MedStar Health Reviews in Baltimore, MD | Glassdoor

MedStar Health Baltimore Reviews

Updated April 17, 2017
107 reviews

Filter

Filter

Baltimore, MD Area

3.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MedStar Health President & CEO Kenneth A. Samet
Kenneth A. Samet
29 Ratings

107 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Management and little room for advancement (in 8 reviews)

  • Work/life balance is beyond abysmal (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "protective services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at MedStar Health full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Job stability ,area to grow

    Cons

    Have none to submit at this time

    MedStar Health Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you, for leaving us this feedback.. We are glad to hear you have had a positive experience..


  2. "Lack of Direction"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedStar Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Benefits - good PTO, if you choose medstar insurance you've got amazing coverage

    Stable company, healthcare jobs are always in demand and MedStar is only growing.

    Cons

    Communication is just awful, hospitals and corporate don't align, technology is painfully behind the times. Leadership is struggling to lead.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership training should be more of a priority. Communication and technology issues need to be focused on and worked out as well.

    MedStar Health Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand your concerns and take them seriously. Since Glassdoor reviews are anonymous, we invite you to contact our Human Resources department ... More


  3. "Amazing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedStar Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing place to work for

    Cons

    there are none for me

    MedStar Health Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Transporter in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Patient Transporter in Baltimore, MD

    I worked at MedStar Health (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice place. Cool people. Good patients

    Cons

    Bad manager. IDk anything else???

    Advice to Management

    Na

    MedStar Health Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to respond. Thank you for this valuable feedback. Have a great day!


  6. "It is a great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Billing Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Physician Billing Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    With medstar there are a lot options for employee advancement within the company with the right education and experience

    Cons

    The pay is not that great if u do not have the right education and advancement and when you want to move up in the same position there is not a lot of pay increase

    MedStar Health Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you very much for sharing these comments. We appreciate your feedback because it can help MedStar Health make improvements in the work environment. We aim to create a great work experience for ... More


  7. "Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Quality Clinical Reviewer and Data Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Data Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Clinical Data Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedStar Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Vast opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Personally, it was the commute.

    MedStar Health Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback about your employment experience at MedStar Union MemorialHospital. Have a great day!


  8. "good small community hospital where everone is a family"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedStar Health full-time

    Pros

    new job, good experience, learned a lot , free parking, family like environment, helpful coworkers

    Cons

    education compensation, pay and work load

    Advice to Management

    nothing for now

    MedStar Health Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thanks so much for posting this positive review. We value feedback from our associates and we are glad to hear you are happy in your new job. We wish you all the best.


  9. "RN II"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN II in Rosedale, MD
    Current Employee - RN II in Rosedale, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MedStar Health full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    doctors good to work with and other staff but not staff nurses

    Cons

    no team work, will not help if does not like you, massive clutter and miscommunication, TONS of favoritisim by mainly the boss and the oldest nurses on the floor and they are very open about it. very rude with fellow nurses and patients and famlies

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on every body not just yourself and friends

    MedStar Health Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Reputation Management Specialist

    Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We regret that you had a negative experience, but are glad you brought this to our attention. Since Glassdoor reviews are anonymous, we invite you to ... More


  10. "Awesome"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Student in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedStar Health (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, great atmosphere, talented workforce and great community

    Cons

    Far from home, multi-distant, secluded, and small town

    Advice to Management

    Great work


  11. "Really disappointed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Contractor - Travel RN in Baltimore, MD
    Current Contractor - Travel RN in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MedStar Health as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -I would say good pay but I don't think it was worth it
    -I was a travel nurse there so I only had to stick it out 13 weeks

    Cons

    -Everybody on my floor was miserable
    -It was very underfunded hospital, we would run out of supplies nightly and not get any more, meaning patient's who were incontinent often had to stay in those sheets until morning
    -They didn't seem to treat their travelers well (always got the worst patients)

    Advice to Management

    -Hold people accountable for not doing their jobs, every shift there were 10 things that hadn't been done on day shift--including blood that was ordered at noon. Aides also vanish for hours on end


Showing 107 of 364 reviews
Reset Filters