MedExpress Urgent Care Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
MedExpress Urgent Care Chief Executive Officer Jonathan Walker (no image)
Jonathan Walker
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "great scheduling -- 12 hour shifts so allows flexibility for scheduling(in 45 reviews)

  • "3 day work week, great co-workers, snacks provided, you can leave during lunch(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (12 hour shifts), extra responsibilities not in contract due to lazy management (center manager), little pay increase, too much focus on NPS(in 25 reviews)

  • "Low pay, long hours and no bonuses(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "a good stepping stone"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Experience Representative in East Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great scheduling -- 12 hour shifts so allows flexibility for scheduling

    Cons

    under staff so managers make you feel guilty about being sick or taking vacation

    MedExpress Urgent Care2019-11-23

    MedExpress Urgent Care Response

    January 28, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We encourage a healthy work/life balance by providing flexibility and the support needed to maintain balance. We’re glad to hear you’re happy with our efforts!

  2. "."

    5.0
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant in Elkins, WV

    I have been working at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time

    Pros

    They care for their employees.

    Cons

    Patients feel a false sense of entitlement.

    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-04-14
  3. "Poorly staffed. Expect you to see 60 patients a shift."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Physician in Leominster, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are extremely well organized .

    Cons

    Deliberately understaffed. Often pitting employees against each other.

    Continue reading
    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-04-29
  4. "Good stepping stone into healthcare"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Front Office Assistant in Harrisonburg, VA

    I have been working at MedExpress Urgent Care part-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot, fast paced

    Cons

    no opportunity for bonuses or goals

    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-03-31
  5. "Ehhh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Assistant in Nutley, NJ

    I worked at MedExpress Urgent Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 days on / 4 days off

    Cons

    Your work experience totally depends on your center supervisor. If they’re horrible, you’ll hate your job. — Needed me to work full time hours, never wanted to give me full time benefits

    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-04-14
  6. "Great Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Assistant 

    I worked at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time

    Pros

    Amazing and supportive individuals to work with from the Manager to the medical and front office staff.

    Cons

    Need more of a organized and affective way to ensure all FOA standard of procedures are communicated.

    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-03-23
  7. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician in Trenton, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company with steady hours if you wish them. Long days that often go well beyond 12 hours. Managers are informed, most are organized. Personnel are nice to work with. Freedom to do what you want after you work, with no on-call, but sometimes they might ask you to work if someone calls out. Nice medical managers for the most part, and many nice patients, but too many never see primary cares assigned or chosen by themselves.

    Cons

    Beware the premise that you get real vacation days, as they are given by the number of years you have worked, so no real 2 week vacation can be set aside many times. Hours extend to well beyond 12 many times and unless changed recently are uncompensated for salaried employees. Not enough equipment for caring for things at times,, like for strains,sprains. Outmoded method thobsave money. Often not enough people to help, as with many Urgent Cares, high turnover. Dot physicals are problematic and really take excessive time and in the end other patients suffer waiting as DOT’s are often unprepared and belligerent. Should be done at Occ. Med Facilities, not at UC. Patients can burst into facility at 30 seconds before closing, and many often do on purpose. Many patients go from Primary Care to Er and then to Urgent Care all in the same day, because they can and have no consequences for abuse of care. Too much multitasking with calling in medications, answering phone calls, doing callbacks while trying to see 80 or mor patients in a day. Often during holidays may have to see 50 to 60 or more working alone.

    Continue reading
    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-03-15
  8. "Good job"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at MedExpress Urgent Care

    Pros

    12 hour shifts 3 days a week

    Cons

    Have to work short staffed a lot.

    Continue reading
    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-02-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worst companies I have worked for ! Providers no pay after 8 , no sick time , not enough staff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nurse Practitioner 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedExpress Urgent Care

    Pros

    Great co workers to work with

    Cons

    Management does not care about their employees

    Continue reading
    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-03-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Unable to keep staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Springdale, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedExpress Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, good coworkers. That's it.

    Cons

    Inability to keep staff. Not caring about anyone below management. Making up ridiculous time excessive rules but expecting more work and faster times. UNSAFE staffing. Management doesn't back up employees.

    Continue reading
    MedExpress Urgent Care2020-01-24

    MedExpress Urgent Care Response

    January 28, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We take feedback from employees seriously. If you’d like to share more about your employment experience, please send an email to HRfeedback@medexpress.com with the location where you work and any additional feedback.

Found 400 reviews