MedTouch "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

MedTouch Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
MedTouch Founder + CEO Paul Griffiths (no image)
Paul Griffiths
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growing pains can sometimes cause lack of processes(in 7 reviews)

  • "the work we do matters, and for a relatively small company, we are making serious waves in our market(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "The good kind of challenging, with meaningful outcomes and great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations and Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Work-life balance. I've worked at several places but MedTouch is the only one where I actually see this balance not only tolerated but encouraged and celebrated. Lots of flexibility with start/end time each day, lunch time/length, WFH, etc. There's no shame involved with taking days off, whether sick or vacation, and no expectation to actually be online those times. I know that sounds like a low bar, but it's made my experience here wonderful compared to other companies. 2.) Challenging, meaningful work. The work we do has obvious, direct impacts in healthcare. I've also felt MedTouch is proactive in ensuring employees have the tools they need to succeed. I've run into an issue or two on occasion that I would consider extremely minor and non-urgent that, after I raised, was resolved within hours. And I'm one of the lowest people on the totem pole! It's apparent they really do want you to succeed. 3.) Awesome people to work with. Everyone is incredibly smart, kind, welcoming, and funny. I don't work a lot with the senior leadership, but I don't get the impression that there's a lot of ego, nor do I get the impression that others feel that way. It's overall just a really positive, supportive environment. 4.) Perks/the little stuff: -the Assembly office and the surrounding area is lovely (we get discounts at most shops as an Assembly employee) -free snacks of all sorts along with free beer, kombucha, and cold brew (all on tap) in the kitchen -casual dress code (and again, they actually mean it!) -standing desks, treadmill desk -lots of employee happiness events/initiatives; Halloween party and competitions with prizes, an annual week devoted to celebrating employees with dress-up days and activities, lunch and learns, so much more -4% 401k match - a Slack channel devoted to pictures of cute dogs spotted near the office -a lot more I'm sure I'm forgetting!

    Cons

    -Open office layout (con for some, pro for others) -Could be difficult for someone coming from a more corporate environment -Some minor growing pains that are standard for any growing company; shuffling of accounts/projects as people leave and others are hired, etc.

    MedTouch2019-11-06

    MedTouch Response

    November 11, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We’re thrilled to hear that you find meaning in our work, comradery with your colleagues, and support from your leaders. Most of all, I’m encouraged to know that you’ve found our culture to be genuine and transparent: we say what we mean and we mean what we say! Thanks for being on our team and enjoying our uniquely MedTouch culture.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time

    Pros

    Project and functional teams work collaboratively, and everyone supports one another Company culture supports work/life balance Management has an open door policy and values the feedback/opinions of all employees Management values innovation Fun company sponsored activities scattered throughout the year

    Cons

    As others have noted, we experience the typical growing pains of a young company, and are taking care to roll out process that balances structure and flexibility.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2019-10-22

    MedTouch Response

    November 11, 2019Director, People + Culture

    I’m pleased to see that you value the collaboration across our project and functional teams. This collaboration is key to servicing our clients well. Our open and feedback-driven culture is another hallmark of our leadership. Thank you for recognizing it, and I hope you have benefited from it directly. With growth and change comes some discomfort, as you noted, but with your support and collaboration, we’re optimistic that we will achieve the balance we seek.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Team, Good Purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work with an office full of people that genuinely cares about their work and the quality of what we provide to our clients. Everyone on my team has each other's back, ready to assist at almost anytime. And the same applies to everyone in the office no matter what team they are on. I like that there are moments when we get to see the impact of our work - helping people find doctors and care. MedTouch talks about that as being our purpose and it does feel good when I get to report to our clients that what we have done for them has made a difference - a better design, improved website functions, more engaging content.

    Cons

    With offices in different states and several remote employees, even with the best intentions it can be difficult to have everyone feel included. But they are always working on it. Work / life balance can be difficult to maintain at times in a job that works directly for the client. Thankfully it isn't a pain point too often, but it does happen.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2019-02-20

    MedTouch Response

    March 6, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We’re thrilled to hear about the moments that you get to see the impact of our work in people's lives - that's what we're all about. It sounds like the comradery and support you experience from the team is what enables us to deliver these great solutions to our clients and also what can make the role demanding at times. Thank you for putting in the extra hours when they’re needed. If it becomes more routine, please talk with your manager. We’re committed to our team members having a full and balanced life!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Decent place to work, but not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good talent and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Work was boring and redundant, very little variety.

    MedTouch2017-10-17

    MedTouch Response

    November 2, 2017Talent Acquisition Lead

    We appreciate your willingness to share about your experience on our UI team. We know that building new designs is exciting and stimulating; we’re fortunate to have the opportunity to work on these new features very often. On the flip side, ongoing maintenance and bug fixes are equally as critical for the ongoing success of our clients. Different seasons that may have an increase in either of these tasks are supplemented with monthly tech talks and implementation of new technologies to promote continual learning.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Headed in the wrong direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch full-time

    Pros

    There are some good, hardworking people here. The work/life balance is reasonably good - very seldom was I expected to work on nights or weekends. The fact that the business is focused on one industry and a relatively stable technical base makes things reasonably predictable, which is a good thing. Developers are mostly shielded from interacting with clients.

    Cons

    I don't think it's a coincidence that the reviews are trending negative lately. A year ago I probably would have given the company three stars, but if I had stayed and things continued they way they were headed, I could see it dropping to one. A period of rapid growth was very disruptive to the day-to-day of the company, and employees that predated this hiring spree were expected to maintain the same amount/quality of work while also training and onboarding the many new people. Complicating things was the fact that many of the newer employees were unqualified for their positions due to the pace of hiring. This growth also led to the promotion into management positions of a few folks who were just not qualified or ready for the responsibility, which only compounded the problems. This eventually led to an exodus of many longer-tenured employees, and then a “restructuring” that resulted in layoffs of many of the newer people. Some development work has been outsourced in the aftermath. The leadership team seemed to know that these problems existed, even going so far as to request feedback from all employees a couple of times, but no actual attempts were made to change anything that I ever saw. When I first started at the company I really believed in the things leadership members said about their commitment to the company and employees, and took them at face value during company meetings/pep talks. The words eventually started to ring hollow, though, and it became difficult to not become a cynic about things. The leadership team itself seemed to be feeling the pressure as well, and some pretty ugly scapegoating and buck-passing started. It did begin to feel like the CEO might be positioning the company for a sale.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2016-04-26
  6. Helpful (26)

    "Like living in fear? Work at MedTouch!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at MedTouch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A fun, diverse group of colleagues - Because of the small team dynamic, there is a sense of ownership over every project you complete - Values on-the-job training (which can also be a negative) - Fun extracurricular activities (Fantasy Football, Yankee Swap, etc.) - Training is comprehensive, but not always immediately applicable to the role - Approachable CEO that solicits feedback from employees (not all the leadership team is approachable, though) - Multiple offices allow for occasional travel to other big cities (Seattle and Boston, for example)

    Cons

    MedTouch was once a great place to work, but now it’s evident that they’re going through tough financial times. People are frequently let go -- recently, 12 people were laid off in one day, including members of the leadership team who had been there for over 3 years -- with vague information as to why. They claim transparency in leadership, but then layoff a significant portion of their leadership team, only to say they’re “changing directions”. There is no surefire way to obtain job security. It’s scary. The reviews on Glassdoor are skewed because a) MedTouch is still small enough where people will try to guess who wrote the review so it’s hard to publish anonymously, b) everyone is afraid of being fired for a negative review because of the frequent layoffs and firings, and c) everyone is too busy and over-worked to write a review. The only positive is that your colleagues are great -- culture is important, and the culture lead does a great job of tracking down smart, genuine people you’ll be happy to call friends. There were many other positives when I first started, but those are rapidly degrading. Much of it has to do with a leadership methodology that is domineering, micromanaging, and self-absorbed. This management constantly steers the team and company in time-wasting -- and frankly, often embarrassing, childish and ridiculous -- directions. Decent compensation is also tough to obtain. Your salary will not be worth the stress and constant fear of losing your job that you’ll inevitably go through. Some other cons: - Poor work-life balance - Dwindling senior/seasoned resources - Deadline-based instead of results-based - No growth strategy - In dire need of project management process improvement - Low salaries, relative to geographic location and role - Poor estimating for projects - Typically no clear definition of project scope - Tracking time to the minute, then constantly getting shamed for going "over hours" - Inability to reset deadlines - Overselling without taking an honest view of resources/schedules - Unclear project and task priorities - Occasional motivational speakers presenting on topics of no relevance or utility to employees - Too concerned with looking financially successful -- if they were so well off, why are so many hard-working people being laid off for no reason? and why is it so difficult to get paid what you are worth? why should anyone work for a company that is going bust? - Absolutely no relaxation ever - Working with a slow, outdated CMS (Sitecore) - Sad developers (if you go to the developer area, you'll hear a lot of deep sighs) If I could use one word to describe this company? “Hypocritical.” Actions speak louder than words. Stop paying lip service to valuing people while treating them like hour-based numbers in a spreadsheet.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2016-03-05

