Mcmullen & Sons Reviews | Glassdoor

Mcmullen & Sons Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mcmullen & Sons CEO Heydon Mizon (no image)
Heydon Mizon
3 Ratings
  1. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Runner in Hitchin, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment , Always helpful, fun

    Cons

    None at all what so ever

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-10-30
  2. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time

    Pros

    Family orientated excellent training

    Cons

    No cons to this company

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-10-03
  3. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House 

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, with plenty of training offered.

    Cons

    Varied and unstructured hours on a weekly basis.

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-07-11
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and training programm.Excellent support and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Wages could be a bit more higher

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-01-09
  5. "Saracens Head - Ware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Ware, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, good training.

    Cons

    Hard to get the time off.

    Advice to Management

    Not applicable.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-12-15
  6. "Regretted leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hertford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely family run company. Large support network with good food and honest beer. Lots of progression available within different concepts.

    Cons

    Relatively low pay and long hours. Slightly too many targets on wage costs rather than focusing on customer service and experience. But very minor negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up slightly on wage costs. You have a fantastic opportunity! Maybe look at being trend setting, rather than being 2-3 years behind the trend.

    Mcmullen & Sons2016-07-14
  7. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons

    Pros

    Great internal development schemes and carrier opportunities. Awesome people to work with.

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative while working for Mcmullen & Sons

    Mcmullen & Sons2015-10-11
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Stevenage, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are a good company to work for with some great training schemes and opportunity for progression

    Cons

    Could pay better, only a good job if you aren't bothered about a career or you definitely want a career in pubs/hospitality as it is a big commitment and lots of unsociable hours

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-08-16
  9. "Family business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people & company. Great part time role and recognition through company with TMOY

    Cons

    Long hours but that’s just the industry !

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-08-05
  10. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic family based companies, treated like family and are very supportive with difficult personal circumstances should they arise. They let you put your own mark on your pub unlike other more corporate organisations

    Cons

    There are few cons, the pay rate is not the best, the cons are the same as any other hospitality company but the cons are better

    Advice to Management

    My area manager was the best, i think she was under valued, so maybe higher management could do more for their Am's

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-02-22
Found 22 reviews