MedQuist Reviews | Glassdoor

MedQuist Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Peter L. Masanotti
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Job helped me paid my bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Support Level II in Franklin, TN

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Predictable routine daily work which becomes easier to accomplish over time.

    Cons

    Too many changes, ex. Acquisitions, merging, layoffs. Expecting us to do more but still getting paid the same.

    MedQuist2014-05-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Bought out my previous company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Free Home, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice to work from home. Like doing transcription. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    They laid off management people. Pay is low. Expectations for quality and production are too high.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees.

    MedQuist2014-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good stepping stone company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedQuist part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules. Fairly consistent workloads. Will hire new graduates and provide needed training on platform. Good quality assurance program helps with learning dictators.

    Cons

    Weekend work required. Often difficult to find supervisors available if you need to speak with someone quickly. Very difficult to obtain any raises/promotions. Extremely large employee base.

    MedQuist2014-02-25
  4. "Typical corporate mentality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at MedQuist

      Pros

      Working at home was a plus. The hours were flexible. The transcription supervisors I had contact with were helpful for the most part.

      Cons

      The powers that be cared more about how many lines their employees could transcribe than anything else. I agree with the comments about sweat shops.

      Advice to Management

      That would accomplish nothing...They don't listen.

      MedQuist2013-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Twenty plus years down the drain"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - MT, QA, Supv, MME 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Being able to work at home and having some phenomenal, professional, yet caring coworkers

      Cons

      Not enough room here to list them all, but by the end of my time with the company I was making less than when I started. Corporate philosophy seemed to always be to throw a Band-Aid on a hemorrhage rather than really do the work necessary to prevent situations. People were placed in positions for which they had virtually no training or qualifications due to the constant restructuring; no matter how hard they tried,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I'd love to see management participate on "Undercover Boss."

      MedQuist2013-06-17
    • "Run, don't walk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good coffee at Norcross office.

      Cons

      Terrible pay. Management clueless about software development. Constant changes in direction. An entire division is convinced that systems should be built using PL/SQL. Seriously.

      Advice to Management

      Resign.

      MedQuist2013-05-06
    • "Great at-home job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at MedQuist part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Encouraging management and flexible scheduling.

      Cons

      Sometimes difficult to transfer between many different accounts with different account specifics.

      Advice to Management

      Make part-time required hours only 20, rather than 24.

      MedQuist2013-02-27
    • "MQ/MModal is the epitome of corporate greed."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - MT/ME 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at MedQuist full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Telecommuting independence. Technical support 24/7. Intelligent and hard working peers.

      Cons

      Salary decreasing each year due. No bonuses. No raises. Jobs are outsourced overseas. Sweatshop mentality in a what used to be highly regarded field of medical transcription.

      Advice to Management

      Walk a day in the shoes of an MT. Our dedication to our careers is what has helped this company become the #1 player in the health care delivery system.

      MedQuist2013-02-22
    • "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at MedQuist full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Working from home - when and if there is work available.

      Cons

      There is NEVER any work...you will NEVER get a raise....like other MT companies,,they will expect you to be happy working for pennies...if you don't like it....you could always move to India...cause that's where all of the work is....my advice? If you have a family to feed,,look elsewhere.

      Advice to Management

      Management? What is that?

      MedQuist2013-02-14
    • "This is not a medical transcribing company, this is a sweatshop that does not value their employees."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Fairfield, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at MedQuist full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      There are no pros working for this company.

      Cons

      Everything is wrong with this company. Similar to a sweat shop in China. The best thing they did for me was to fire me and now I work for a company who knows how to treat their employees.

      Advice to Management

      You need to take advice from companies that treat their employees with dignity. My worst years were when I worked for you, and now I know how valuable a company is by working for people who care about their employees. You are a disgrace to the medical profession and one day you will find it out when you start losing your accounts.

      MedQuist2013-02-11
    Found 45 reviews