MedTouch "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

MedTouch Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
MedTouch Founder + CEO Paul Griffiths (no image)
Paul Griffiths
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growing pains can sometimes cause lack of processes(in 7 reviews)

  • "the work we do matters, and for a relatively small company, we are making serious waves in our market(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "The good kind of challenging, with meaningful outcomes and great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations and Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Work-life balance. I've worked at several places but MedTouch is the only one where I actually see this balance not only tolerated but encouraged and celebrated. Lots of flexibility with start/end time each day, lunch time/length, WFH, etc. There's no shame involved with taking days off, whether sick or vacation, and no expectation to actually be online those times. I know that sounds like a low bar, but it's made my experience here wonderful compared to other companies. 2.) Challenging, meaningful work. The work we do has obvious, direct impacts in healthcare. I've also felt MedTouch is proactive in ensuring employees have the tools they need to succeed. I've run into an issue or two on occasion that I would consider extremely minor and non-urgent that, after I raised, was resolved within hours. And I'm one of the lowest people on the totem pole! It's apparent they really do want you to succeed. 3.) Awesome people to work with. Everyone is incredibly smart, kind, welcoming, and funny. I don't work a lot with the senior leadership, but I don't get the impression that there's a lot of ego, nor do I get the impression that others feel that way. It's overall just a really positive, supportive environment. 4.) Perks/the little stuff: -the Assembly office and the surrounding area is lovely (we get discounts at most shops as an Assembly employee) -free snacks of all sorts along with free beer, kombucha, and cold brew (all on tap) in the kitchen -casual dress code (and again, they actually mean it!) -standing desks, treadmill desk -lots of employee happiness events/initiatives; Halloween party and competitions with prizes, an annual week devoted to celebrating employees with dress-up days and activities, lunch and learns, so much more -4% 401k match - a Slack channel devoted to pictures of cute dogs spotted near the office -a lot more I'm sure I'm forgetting!

    Cons

    -Open office layout (con for some, pro for others) -Could be difficult for someone coming from a more corporate environment -Some minor growing pains that are standard for any growing company; shuffling of accounts/projects as people leave and others are hired, etc.

    MedTouch2019-11-06

    MedTouch Response

    November 11, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We’re thrilled to hear that you find meaning in our work, comradery with your colleagues, and support from your leaders. Most of all, I’m encouraged to know that you’ve found our culture to be genuine and transparent: we say what we mean and we mean what we say! Thanks for being on our team and enjoying our uniquely MedTouch culture.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time

    Pros

    Project and functional teams work collaboratively, and everyone supports one another Company culture supports work/life balance Management has an open door policy and values the feedback/opinions of all employees Management values innovation Fun company sponsored activities scattered throughout the year

    Cons

    As others have noted, we experience the typical growing pains of a young company, and are taking care to roll out process that balances structure and flexibility.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2019-10-22

    MedTouch Response

    November 11, 2019Director, People + Culture

    I’m pleased to see that you value the collaboration across our project and functional teams. This collaboration is key to servicing our clients well. Our open and feedback-driven culture is another hallmark of our leadership. Thank you for recognizing it, and I hope you have benefited from it directly. With growth and change comes some discomfort, as you noted, but with your support and collaboration, we’re optimistic that we will achieve the balance we seek.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Specialists in Under-Delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Coffee Free Tea Free Snacks Good Healthcare Plan Great Office Location

    Cons

    The company has clearly been having issues for a few years now, “growing pains” have become flat out failure to grow. Previous reviews talk about a huge layoff, recent high turnover, and numerous internal operational issues. Under delivery to clients has become the norm and more time is spent trying to recoup loses or alter delivery promises and timelines than provide a quality product or delivery. The Boston based office is in Somerville’s Assembly Row, which is an amazing location but inside the office there are more empty desks than occupied ones. The company even sold off part of its office and still there are still rows of empty desks. A constant cycle of failed expected growth has led to hiring followed by mass exodus. As many as 6-10 people will give their notice over a month time-span, the company has a total of around 40-50 employees at a given time. The company has a serious issue with its ability to estimate the work it has sold. Contracts are extremely underestimated leading to free work being given away and more out of scope work is promised to the client. An unhealthy amount of bargaining and “offline discussions” occur to decide on the allocation of internal resources. Work sold is never delivered on the timeline sold to the client. Often more work is being sold to other clients that overlaps with the already exhausted resources to recoup the loses from another contract and to ‘recognize revenue’ and appear like nothing is wrong till next quarter. Some clients are strung along with entire alphabets of change control requests to pay for the work that should have been accounted for when the contract was originally sold, increasing timelines even further and making the client start looking for a better vendor. Developers leave at an alarming rate due to the nature of the work. The company constantly loses its top developers mid project (high turnover), leaving the remaining work to be completed another developer with less experience, understanding, or skill. The company tries really hard to project that everything is fine, but there are way too many issues. The remaining employees are only there to put out fires, message developers at all hours that a website has gone down, or convince clients everything will eventually be delivered even if it’s years after the work was originally sold.

