Media Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

Media Direct Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Media Direct Founder & President Scott Miller (no image)
Scott Miller
7 Ratings
  1. "Media Direct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Media Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High commission, multiple weekly bonuses, and W-2. Yearly incentive trips that are all inclusive and easily obtainable. Frequent contests. Positive and fun environment. You're not stuck in an office talking about selling, you're actually out there selling. If you produce sales you earn flexibility. You won't have management watching and breathing down your neck all day. Selling the best products. Senor management/ owners of the company go in field with you and show you how the masters that started the company have made a door to door career successful. Great opportunities for advancement, training pay, relocation and travel.

    Cons

    It's a commission job, so if you're afraid of working in the elements or of people in general, you're not going to be successful. You can be your worst enemy, so stay positive and knock doors, the worst that can happen is they say no. If your having issues with your manager, just reach out to the owners, the negative feedback could have been prevented if only the reps reached out to someone who could have changed things.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2016-01-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company EVER!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Media Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There aren't really any pros to be honest.

    Cons

    100% sales commission pay, no reimbursement for gas for driving around all day, mandatory to work 6 days per week, rejection from close to 99% of all people, benefits are a joke, taught bullying and high pressure sales tactics. I actually LOST money working at this job!!!! My house is in foreclosure, my wife has left me, I can't feed my kids, and my life is in SHAMBLES all thanks to this pathetic excuse of a job!!!!!

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2016-06-20
  3. "Great money for Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Media Direct full-time

    Pros

    You are selling a product that people actually want. It is very flexible. Great Management. Very easy interview.

    Cons

    If you do not work and are not motivated, you will fail. As long as you keep your head up you will do fine. Door to door sales.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2015-11-09
  4. "Great Place to work if you aren't afraid to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Media Direct full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High Commisions Flexible Schedule Opportunities for advancement Employee friendly organization Nice benefits/incentive programs

    Cons

    This job is for individuals that are outgoing and people friendly. Additionally, you'll be treated like royalty if you show up, work the required schedule (35-40 hours a week) and put forth effort. If you are a lazy, excuse making slacker looking to cut corners at every turn...your experience will be short lived.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2015-08-18
  5. "AT&T Direct Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AT&T Direct Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Media Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence (someone not always looking over your shoulder) when out in the field, unlimited income potential, health/dental benefits

    Cons

    Work in the rain, snow, etc. Paid vacation not earned until after 1 year

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2015-04-13
  6. "AT&T sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Media Direct

    Pros

    You will work with little supervision. You can make money if you know how to sell door to door like a vacuum salesman.

    Cons

    Managers are not mature or professional. No real support. Only care about money. Not recommended.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2015-04-27
  7. "Avoid Like the Plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Media Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product they sell in the Indianapolis market, AT&T U-verse, is very good

    Cons

    This company offers the worst of all worlds. The positive reviews posted here are from managers. I have worked on commission, in whole or in part, almost my whole life, so I am not against it even slightly. The problem with this company is that you have all the drawbacks of being in sales, and none of the benefits of being in sales. Let me explain. It is well known that sales involves fluctuations in income and rejection. As a lifelong salesman, I accept that in return for flexible hours and the ability to earn big money when sales are good. Unfortunately, Media Direct magnifies the drawbacks of sales and takes away the benefit of being in sales. EVERYONE at this company is flat broke. It seems as if losing your house is a right of passage for employees there. This is not surprising as you waste hours everyday waiting around in seedy fast food joints waiting for the manager to show up (usually late) for twice daily meetings. Sales is a hard job requiring a lot of energy, and when hours are wasted EVERYDAY on top of the long hours required to make it in sales, even good salesmen can't make it. Also, the managers are nice when you first meet them, but you are quickly treated VERY badly and constantly belittled and threatened. Also, the flexible hours, often cited as the main benefit of being in sales, goes out the window at Media Direct. Although you are straight commission (which is fine with me), they still force you to work fixed hours, rain, shine, or snow, so you lose the freedom which is one of the main reasons people go into sales. The owner of this company was actually outraged that sales reps were not out knocking doors during the polar vortex of 2014, when we had a blizzard and MINUS 40, and a state of emergency. They really don't care if you slide off the road and freeze to death if they can squeeze one more sale out of you. If you want to sell the great u-verse service, find another dealer to work for.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2015-03-20
  8. "Great pay residential door to door cable sales for AT&T U-verse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Media Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very understanding management when it comes to very reasonable flexibility. They pay great and on time, every week. The contests and incentives are exciting and they have a laid back atmosphere. We are all employees, not subcontractors... so they take the taxes out for you! PAID ON SALE, not install...and NO CHARGEBACKS!! You definitely get what you put in. What more money, knock more doors.

    Cons

    Gets super hot in the summer, wet in the rain, and cold in the snow. I'll freeze my but off every day getting paid $60k/year! It's an atypical environment. Instead of meeting at an office, we meet at restaurants like subway, mcdonalds, etc. that are close to our routes, so I guess its more convenient than driving back across town every day and we are in our personal cars. The best pay plan is 100% commission or you have to sacrifice some pay for the guaranteed pay. I do think they should have daily training but it would be difficult in restaurants.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2014-11-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "This was a great place to work offering expert training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Media Direct full-time

    Pros

    Great employee/management interaction and always willing to mentorr

    Cons

    Longer hours than typical and the travel was too much.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2013-04-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bluff your way to the top."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales - Commission Only in Jacksonville, FL

    I worked at Media Direct

    Pros

    Weekly pay, nice bonus structure (annual and weekly bonuses), numerous system / company sales contests, actual employee - not I-9 contractor.

    Cons

    Competent owners but very incompetent managers. Managers not well educated or business savy, often use bullying tactics. Reps trained to use "bluff" pitch with all customers to generate sales.

    Continue reading
    Media Direct2010-06-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews