KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MedStar Health

Engaged Employer

MedStar Health

Add a Review

MedStar Health Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,144 of over 1,217 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
MedStar Health President & CEO Kenneth A. Samet
Kenneth A. Samet
283 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and HR department(in 149 reviews)
  • "Good staff friendly people and amart(in 37 reviews)
  • "Glad I had great coworkers to work with(in 36 reviews)
  • "The environment and people there are all great and professional.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Relatively easy to get desired time off (dependent on flexibility of manager)(in 20 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MedStar Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    low salary

    Jun 29, 2022 - Licensed Therapist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    close to home, flexible to some degree, CEUs

    Cons

    low pay, focus on reimbursements over patient well being

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. While we’re glad that you enjoy the flexibility, location, and ability to future your education, it’s disheartening to hear that you are not satisfied with other aspects of your employment. We appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns and will surely share them with the most appropriate leaders on our team. We value your feedback and are committed to making improvements that will help our associates succeed.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    double edged sword

    Jul 1, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    amazing job perks and staff

    Cons

    management cares more about bottom line and their own agenda than patient care or staff wellbeing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Jun 27, 2022 - Special Education Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance. Supportive multidisciplinary team. Meaningful work. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity to advance (within my particular department).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for your 5-star review and feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoy working for MedStar Health. We're happy to have you on our team and appreciate all that you do! We will also certainly share your advice to leadership about innovation.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Salary in er

    Jun 27, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, employee perks and discounts

    Cons

    Short staff and salary for staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. While we’re glad that you enjoy our comprehensive benefits package and employee discounts, it’s disheartening to hear that you are not satisfied with other aspects of your employment. We appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns and will surely share them with the most appropriate leaders on our team. We value your feedback and are committed to making improvements that will help our associates succeed.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pros an cons: a list

    Jun 27, 2022 - Speech Language Pathologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community with peers. Wellness initiatives. Benefits.

    Cons

    Parking. The divide between workforce and management. Pay. Communication.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. While we’re glad that you enjoy our comprehensive benefits package, wellness initiatives, and your team, it’s disheartening to hear that you are not satisfied with other aspects of your employment. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns and will surely share them with the most appropriate leaders on our team. We value your feedback and are committed to making improvements that will help our associates succeed.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great work place

    Jun 23, 2022 - Medical Assistant in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large organization, great affordable benefit

    Cons

    Short staffed, low pay, employee burnout

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. While we’re glad that you enjoy our comprehensive benefits package and vast organization, it’s disheartening to hear that you are not satisfied with other aspects of your employment. We appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns and will surely share them with the most appropriate leaders on our team. We value your feedback and are committed to making improvements that will help our associates succeed.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Jun 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None I loved it there

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Thank you for your 5-star review and feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed working for MedStar Health.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run don't Walk!

    Jul 1, 2022 - Internal Auditor in Nottingham, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits package. Personal days given in addition to federal holidays.

    Cons

    Low employee engagement, high employee turnover, low productivity, lack of discretionary effort, and low employee morale. These are attributed to the management style at the department I worked. What is worse is that executive leadership is aware and does nothing about it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Jun 15, 2022 - Security Monitor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay good company nice coworkers hours are good

    Cons

    not really great at training. you'll mostly learn as you go

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Manager, Reputation Management

    Thank you for your 5-star review and feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoy working for MedStar Health. We're happy to have you on our team and appreciate all that you do for our patients!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Medical Assistant

    Jun 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros are the Benefits

    Cons

    The con is the Salary

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Health Response

    Manager, Reputation Management

    Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy the comprehensive benefits package that we offer to our employees. We appreciate your constructive feedback, too, and will surely share it with our leaders so that we can continue to make improvements.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,144 Reviews

MedStar Health Reviews FAQs

MedStar Health has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,217 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at MedStar Health to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MedStar Health employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MedStar Health. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

69% of MedStar Health employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MedStar Health 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MedStar Health to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with MedStar Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MedStar Health? Share Your Experiences

or

MedStar Health Photos

+ Add Photo
MedStar Health photo of: Main Enterance
MedStar Health photo of: MedSTAR Transport
MedStar Health photo of: #MedStarHealthProud
MedStar Health photo of: #TreatPeople
MedStar Health photo of: Our associates' dedication is unmatched ...and so very much appreciated!
MedStar Health photo of: We are grateful for the dedication our nurses, doctors, and associates show each and every day.
MedStar Health photo of: We have the best patients
See All Photos