    MedTouch2019-06-27

    MedTouch Response

    July 3, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Hi, this is CEO, Paul Griffiths. I personally want to address your feedback. For clarity, it is true we had a single day of layoffs in 2016, amounting to about 10% of our workforce. It was the right business decision, but we executed it poorly and I only blame myself. I did a poor job leading the company through the process. I caused unnecessary heartache thanks to my inexperience with such events. It was, and remains, a low point in my career. Your review suggests you were part of that event; for that, I’m sorry. I have attempted to learn from that mistake. If you would contact me, I’d like to hear from you as to what we could have done better. Today, I’m proud of MedTouch for a number of reasons: we are definitely growing, adding talent and clients. Our Boston office alone is over 40 people, we have a second office, and we have equal people working from around the country thanks to a more flexible WFH policy. We take company-wide surveys to get the pulse of our employees, from a day-to-day perspective; our most recent one included the question, “I have what I need to do my job correctly.” The company answered 4.5/5.0 We’ve made consistent improvements on employee performance, investment, and job satisfaction. We now operate in a more agile / less waterfall way than before, owing to the fact that our work is less about standing up technology and more about helping our clients maximize it – a big change for the business over the last three years. Lastly, to safeguard against false positivity, we have a company-wide scorecard that is used at every company meeting, as well as weekly and monthly cadences to promote transparency of business performance. I share this both as it is a result of what we learned from 2016 and because as I believe our team takes their work seriously, works hard for our clients, and enjoys the work they do. While I don’t claim we are perfect, these were and are challenging goals we’ve achieved together as a company. I’m sorry we were not a better fit for you during your time with us. Please contact me as I’d like to hear where you think we could have improved or, at very least, apologize in person. Best, Paul

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overall...A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, I really enjoyed my years at MedTouch. It's a company that is truly focused on people. I've never worked anywhere that was so active in soliciting feedback from employees and managers. The company has made great strides in process and has built an approachable and empathetic People function. The environment is casual, flexible, and fun.

    Cons

    Typical small company growing pains, room for improvement in change management

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2019-02-27

    MedTouch Response

    March 6, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience on our team. As a member of the People function myself, I can attest to the people-centric values that our leaders have. Our aim is to grow sustainably, in a way that leverages the strengths of our current team while providing new opportunities to develop additional skills. It’s a delicate balance to strike and we’re grateful for your encouragement to continue soliciting feedback – it’s something that we can never do enough of!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Grain of salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time

    Pros

    Glassdoor lets people post multiple reviews. A small contingent of ex-employees seem to not be able to let go and continue to post and post and post. I hope job seekers will see for themselves, come in for an interview and get a feel for the real people here at MedTouch. I have rarely worked with so many smart and KIND people. There are many growth opportunities for employees, and this is a meritocracy (MedTouch promotes not based on how many years you put in but on how well you perform - refreshing but it can lead to hurt feelings and ego issues - but I'd prefer that to blind promotion based on years or some other arbitrary measure. We have a fun environment, great people, and people who truly care about each other. We have an awesome location in Assembly Row and it's fun to come to work.

    Cons

    growing pains can sometimes cause lack of processes. Company is working on it but it is a team effort to get there

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2016-08-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "This company is special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time

    Pros

    Making the transition from my previous job was not an easy decision, though now that I’m with MedTouch I am certain it was one of the best I’ve ever made. That may sound overly dramatic or insincere, but many companies claim to care about their employees and have a great culture yet MedTouch is one of the few I’ve encountered that delivers. The people here are smart and driven, yet there is an underlying respect and appreciation for each other that too often seems missing or eroded at other highly ambitious companies. It seems that great vision and a desire to be the best are well-balanced with humility and an authentic care for people – and if that sounds as refreshing to you as it has been for me to experience, then I bet you’ll love it here.

    Cons

    Don’t get me wrong, things are not perfect (e.g. rapid growth and hiring can cause stress and puts a strain on leaders and systems, etc.), though most of the people I work with here acknowledge that these “growing pains” are far better than the hopelessness of the big-company bureaucracy. Similarly, there are some hectic days and weeks, however, the alternative of slowing down, lowering our targets, or being less ambitious is not appealing to anyone – the work we do matters, and for a relatively small company, we are making serious waves in our market.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2015-06-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "My Review of MedTouch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch

    Pros

    Wonderful company headed in the right direction! Really great culture and leadership

    Cons

    Growing fast and experiencing growing pains. All to be expected

    MedTouch2015-03-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews