McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing CEO Brad Nelson
Brad Nelson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a good company with good people(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Dodge Center, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits with PTO

    Cons

    Location is in the middle of no where

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-09-04
  2. "Great Place to Build a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dodge Center, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and bonus programs for all team members. Lots of ways to get engaged with the company and community such as employee picnics, networking groups, and volunteering with local charities. Being connected to Oshkosh allows a variety of learning and development opportunities, and excellent career growth and advancement.

    Cons

    Office could be updated, not many lunch options in Dodge Center, MN

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Welder 

    I have been working at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good coworkers, fairly clean environment

    Cons

    Poor management, take holiday pay out of your PTO time you have accrued

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-05-17
  4. "Great Engineering Teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The location to Rochester, MN and they are connected to Oshkosh Corp. They are looking to the future and grow employees

    Cons

    We have experienced some change and we are rebuilding

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting the employees through our growth

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-05-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I'd work there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist in Dodge Center, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They listen to new Ideas replace tool when they're bad. They buy you a new pair of boots once a year.

    Cons

    Being on time is critical.

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-04-04
  6. "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Welder in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work and great coworkers

    Cons

    Leadership was very hypocritical and ineffective.

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-04-10
  7. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer 

    I worked at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Large lay-off at the end of 2017

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2019-02-06
  8. "McNeilus Iowa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in Riceville, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No weekends, paid holidays, full time hours.

    Cons

    No organization, no control, bullying.

    Advice to Management

    They need to take control of their employees, because nothing is getting done on the line, because everyone is messing around and messing things up.

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2018-10-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime to make up low pay

    Cons

    Work life balance and schedule unknown

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2018-10-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Expendable Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Drafter in Dodge Center, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None. All ways fighting ethical reality against corporate profits

    Cons

    Once you hit 50, plan on loosing your job.

    Advice to Management

    Start paying for experience, not fresh out of college folks who don't know which end of a wrench to use.

    McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing2018-09-19
Found 55 reviews