Mcmullen & Sons Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Mcmullen & Sons Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mcmullen & Sons CEO Heydon Mizon (no image)
Heydon Mizon
2 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress/Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous salary Career progression Full training Staff discount

    Cons

    No cons just long hours

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-08-07
  2. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for. Good opportunities to progress and learn

    Cons

    Very average payers. Not great at dealing with problem staff - tend to "manage them out" by reducing hours.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-02-21
  3. "Disastisfying and uncomfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some lovely customers which we all know is a rarity and some of the team were lovely and welcoming

    Cons

    Same can't be said of the site management. Felt unwelcome and judged from the offset. Training was non existent as management has track record of prioritising holiday over induction and the use of initiative based on years of experience was clearly not welcomed. The most disappointing aspect was the active encouragement in not getting on with your colleagues. Clearly a dictatorship was preferred method over team... work, the latter being something that is quite possibly one of the key elements of success

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We all know management lead by example - the tension created in this place at times needs to be seriously addressed by the higher ups.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-02-27
  4. "Just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Team Member in Stanway, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with hours, food discount (at all McMullen pubs), interaction with customers

    Cons

    Minimum wage, system of tips, late hours, managers can come across as rude, don't seem to appreciate employees

    Advice to Management

    Place more effort into showing appreciation of employees, and pay individuals not just according to minimum wage, but based on former work experience

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-01-27
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons full-time

    Pros

    in -house development organised company

    Cons

    minimum wage long hours all about money

    Advice to Management

    better recruitment

    Mcmullen & Sons2017-10-23
  6. "Great in-between job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fun job, customers are always up for a laugh and for the most part you work with a great team.

    Cons

    Some landlords are better than others... ask around for their reputation if you're applying.

    Advice to Management

    More learning courses for FOH staff.

    Mcmullen & Sons2017-06-02
  7. "For minimum wage, there is better out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Ware, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The chain generally attracts a mature and sensible clientele. This is largely down to a pricing strategy whereby Hertfordshire pubs will charge London prices. Front of house staff at lowest level are friendly across all pubs and great to work with.

    Cons

    You will be on minimum wage, unless you seek to progress into management within the company. If you are front of house staff. You will have to watch as management get bonuses for your hard work. Additionally, there is only one ever for all front of house to take part in (a football day out). Kitchen and management staff get many more. Having a break during a shift that is 6 hours or more is a legal requirement.... However, in my experience you will be too scared to take this as management will guilt trip you into working through it. I took days of I'll and was not payed Statutory Sick Pay even though I met all legal requirements. When I asked, they didn't know what this was. Working rotas can be published a day before or a few days before you are due to work. Essentially, say goodbye to your social life. Although I have never been privy to the wage structure. It would appear there is a very tight set of restrictions as often you will feel under-staffed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Modernise the wage structure. Paying only minimum wage is rediculous when you are often understaffed and doing the job of two people. More events for front of house staff. They may be replaceable. But, you make it so obvious by giving them only one event they can all attend (foodball day). General awareness of the law and some attempt to obide by it. The idea of taking a completely legal break seems to be a sin... across the entire hospitality industry. However, I have never felt more scared to have one than I have with McMullen's. You are also entitled to 11 hours rest between shifts. However, this can also go out the window and is largely ignored. Management need to keep staff safe, rested and motivated.

    Show More
    Mcmullen & Sons2017-05-15
  8. "Regretted leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hertford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely family run company. Large support network with good food and honest beer. Lots of progression available within different concepts.

    Cons

    Relatively low pay and long hours. Slightly too many targets on wage costs rather than focusing on customer service and experience. But very minor negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up slightly on wage costs. You have a fantastic opportunity! Maybe look at being trend setting, rather than being 2-3 years behind the trend.

    Mcmullen & Sons2016-07-14
  9. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts and friendly staff team.

    Cons

    long hours for minimal pay, not very many incentives

    Advice to Management

    Work with staff with regards to hours and flexibility and also try to motivate with staff incentives.

    Mcmullen & Sons2016-03-07
  10. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons

    Pros

    Great internal development schemes and carrier opportunities. Awesome people to work with.

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative while working for Mcmullen & Sons

    Mcmullen & Sons2015-10-11
Found 21 reviews