    MedTouch Response

    March 8, 2016CEO + Founding Partner

    Thanks for the feedback. I appreciate that you found a lot of useful things in working at MedTouch, especially the culture and people and I’m sorry that our conclusion to working together caused disappointment. We did complete a re-organization which impacted eight positions out of 100+ people. After, we shared with the company a lot of context around why we were making changes, how we’re growing this year, new work we’re bringing on, new positions we’re opening, and how we are seeking to improve. Those changes also included a number of promotions as well, though we did not share much of this with people exiting out of sensitivity. As far as job security goes, we aim to be a meritocracy where good ideas and contribution matter more than tenure. I don’t connect with a number of your points – I think our developers, for example, enjoy Sitecore (the market leader, a solid .NET solution etc.), and I truly don’t see fear as a prevailing emotion in our offices – but please email me directly as I’d be very happy to discuss it with you. Lastly, I hope you take away more than bitterness from your time with us. Despite how it feels in the moment – and we’re no longer small enough to know who writes these anymore because I’m not sure who is reading this – you were hired, trained, and selected because we saw great potential in you. This change doesn’t take anything away from that truth, and I sincerely hope you find a great fit in your next role. Best, Paul Griffiths, CEO

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Great company, lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MedTouch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing surpasses the value that a sincerely committed CEO can bring in setting a positive culture/ tone from the top. In the case of MedTouch CEO Paul Griffiths, he really has a special blend of qualities which enable the company to hire and keep great employees. The culture is collaborative, committed to appreciating and respecting its employees and generally promotes a relaxed, fun culture. The company is / was growing a lot, industry-leading in the space it's in. Felt very startup-like in most aspects and enables individuality and growth. Smart teammates who generally lack big company egos made it an easy place to make friends and enjoy even off-hour time with co-workers. Everyone worked hard, but work-life balance was very good for most employees outside senior leadership. Boston is a very competitive talent community with a lot of opportunities for smart people, particularly in tech. That said, MedTouch should be seriously considered by anyone looking for the qualities above, as it stands shoulder to shoulder with some of the better known tech / digital marketing shops in town.

    Cons

    MedTouch can feel more like a family than a business at times, and leadership decisions often reflect that. This led to putting off hard, but possibly beneficial business decisions in some cases where individuals' sensitivities may have been offended (i.e. restructuring teams, changing roles etc.). Over-communication and analysis paralysis / decision by committee were common, though not dominant themes. That said, most of this was born out of the company being so close knit and genuinely concerned about valuing individual perspectives.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2015-05-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Idealistic, positive culture. Strong sense of purpose."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is on the same page: Deliver breathtaking value to the best brands in healthcare... and let's whistle while we work. People here are passionate about healthcare and technology. Warm, fun, humorous environment. Politics-free pledge on our job descriptions is actually true. We have a seven minute daily meeting where we celebrate each other and talk openly about any roadblocks and hurdles. Constructive feedback is welcomed, not just tolerated. People are good at what they do, and it's a fast-paced, challenging place to work.

    Cons

    It's "startuppy," so high maintenance types probably wouldn't love it. Our office space has a lot of character but isn't super high-end. We are a little cramped because we've hired so many new people, but that's kind of a good thing, right? Our pay and benefits are getting better, but right now are just kind of average. That said, we have good work-life balance and do a lot for charity etc. People love the company overall.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2013-12-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Small company going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MedTouch

    Pros

    The clients, and the people you work with on a daily basis. MedTouch is ahead of the curb in their space and create amazing results for their clients. For the most part there is a great work/life balance and an awesome atmosphere of teamwork among the smaller teams

    Cons

    The back biting and politics among a small amount of members of the organization could be greatly improved, as well as a serious lack of professionalism and accountability in some cases.This is only apparent with a very small group of people but unfortunately they have a big impact on your bottom line.

    Continue reading
    MedTouch2013-11-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews