MedQuist Reviews | Glassdoor

MedQuist Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Peter L. Masanotti
22 Ratings
  1. "Comfortable work environment with occasional turbulence due to layofs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable mid level management ( for the most part in IT) . Projects were well thought out and had good industry standard development methodologies

    Cons

    Many recent mergers and acquisitions leading to changing objectives. When merging, each company brings different software choices to the table and trying to run them all leads to data inconsistencies and poor communication.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on unifying technology platforms instead of trying to sustain disparate platforms currently in place due to mergers.

    MedQuist2014-01-13
  2. "Medical transcriber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MedQuist full-time

    Pros

    At home position and flexible hours including nights

    Cons

    Low pay and outsource

    MedQuist2017-11-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Working at home and being able to set a somewhat flexible schedule. The particular assigned "coach" I had was very helpful

    Cons

    Very low pay for work done. Editing cents per line lower than straight transcription and takes as long, or longer, than typing.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay for editing voice recognition because it takes longer than straight transcription

    MedQuist2017-01-20
  4. "Career Path Dead End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Company is substantial with history and some relative security - or at least it was several years back. Originally I was treated well, but everything changed due to changes in technological and the industry. Perhaps there are management positions that are still worthwhile.

    Cons

    Company mainly offers work for medical records transcriptionists. Ten years ago this work was considered a skilled specialty considered fairly valuable in the medical industry. I made a good living from it before that time. Technology and the medical industry changed, now it is like sweat shop piece work. Look for another line of work.

    Advice to Management

    I do not think that management, or even this company as a whole, is in a position to make a real difference in this line of work.

    MedQuist2016-08-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MedQuist for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay on time, great IT support, ability to work from home, and the hours were pretty flexible.

    Cons

    There was not enough work. There was a constant change in personnel. Pay was very low. They expect a lot for very low wages.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care and have more compassion for your employees.

    MedQuist2016-05-31
  6. "information consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Fast Paced work environment, good people to work with

    Cons

    Constantly reorganizing, laying people off. At least 5 CEO changes while I worked there.

    Advice to Management

    None

    MedQuist2015-06-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "No compassion for the American worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Good pay structure, good equipment, good IT support.

    Cons

    Lack, lack, lack of work mainly due to off shoring. No compassion for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take lessons in restructuring and HR.

    MedQuist2015-04-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "I worked for Medquist for 17 years and was laid off at in the morning with no warning due to their outsourcing jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Clementon, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Able to work at home.

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement, low pay barely minimum wage and poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Do everything differently.

    MedQuist2015-01-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A long-term disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SHDA in Franklin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MedQuist full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working from home, benefits not prohibitively expensive. My managers have been basically decent, but they don't control promotion or pay.

    Cons

    Have been with them approximately 15 years, no promotion. Have watched all my original coworkers either be promoted or resign. Am making the same salary as I did 20 years ago and I must continually educate myself. Constantly getting new accounts which slows down my production.

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking for ways to cut our pay, reward us for excellence and watch morale grow along with your profits and customer satisfaction. Otherwise, don't be surprised at what happens when the next revolution comes around.

    MedQuist2014-11-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging, fast-paced work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor III in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, created my own hours at first when I was a "statutory employee", which helped with Alzheimer's mother.

    Cons

    No promotions. Work load was very heavy at times. Outsourced some work overseas, then short of work. No "office" friends.

    Advice to Management

    Line count bar continued to be raised. No promotions. When transferred to 21 different states and various acute-care hospitals, time taken away from actual productivity because of reading each hospital's profiles and the way they wanted certain things done. Could we get the majority on the same page?

    MedQuist2014-07-31
Found 45 reviews