can be political

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good depending on the program you're in

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, benefits, autonomy (depending on your supervisor)

      Cons

      High turnover, poor pay, had supervisors without experience, not enough focus on quality treatment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This was a difficult role to be in but had rewarding moments.

      May 23, 2021 - Program Counselor in Morristown, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping kids Mostly good coworkers Free meals

      Cons

      Pay, Long hours, Emotionally draining

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McNabb Center Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at McNabb Center? Share Your Experiences

    or