Cover image for MedStar Washington Hospital Center
Logo

MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Engaged Employer

MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Add a Review

MedStar Washington Hospital Center Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 421 of over 448 reviews
3.6
72% Recommend to a Friend
MedStar Washington Hospital Center President John Sullivan
62% Approve of CEO

Found 422 of over 448 reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
MedStar Washington Hospital Center President John Sullivan
John Sullivan
134 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

135.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=MedStar Washington Hospital Center~26338
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about MedStar Washington Hospital Center? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with MedStar Washington Hospital Center employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are great and leave a rarely get denied unless we are short of staff.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Good pay and good schedule(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great staff(in 15 reviews)
  • "I have amazing coworkers and managers.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Felt very educational and the people were very friendly and took me under their wing while I was employed there.(in 9 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Good managers get better; not so good or uncaring managers can stay that way without being 'coached' for as long as the work gets done.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Horrible culture for a new nurse.(in 7 reviews)
  • "There was no parking available.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Management in micro is very bad that even other departments know about it but nothing has been done about it, never see them at all, heavy workload, too much favoritism, toxic and no room for growth unless you are a buddy.(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MedStar Washington Hospital Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Pct

    Jan 20, 2023 - Patient Care Technician in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diversity, friendly people, team oriented

    Cons

    Parking situation is difficult, very busy ED

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    We value your feedback and appreciate your taking the time to share it. We're glad you enjoyed the friendly, diverse, and team-oriented atmosphere during your employment at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. We'll also pass along your remarks about parking with our leaders. We wish you the best in your future endeavors!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pays well

    Feb 8, 2023 - Medical Office Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company will pay you well

    Cons

    There is not slot of growth opportunities with out education

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the MedStar Washington Hospital Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Nurse

    Jan 31, 2023 - Nurse in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance there.

    Cons

    They need to pay RNs more

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    We value your feedback and appreciate your taking the time to share how pleased you are with the work-life balance you have at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. We'll also pass along your compensation recommendation to the most appropriate leaders. Thank you for your service! - MedStar Health Community Manager

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Summer nurse extern

    Jan 10, 2023 - Student Nurse Extern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    able to participate in operating room, friendly nurses, surgeons allowed students to scrub in

    Cons

    other parts of OR team not as friendly as nurses

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. While we’re glad that you enjoyed your nursing team and the opportunity to participate in the operating room, it’s disheartening to hear that you were not satisfied with other aspects of your employment. We appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns and will surely share them with the most appropriate leaders on our team. We value your feedback and are committed to making improvements that will help our associates succeed.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Work/ learning

    Jan 13, 2023 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work life balance, Great learning experience, Union based hospital

    Cons

    Need to improve cleanliness of the hospital

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Patient Tech Position

    Jan 13, 2023 - Patient Technician in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros includes Teamwork, collaborative environment, room for growth, respect and integrity.

    Cons

    staffing, draining, physically tiring, emotionally challenging

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Base pay

    Jan 6, 2023 - Registered Nurse in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros include teamwork,residents, and many resources

    Cons

    Pay, sometimes May or may not have a break

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's wonderful to hear how pleased you were with your coworkers, residents, and resources available to you during your employment at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. We'll also pass along your feedback about compensation and breaks to the most appropriate leaders on our team. We wish you the very best in your future endeavors!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to learn and work

    Dec 31, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Respect, great people, and great place to work

    Cons

    None to mention, good place to work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    We value your feedback and are delighted to hear how pleased you are with your employment at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. Thank you for your service!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work overall

    Dec 21, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management very supportive of staff. Great place to work

    Cons

    Pay is just very low. Hard to live off of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear how pleased you are with the support you receive from management. We will also make sure your concerns about compensation are shared with the appropriate leaders. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and for your service to our patients!

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Review of new grad RN

    Dec 17, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good coworkers Supportive ancillary staff

    Cons

    Patient to nurse ratio depending on acuity is high

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedStar Washington Hospital Center Response

    We're glad to hear you enjoy your coworkers and the support you receive form the ancillary staff. We will also pass along your comments about staffing to our leaders. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your continued service!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 422 Reviews
</>Embed

MedStar Washington Hospital Center Reviews FAQs

MedStar Washington Hospital Center has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 448 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at MedStar Washington Hospital Center to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MedStar Washington Hospital Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

72% of MedStar Washington Hospital Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MedStar Washington Hospital Center 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MedStar Washington Hospital Center to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be workplace, culture, management.

Popular Careers with MedStar Washington Hospital Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MedStar Washington Hospital Center? Share Your Experiences

MedStar Washington Hospital Center logo

MedStar Washington Hospital Center

or

Reviews by Job Title

MedStar Washington Hospital Center Photos

+ Add Photo
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: Washington Hospital Center  (Photo thanks to Flickr user dullshick with permission, All rights reserved.)
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: MedStar Transport Team!
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: Summer BBQ
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: Hard working Team!
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: Lending a helping hand
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: MedConnect Go Live!
MedStar Washington Hospital Center photo of: Summer BBQ for Associates!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MedStar Washington Hospital Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

Inova Logo
Inova

3.8

2,104 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 448 MedStar Washington Hospital Center reviews submitted anonymously by MedStar Washington Hospital Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MedStar Washington Hospital Center is right for you.