Cover image for MediaMath
Logo

MediaMath

Engaged Employer

MediaMath

Add a Review

MediaMath Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 403 of over 426 reviews
3.4
58% Recommend to a Friend
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
86% Approve of CEO

Found 398 of over 426 reviews

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
Neil Nguyen
13 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great and we're very interconnected even though I am remote for most of the week.(in 78 reviews)
  • "Was a great culture(in 37 reviews)
  • "Work life balance was great since there wasn't much left to do as we were losing clients.(in 25 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good(in 23 reviews)
  • "Great team and work(in 21 reviews)
Cons
  • "Senior leadership recognizes it and says it openly but then does nothing about it but apologize.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Poor management, outdated product, missing revenue targets every year, this place is already going down(in 16 reviews)
  • "The company is slow to acknowledge the need for higher headcount in teams, while raising the volume of work, while pay is low.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Layoffs last year were really poorly handled and shook the confidence of those who stayed.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Poor salary(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing culture

    Apr 18, 2022 - Software Development Engineer In Test (SDET) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies and amazing culture

    Cons

    I don't have any Cons to list

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. I’m delighted that you're having such a positive experience with MediaMath. This stellar team is building remarkable solutions! Keep us posted if you find any areas where we might improve. Thanks again, Ashish, Chief Technology Officer

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Trader

    Sep 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance if you want to retire at this company

    Cons

    Platform is old and always run into tech issues

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. Glad you were able to enjoy our work life balance. Although we were the first DSP, we have built a modular platform that is future-proofed and provides an evolved user experience that drives performance ease, and we take extensive measures to continue to invest in building out its capabilities. I would have loved to hear of some of the issues you experienced so we could have better understood the details and prospective opportunities. The IT Team

  3. Join the MediaMath team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    It is what you make it

    Aug 15, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a workplace experience, it can be a lot of fun, and offers a ton of raw material for personal growth. It's certainly tough, but for mid-level individuals looking to cut their teeth, broaden their horizons, and to some extent "choose their own adventure", it's actually pretty great. There is a good deal of autonomy and the potential to directly make a difference on many levels without excessive red-tape. If you're looking to develop as a leader you're surrounded by opportunities to step up - there is plenty of demand for ownership, and nothing to stop you diving right in. And typically you won't be rigidly boxed in whatever you do - you can explore your interests, learn new skills on the side, and even make lateral career moves relatively easily. Ad-tech by nature presents a variety of pretty singular technical challenges, as do 10+ yr old companies, so there’s plenty to get your teeth into. So if you’re game to forge your own path - let’s go, there's a lot to explore.

    Cons

    There can be a slightly chaotic energy to things, and the same aspects that can be exciting can also be exhausting. Continually self-driving doesn't lend itself well to work/life balance, and you’re on your own to draw those lines - leadership do make nice gestures, but there’s not much enablement day-to-day. Realistically there isn't the headcount (or time) for cross-training - most people are wearing a few hats to plug coverage gaps anyway - so the better you become at your job, the more certain you are to be a bottleneck. It can be a little demoralizing at times. For entry level hires, things can be hit-and-miss - you might happen to end up with a fantastically gifted mentor, or on a flagship project with strong team support… or you might just as easily be left to fend for yourself in a swamp of tech debt. Someone smart and willing is rarely far away... but you're going to have to find them. So being self directing is a must, in learning as well as managing your own work - be willing to seek people out and drive the conversation. There is very little hand holding, and not much by the way of formal support structures in place at that level.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    TERRIBLE COMPANY - if you are interviewing DECLINE

    Sep 16, 2022 - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    their pay is decent - they do not have a people first culture, very cut throat and nasty

    Cons

    - They have 80 open jobs open (not new headcount- mostly all backfills) - they do not have a people first culture as they claim. They have a 3.3 rating for a reasons and is probably going to get worse. Believe the low rating - no one in HR has AdTech experience, all healthcare and are all brand new since everyone else quit. They are desperate to find people to join so they will let anyone in - everyone is leaving due to there not being any direction

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback and appreciate your advice. We will absolutely continue to show our employees how much we value them! The People Team

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Changing Times

    Jun 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New leadership seems committed to changes. New funding means development opportunities.

    Cons

    Attrition has resulted in limited employee resources. Hopefully will change with hires. Needs to get renewed clarity on focus.

