MedQuist Reviews | Glassdoor

MedQuist Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Peter L. Masanotti
22 Ratings
  1. "Changes in management style following Spheris purchase in 2010, make this a job I hope to have for years to come!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MT Level III in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedQuist

    Pros

    Working independently from home. Quality equipment provided. Excellent 24/7 tech support. Great technology that stays abreast with changes in industry. Excellent training provided and tutorials are always available at the click of a mouse. Flexible work schedule within reasonable limits. With changes in management following purchase of Spheris, communication with direct supervisor is now superior -- personal, fast, considerate, helpful. Pay is consistent with industry standards.

    Cons

    Not for the undisciplined or inexperienced. Whiners are not going to like the work. You can only get out of this sort of job what you put into it.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2011-02-07
  2. "Comfortable work environment with occasional turbulence due to layofs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable mid level management ( for the most part in IT) . Projects were well thought out and had good industry standard development methodologies

    Cons

    Many recent mergers and acquisitions leading to changing objectives. When merging, each company brings different software choices to the table and trying to run them all leads to data inconsistencies and poor communication.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2014-01-13
  3. "Great at-home job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MedQuist part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encouraging management and flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to transfer between many different accounts with different account specifics.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2013-02-27
  4. "Intriguing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MedQuist

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible hours, multiple resources provided for accurate workmanship, quality assurance a high asset to the company, feedback between management and personnel.

    Cons

    Speech recognition is on most of the accounts and greatly reduces your pay and speed. Speed is affected most at the beginning of your work.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2011-03-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging, fast-paced work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor III in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, created my own hours at first when I was a "statutory employee", which helped with Alzheimer's mother.

    Cons

    No promotions. Work load was very heavy at times. Outsourced some work overseas, then short of work. No "office" friends.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2014-07-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Job helped me paid my bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Support Level II in Franklin, TN

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Predictable routine daily work which becomes easier to accomplish over time.

    Cons

    Too many changes, ex. Acquisitions, merging, layoffs. Expecting us to do more but still getting paid the same.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2014-05-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Bought out my previous company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Free Home, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice to work from home. Like doing transcription. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    They laid off management people. Pay is low. Expectations for quality and production are too high.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2014-04-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good stepping stone company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules. Fairly consistent workloads. Will hire new graduates and provide needed training on platform. Good quality assurance program helps with learning dictators.

    Cons

    Weekend work required. Often difficult to find supervisors available if you need to speak with someone quickly. Very difficult to obtain any raises/promotions. Extremely large employee base.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2014-02-25
  9. "Always Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklin, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    If you have a strong manager you will be well compensated and protected from CONSTANT company changes, which often include layoffs. This can make for fast promotions.

    Cons

    Constant changes. Long hours. Current company culture is terrible with low company moral.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2011-11-19
  10. "Medical Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at MedQuist

    Pros

    Work at home, flexible hours, reasonable expectation of production and turn around time.

    Cons

    I started in the early 2000s, when it was a family run company that was bought out by "the big guys", TWICE!, so I have no idea what their expectations are now.

    Continue reading
    MedQuist2016-11-26
Found 45 reviews