KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MedVet

Engaged Employer

MedVet

Add a Review

MedVet Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 408 of over 419 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
MedVet CEO Linda Lehmkuhl, DVM, MS, DACVIM (Cardiology) (no image)
Linda Lehmkuhl, DVM, MS, DACVIM (Cardiology)
147 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MedVet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Daytime Hospitalist hire

    Sep 28, 2022 - Hospitalist in Dayton, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This specific position is daytime only which for me is good having a new family. Very happy with salary and other benefits. Great support from the team of other vets, specialists, technicians, assistants and CSRs.

    Cons

    I am still adjusting to 10 to 12 hour shifts, but this is made up for in the fact I am home more days of the week.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Review

    Sep 26, 2022 - VetTech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn and develop skills

    Cons

    Needed more work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    Thank you for your review. We understand the challenging demands in the veterinary profession at this time and are committed to developing and maintaining a culture of wellbeing in our hospital. We encourage team members to take advantage of the great benefits we have that will help everyone navigate the stress of long hours and support your mental and physical health. With initiatives like complimentary subscriptions to mental wellbeing apps, our Employee Assistance Program, and the creation of a well-being room, we hope to continue to support and promote healthy ways of dealing with stress. Establishing a work life balance is important and will continue to support all full time team members in utilizing their PTO as well. Our local and regional leadership are here to support you and we welcome your feedback. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner, Clinical Manager or Hospital Director for further discussion. Thank you for sharing your voice.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my Job!

    Sep 21, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome teamwork Great Benefits Good Pay Great hours Room for advancement

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Client Service Representatives at MedVet have a rewarding, yet difficult role and we are glad to hear that you are having a positive team member experience. We are also glad that you are supported with career growth, a supportive team and strong benefits. We look forward to hearing your feedback on our Employee Surveys as you continue to grow with MedVet!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Everyone is like family

    Sep 18, 2022 - Vet Tech in Worthington, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This Hospital is absolutely a teaching hospital everyone is willing to help you get where you wanna be

    Cons

    The employee discount is all that comes to mind

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you are honing in on new skills and growing every day by being surrounded by a supportive and teaching team. We strive to always foster an environment that is full of growth and educational opportunities. With Teamwork being one of our core values, it's great to hear you have had such a positive experience with MedVet in that realm. Our local and regional leadership are here to support you and we welcome your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your voice.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Recent hire review

    Sep 13, 2022 - Veterinary Cardiologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very welcoming team, great benefits, good hours.

    Cons

    Would love more opportunities to reach out to referral partners to help build my practice.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your team, schedule, and our excellent benefits. Communication is a foundation piece to a strong and healthy work environment, and it's great to hear that you're having a great experience at MedVet within that realm. MedVet is committed to serving our Referral Partners 24/7 and we recognize that this requires mindfulness around how we continue to nurture those relationships and support both their and our patient care needs in a collaborative way. We appreciate you sharing your voice and encourage you to speak with your Medical Director for further discussion.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work and learn

    Sep 5, 2022 - Veterinary Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They definitely care about their employees. It always seemed as if professional goals were a focus. The residents are wonderful teachers and love to share their cases and experiences.

    Cons

    Definitely could be slow or swamped depending on the day (but thats the field). It also seemed that there were a lot of staff suffering from unmanaged burnout that really messed with the culture at times.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you feel supported and that you are learning new skills through various cases. We understand the challenging demands in the veterinary profession at this time and are committed to developing and maintaining a culture of wellbeing in every hospital . We prioritize the fostering of an environment that shows compassion, empathy, and support. We strive to have leaders that promote an inclusive and collaborative environment, all while being approachable for any concerns from team members. Finding and adding new team members has been and will always been one of our highest priorities. We are aware that our teams continue to be challenged by the increased work load that the last couple of years have brought. As an organization, we have developed the career framework to grow our teams and provide opportunities that will help offset burnout. We understand that ER and Specialty medicine is intense. Our Career Framework was developed to give our clinical teams access to opportunities in whichever direction they choose to grow. We combine training and mentorship with on the job experience to develop well rounded individuals. We also have some really great benefits to help navigate stress and support your mental and physical health. With initiatives like complimentary subscriptions to mental wellbeing apps, our Employee Assistance Program, and the creation of a well-being room, we hope to continue to support and promote healthy ways of dealing with stress so everyone can be the best version of themselves when they are doing what they love.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great pay and benefits

    Sep 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is no other vet clinic that can pay as well and give such great benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management is wonderful and helpful but lower management seems bitter and somewhat unprofessional. There is a lot of needless drama that upper management could get rid off if addressed. There is a lot of unprofessionalism like talking about other employees and being catty. There could be a great team at medvet if this were addressed. I was assured that I would be fully trained before I was expected to work on my own in my position and the training is no where close to sufficient for such an important role.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear your experience at MedVet has not been up to our standards. MedVet strives to always foster an environment that is positive, teamwork-oriented, and compassionate. We are constantly evaluating ways to keep team members up to date with ongoing training and continuing education. Leadership is one of our three core values and we will continue to prioritize the development of strong, compassionate, and driven leaders within our organization. We strive to have leaders that promote an inclusive and collaborative environment, all while being approachable for any concerns from team members. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner, Clinical Manager or Hospital Director for further discussion. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    IT Specialist

    Aug 28, 2022 - IT Specialist in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great veterinary industry, like the Cleveland Clinic of veterinary medicine.

    Cons

    Internal growth opportunities in IT are limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    We are glad that you're enjoying your role and being apart of the veterinary profession. Providing the golden standard of care is what we stand for and IT Specialists play such a major role in the successful operations of our hospitals and support teams. MedVet continues to grow our current team members and provide career opportunities and we hope you have that opportunity in the future as you continue to grow in your skills. We encourage you to speak with your current manager to outline a career path for your future!

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    CSR

    Sep 10, 2022 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    enjoy working in an environment helping pets

    Cons

    alot of very gossiping staff members

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MedVet Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We understand the challenging demands in the veterinary profession at this time and are committed to developing and maintaining a culture of wellbeing in our hospital . We prioritize the fostering of an environment that shows compassion, empathy, and support. We strive to have leaders that promote an inclusive and collaborative environment, all while being approachable for any concerns from team members. We welcome your feedback and encourage you to bring your concerns directly to your HR Manager or Hospital Director for further discussion. We appreciate you sharing your feedback.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic forward-thinking veterinary organization

    Aug 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, mission statement and connection to veterinary professionals across the country

    Cons

    Larger company meaning HR etc are slower to respond

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 408 Reviews

MedVet Reviews FAQs

MedVet has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 419 reviews left anonymously by employees. 77% of employees would recommend working at MedVet to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MedVet employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MedVet. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

77% of MedVet employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MedVet 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MedVet to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be work life balance, culture, management.

Popular Careers with MedVet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MedVet? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

MedVet Photos

+ Add Photo
MedVet photo of: Eye Exam
MedVet photo of: MedVet Cincinnati
MedVet photo of: Bonding with patients continues to add to our golden standard of care.
MedVet photo of: MedVet Columbus happens to be our very first MedVet hospital which opened in 1988 and has been veterinarian owned and led ever since.
MedVet photo of: MedVet Northern Utah
MedVet photo of: Northern Utah is one of more than 30 MedVet locations filled with amazing team members who work hard to provide exceptional care and service every day.
MedVet photo of: A giant shout out to the members of our MedVet family for sharing your TLC daily as we work together in pursuing of our mission, Leading Specialty Healthcare for Pets.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

WestVet Emergency & Specialty Center

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MedVet Job Seekers Also Viewed

Aspen Dental Logo
Aspen Dental

3.4

2,061 Reviews
Compare