Media Temple Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Media Temple General Manager Lou Kikos
Lou Kikos
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can also work from home, which in encouraged(in 8 reviews)

  • "I don't find the "free food" as much as a Pro as the other since it really doesn't add the value I am looking for in a job but hey it is what it is(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No desire to win or compete in the hosting space(in 6 reviews)

  • "If you're employed here, you'll be overworked & underpaid, despite parent company GoDaddy being a mega-giant with zillions of dollars(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. Great team.

    Cons

    None really - Keep up the good work.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2019-11-25
  2. "Challenging Startup Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Media Temple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can really flourish here. Most of the leadership team is new to the company, and there's some real opportunity to move up or laterally into other positions you may be interested in. 90% of the company works remote. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Most of leadership is new. They're trying to understand the business model, and in the meantime, it is tough to organize and get things done. The company is going through some major growing pains. The new CEO is great!

    Media Temple2019-11-19
  3. "Decent"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Support in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Media Temple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is nice

    Cons

    Working from home is lonely

    Media Temple2019-09-22

    Media Temple Response

    October 11, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    We could not have said it better! Working from home is a wonderful perk and especially great with Los Angeles traffic. That being said, it can get a little lonely at times. We are constantly looking for improvements in that arena and look forward to hearing if we can meet, or even some day exceed, expectations. Please feel free to reach out to your Management with any ideas you may have. We are definitely all ears on this topic and others!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don't bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Media Temple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Work from home *Paid time off

    Cons

    *Just about everything else.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2019-09-22

    Media Temple Response

    October 11, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    We would encourage you to reach out to HR or the anonymous ethics hotline for any concerns and policy issues that you wish to report.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good company through GoDaddy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company promotes learning with all the tools necessary to i

    Cons

    Leadership doesn't stand by its core values. Communication is poor and they don't value their employees.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2019-07-26

    Media Temple Response

    August 29, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    Thank you for the feedback. We greatly value our employees, as they are not only the lifeblood of the company, but the lifeblood of our customer experience. We believe in a good work/life balance and flexibility is something that is a big part of our culture. Every circumstance is different and we handle requests on a case by case basis. At times there could be a logical business reason where we are unable to provide what is being asked. We firmly believe that a happy employee is a productive employee and strive to ensure the happiness of all. Thanks again.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "No guidance and moving goalposts"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn how technical things that go behind the internet and websites work. Lots of room to learn things.

    Cons

    Low to no opportunity for growth. Your peers aren't forced to keep their continuing education up, so you have some agents that have been there for years who don't know basics and they don't get challenged nor are they required to learn them. All the hardware you get will be used unless you're an engineer. No updates to servers hardware and software for years on end, so all your customers have old stacks that they pay way too much for. And when it fails (as it does weekly) you will realize your job is to be an apologist for all the failures that you will incur daily do to poor management.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2019-06-20

    Media Temple Response

    August 13, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    Thank you for the feedback. We definitely pride ourselves in being a highly technical team that provides our employees the opportunity to increase their knowledge. On the flip side, we try to not be overbearing with forced learning. We want to ensure employees know enough to properly service our customers, but not force deep technical training on everyone. This is why we employ various levels in Customer Support. Not only does it provide upward mobility, but it also ties directly to a deeper technical aptitude. While more limited in availability, our Advanced Support team and Management are additional career options as well. No, we cannot guarantee you are going to be working from the hottest new laptop on the market; nor, can we guarantee you will get to provide support, for the newest technologies we bring to market. What we can guarantee is a great company to work for, awesome co-workers, an avenue for deep technical learning, and the promise to always listen while striving to be better.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "All The Negatives of a Large Corp Plus All The Negatives of a Small One"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support II in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WFH, free hosting, lots of high-level technical training

    Cons

    If you're employed here, you'll be overworked & underpaid, despite parent company GoDaddy being a mega-giant with zillions of dollars. IT consultants charge triple digits to do some of the things you're expected to do at $17/hr. You have zero control over your workflow & schedule. You will be put on a very unpleasant shift. You will be reprimanded for meeting quota, because the expectation is that you actually take as many calls as possible. Don't believe anything they tell you in the interview about call volume. It was not abnormal for me to take 40 calls a day; a couple of times, I took 30 calls before lunch. It's ridiculous, considering how technical some of those calls are. You can't catch your breath, because your manager will ride you for being out of the phone queue, even if your queue time is way above your quota. Because, again, the quotas don't really matter. Every call is recorded, and if you deviate even slightly from the correct procedure (i.e. being OK with a customer calling himself "Bob" instead of "Robert" as it says on the screen), for any reason, prepare for an entire 1-on-1 about it if the call gets QA'd. Note that during your early shadowing period, you'll watch reps deviate constantly from procedure & be told that it's better to deviate than make someone upset. This is completely contradicted by management once you're actually taking calls, which is one of a few ways you're set up for stress during the onboarding process. Overall, you're treated like a cog & paid like a dog. The office is neat, but you won't work there. You will never meet most of your coworkers; I never even met my manager.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2019-02-28

    Media Temple Response

    August 13, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    Thank you for the feedback. We are definitely proud to call WFH (Work From Home) and the ability to gain some deep technical knowledge among some of our perks. While you are allowed to work at the Los Angeles office, we are indeed a fully remote team, spread across various parts of the country. A fully remote team comes with its own set of employee perks and drawbacks. An obvious perk is definitely as simple as being able to work from the comfort of your own home, while a drawback can be, as you mentioned, not seeing/meeting in person some of your co-workers. We used to do team outings and are experimenting with department outings this year. We may not have perfected the engagement model for a fully remote team, but we strive to continually make it better. Another area of pride is setting the proper expectations for our customers and employees. Members of management make up the interviewers and should be providing realistic job expectations before hire. It is also important that certain processes are not deviated from for various reasons, including security and customer experience. That being said, we also pride ourselves on giving you the ability to think outside the box. While some processes are and should remain set in stone, there are plenty where we expect you to be creative, put yourself in the customer’s shoes, and challenge the status quo. We want to empower you to be a free thinker and shoot for treating the customer the way you would want to be treated.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job Yet"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Media Temple was like one big family that just so happen to work together it was awesome in its day.

    Cons

    Got bought out by a bigger disconnected company.

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2018-11-01

    Media Temple Response

    August 29, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    Thanks for the feedback! A delayed response but we are thriving and growing!

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Decent company, management needs work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working on their product is fun Good client list Culture is nice

    Cons

    Management needs to be tighter Software stack needs work

    Continue reading
    Media Temple2018-03-22

    Media Temple Response

    August 13, 2019Director of Employee Experience

    Thanks for your response. Glad to see that you enjoyed the culture and the work! The leadership team is growing together and alignments are being seen. We are continuing down a path of communication, transparency, alignment and data driven decisions. In addition, there has been a focus on hiring and we are excited about the talent that is going to help us achieve great things in the future.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Solutions Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Media Temple full-time

    Pros

    benefits, in office keg, stocked kitchen with snacks, vpn

    Cons

    massive lay offs and low pay in comparison to competitors

    Media Temple2018-02-19

    Media Temple Response

    March 2, 2018Director of Employee Experience

    We are proud of our benefits and office perks, glad you enjoyed them. For Media Temple to move forward against the 2018 strategic plan and beyond, we needed to improve our operational efficiency and, as part of that, we had to make some tough people decisions. It’s always hard to part ways with employees and we are thankful to former employees like you for their hard work.

Found 79 reviews