MedCoast Ambulance Reviews | Glassdoor

MedCoast Ambulance Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Jim Twaddell
6 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with good opportunity for personal growth. Folks here are fast-moving and the management. Co-workers I've been with are professional and caring.

    Cons

    Not that I noticed that would really irritate me. The only complaint that naturally comes with this job is the possibility of working holidays and weekends, but it was kind of expected.

    MedCoast Ambulance2019-07-16
  2. "Medcoast is a great foot in the door for experience as an EMT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-B in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The wide range of calls from dialysis, vent pts, plastic surgery, ER call, psych, jail transfers and hospital discharges.

    Cons

    Rigs are breaking down, hard to get a hold of HR, have to force to give sign on bonus and months late, bouncing checks, owners seem to blame everything on EMTs.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the EMTs for advice and dont let the checks bounce anymore.

    MedCoast Ambulance2019-01-02
  3. "Bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance part-time

    Pros

    Overtime hours, patient contact experience

    Cons

    Bouncing checks, no raises, minimum wage, new hires get more pay over senority

    Advice to Management

    Stop bouncing checks!!

    MedCoast Ambulance2019-01-10
  4. "Low pay terrible calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MedCoast Ambulance

    Pros

    Part time work available

    Cons

    Bad management Low pay High exposure to infectious diseases

    MedCoast Ambulance2018-11-14
  5. "Laughable, but it’s not really funny."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your fellow EMTs are good people. Made a lot of good friends along the way.

    Cons

    The biggest con to working here is the paychecks bouncing. I showed up on time, did my job well, did my documentation and got signatures. All I expected in return for that is to be paid in a timely manner. Your paychecks are going to bounce, and that’s why I bounced. I was told by a supervisor that when asked about the bouncing paychecks, the owner got pissed off and started ranting that the company bank accounts...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I’d advise you to grow a pair and stand up to the owner, but she’d fire you on the spot if you did. Best of luck to you.

    MedCoast Ambulance2018-11-07
  6. "Typical IFT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance full-time

    Pros

    24 hour shifts easy to get for females Supervisors don't micro manage

    Cons

    Bought out by Phoenix Checks started bouncing Sketchy management

    MedCoast Ambulance2018-10-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "IFT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-B 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros of this company - the supervisor, Tim, tries to work with your schedule. They understand EMTs are younger and going to school and working. They have 24s. I was on one for months before I left. I met tons of cool people. The employees, your fellow EMTs, are cool. The management just make it suck.

    Cons

    Cons: The checks bounce. If it isn't your first check, it's going to happen eventually. Everyone warned me about it. It didn't happen to me for 1.5 months and then it happened. When I brought it up to management, I was told it was because they were in the process of changing banks. 1. Banks are a business too.. a for profit business. If a company came to them saying, hey, we want you to run our accounts, the bank would...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close down. Do yourselves a favor and close down. Stop committing Medicare fraud.

    MedCoast Ambulance2018-11-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "New Owners Killed Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT in Santa Fe Springs, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedCoast Ambulance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The EMT's are some of the best people around. Very friendly and open work environment.

    Cons

    When the new ownership took over the company culture went downhill fast. There is no sense that this is one company, but rather the ownership favorites from their prior company. Morale has really collapsed due to the owners picking favorites and putting unqualified people into key leadership positions.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people into supervisory roles based on experience and skill rather than favoritism.

    MedCoast Ambulance2017-11-03
  9. "Its a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-B in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MedCoast Ambulance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet good people. They work with yoir schedule

    Cons

    No direct deposit. Old rigs. Paychecks bounce. Always working past 12 hr shifts and then scheduled to be back less than 8 hrs later. Have to use my own cell phone for work and gps. No lunch breaks.

    MedCoast Ambulance2017-10-07
  10. "Average BLS Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at MedCoast Ambulance

      Pros

      Good place to gain experience in BLS.

      Cons

      Small and not great for long-term employment. Get some experience and move on.

      MedCoast Ambulance2017-01-07
    Found 18 reviews