    2 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Thank you for providing feedback about your experience, it truly helps us grow as an organization. With our new Executive Leadership, we have found a renewed focus and hope to continue with that momentum. People Partner

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Enjoyed My Time

    Jun 30, 2022 - Senior Trading Lead in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance, empowered to be a leader

    Cons

    LT is a bit of a mess

    3 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Glad to see you enjoyed your time with MediaMath. We have had considerable LT changes, as to your point, we were ready for new Executive support and direction. The new LT is providing a clear path as well as the needed tools to effectively drive progress. The People Team

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dynamic, ever-changing environment

    Apr 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits, smart and nice people, nice offices, remote with the option for in person if you want, pretty good work/life balance

    Cons

    attrition rate is high, going through major transition phase and that is uncomfortable for some

    2 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. It’s so great to have you on the journey with us and enjoy collaborating with our exceptional team and the investments we’ve made in fostering a rewarding and flexible employee experience. We’re certainly experiencing a time of significant change and I hope our leaning into communication is helping the team see the exciting path ahead. Thanks again, Kimberly Samon, CPO

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bad career move

    May 14, 2022 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The dysfunction means it’s easy to get by without producing much work (if that’s a pro)

    Cons

    You’re not going to develop skills or have good career growth opportunity and if you try to to leave you will face the threat of a broadly interpreted non compete

    5 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. We greatly appreciate that you spent over three career years with us as we know great talent always has many options. I’m not sure when your MediaMath journey concluded but, in my time here, I’ve been very encouraged by how our commitment to fostering an environment of continuous growth and learning has led to positive feedback from the Engineering team. We’re always working to improve the employee experience here, as (again) we know great talent always has many options, and don’t claim to have fully “cracked the code” as yet, so the work continues to better foster growth for our terrific team. I hope that you’re having a very positive experience in a new role. Thanks again, Ashish Shukla, CTO

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor experience, dishonest company

    May 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I made a few lifelong friendships. The only positive. Also, I was impressed by the Marketing Engineer Program and the leader who ran that. Interestingly enough though, the majority of the five star ratings here are from Marketing Engineer Program participants who are after full time opportunities. A bit suspicious.

    Cons

    A dishonest company. Dysfunctional leadership who gaslit and treated staff inappropriately when I worked there (which was prior to 2018). MM demonstrated a problematic lack of action when it came to addressing sexual harassment in the workplace. I was not supported by HR after filing a complaint. It has taken me years to feel brave enough to write a review that mentions this. Non-existent raises, not an exaggeration. Judging from the news, it appears this company is worse off than it was when I worked there. "If i knew then what I know now."

    3 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. We’re grateful for you spending a number of years with us. I’m glad that you found lifelong connections here and that you appreciated our pioneering Marketing Engineer Program and the rare team that made it happen. I’m so sorry that you feel that you weren’t properly supported when you filed a serious complaint. As MediaMath has zero tolerance for sexual harassment, if you’re comfortable doing so, I would welcome you reaching out to me 1:1 on your situation. I hope that will but, either way, I hope that you’re thriving in all ways. Thanks again, Kimberly Samon, CPO

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good WLB

    Mar 14, 2022 - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work-life balance, nice people to work with

    Cons

    Leadership changes too often, company roadmap is not clear

    2 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. Thanks so much for investing several of your finite number of career years with us! It’s great that you’re enjoying working with your fellow mathletes and are experiencing work-life balance. We did have a particularly big leadership change recently - with a great new CEO joining us earlier this year. We’re currently solidifying an exciting updated long-term vision and are hopeful that you’ll soon feel that we have a very clear, and energizing, roadmap in the very near future. Thanks again, Ashish Shukla, Chief Technology Officer

Viewing 1 - 10 of 398 Reviews
</>Embed

MediaMath Reviews FAQs

MediaMath has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 426 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at MediaMath to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MediaMath employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MediaMath. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

58% of MediaMath employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MediaMath 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MediaMath to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with MediaMath Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MediaMath? Share Your Experiences

MediaMath logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

MediaMath Photos

+ Add Photo
MediaMath photo of: Pride Month!
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: To celebrate #InternationalWomensDay, our Chief of Staff to the COO, Frith Fraser led a panel on achieving #BalanceforBetter
MediaMath photo of: Santa made a surprise visit at 4 World Trade for our Kids Holiday Party
MediaMath photo of: Our own Elise James-Decruise hosting a Diversity in Tech panel at HQ
MediaMath photo of: Women in Tech breakfast in APAC
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MediaMath Job Seekers Also Viewed

Turn Logo
Turn

3.6

133 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 426 MediaMath reviews submitted anonymously by MediaMath employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MediaMath is right for you.