Cover image for MediaMath
Logo

MediaMath

Engaged Employer

MediaMath

Add a Review

MediaMath Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 19, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 427 of over 427 reviews
3.4
58% Recommend to a Friend
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
86% Approve of CEO

Found 50 of over 427 reviews

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
Neil Nguyen
13 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Senior leadership recognizes it and says it openly but then does nothing about it but apologize.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Poor management, outdated product, missing revenue targets every year, this place is already going down(in 16 reviews)
  • "The company is slow to acknowledge the need for higher headcount in teams, while raising the volume of work, while pay is low.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Massive layoffs just happened and in the midst of yet another re(in 9 reviews)
  • "Poor salary(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Outlook is bright

    Oct 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    competitive salary + benefits healthy snacks and beverages all day long bagel thursdays + happy hour fridays great office space + location superb work/life balance new President who is psyched to see us succeed no micro-managers here superior customer service; no attitudes here our clients like us; they really, really like her ridiculously intelligent staff young, energetic, smart group of people prospects/clients are interested in what we have to say and what we can offer; meetings come easily not a Goliath

    Cons

    not enough feet on the street not a Goliath saturated marketplace not as well known in the market as our competitors still trying to figure out who we are; getting there

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!

    Nov 5, 2022 - Technical Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I started in 2016, I worked with some of the most brilliant people I have ever worked with. The company culture was amazing and the product was great. By the time I left in 2021, most of the people had left and leadership had run the culture to the ground. Work life balance was great since there wasn't much left to do as we were losing clients.

    Cons

    Salary was not competitive. Several colleagues and I did not get increments year on year and promotions were not easy to come by. Money seemed to have been spent hiring executives instead of rewarding rest of the staff. Worst of all, I recently learned that all the stock I had acquired (through awards and exercising options) were cancelled when there was a merger with Searchlight. As someone who still believed in the company enough to exercise my options upon leaving, this was the last straw. If you are considering a role with MediaMath, please do not place any value on equity. And if you are leaving, do not exercise your options. They will be worthless as they can be cancelled.

    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the MediaMath team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Mar 15, 2017 - Engineer in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment Good work life balance Good office

    Cons

    Not public yet Only on demand side

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 14, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Food , Food and Food all the time Flexible timings Good work life balance Great culture

    Cons

    Salary is less compared to market rate Frequent changes at management level

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Once a great company, now not so much

    Sep 9, 2020 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Good people / culture - Good work life balance

    Cons

    - No personal growth unless you know someone. Experience does not matter - Uncompetitive salary - no yearly pay rise (maybe limited to certain offices and/or people) - People jumping from one depart to another with no experience into senior positions. It is quite demoralising to see - It feels like there are more VP's and directors than individual contributors - VERY US centric - Constant production issues - the engineering teams try their best to keep a broken product running. Releases often lead to production issues - Leadership are interested in pushing out new products/features when the time should be spent on fixing/optimising the current state of the product The company has not been the same since the well publicised 2016 layoffs. There have been regular cuts to budgets/benefits since then. I personally do not trust the vast majority of these positive reviews.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Manager, HR Business Partner

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We want to be sure we adequately respond to your feedback point by point and welcome the opportunity to talk even further. First, we’re glad to hear that during your time with us you had a good experience with your colleagues and enjoyed our benefits. We do put a lot of thought and intention into our culture and strive to foster a healthy work-life balance across the company. As part of our focus on continually improving the experience of all of our employees, we recently hired a new Chief People Officer. Among her areas of focus for the near term is evaluating our overall promotion and compensation practices to ensure we are promoting fair practices throughout the organization. We do take pride in our internal mobility program as we think it is a great opportunity for our employees to stretch and flex their transferable skills into new roles and learn along the way, reflecting onf one of our core values: “Obsess Over Learning and Growth.” While we always try to align our internal transfers to ensure their skills and abilities match the position, your feedback is a helpful for us to be hyper focused on ensuring that our transfers are adequately equipped to succeed in their new roles and ensure our teams are properly staffed. Over the past 24 months, we have implemented a new engineering organizational structure aimed to ensure our people have a dedicated leader focused on their growth; in doing so most of our engineers find themselves in individual contributor roles with a small number of VPs managing people. We are also continuing to invest in our global growth and recently welcomed a UK-based Chief Client Officer. Our technology leadership team is committed to focusing on the improvement of our technology and release process to best serve our clients. In the interest of continual improvement, we will certainly bring this feedback to our head of engineering. Our leadership team is committed, now more than ever, to transparency and is open and willing to discuss ongoing issues through our weekly global all hands meetings and opportunities to ask questions openly and anonymously. Like many companies, 2020 has presented vast and unanticipated challenges and we did instate a 10% pay-cut across the board, including all leadership team members. We were open and transparent about this pay-cut and also prioritized the reinstatement of salaries to non-leadership positions first. (We are now happy to say that we have reinstated salaries across the company!) Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Trader

    Sep 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance if you want to retire at this company

    Cons

    Platform is old and always run into tech issues

    1 person found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. Glad you were able to enjoy our work life balance. Although we were the first DSP, we have built a modular platform that is future-proofed and provides an evolved user experience that drives performance ease, and we take extensive measures to continue to invest in building out its capabilities. I would have loved to hear of some of the issues you experienced so we could have better understood the details and prospective opportunities. The IT Team

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great learning opportunities, great people, less than stellar corporate vision

    Aug 31, 2021 - Client Service Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people Great clients Great learning opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance unrealistic expectations of employees Less than stellar senior leadership

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Still like it after all those years!

    Jan 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Engineering team & culture; - Opportunities to learn and practice new programming languages and technology; - Really good work/life balance; - Competitive salary and benefits package.

    Cons

    - Growing pains, recent re-organization led to more politics in inter-group relations; - 'One size fits all' approach does not always work in technology, i.e. not every microservice improves scalability and splitting one ill-designed legacy database on multiple designed even worse does not make it better.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Couldn't Have Asked for a Better Experience

    Aug 8, 2014 - Graphic Design Intern in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic People - from the leadership team to the interns, the people here are friendly, incredibly smart, and always willing to help. Absolutely incredible working environment - beautiful modern office, fully stocked kitchens, quality office equipment. Great work/life balance Dynamic & diverse teams Employee perks Business casual dress code Overall, the corporate culture at MediaMath makes coming to work every day an absolute pleasure.

    Cons

    So far, I have not experienced anything that I would consider a con. Truly a phenomenal place to work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not for those who need constant management. Great space to learn new skills and work with talented people

    Aug 6, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Freedom to explore topics and work on projects that may be beyond the scope of your immediate position -Talented, helpful, and hard-working people -Great work/life balance -Good Benefits -Forgiving environment

    Cons

    -teams that are not as visible do not get the same recognition as other highly visible teams, but I suppose this is a problem with all companies -Departmental overlap can lead to some headaches -crappy 401k -Some senior execs are basically invisible to the majority of the company

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with MediaMath Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MediaMath? Share Your Experiences

MediaMath logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

MediaMath Photos

+ Add Photo
MediaMath photo of: Pride Month!
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: To celebrate #InternationalWomensDay, our Chief of Staff to the COO, Frith Fraser led a panel on achieving #BalanceforBetter
MediaMath photo of: Santa made a surprise visit at 4 World Trade for our Kids Holiday Party
MediaMath photo of: Our own Elise James-Decruise hosting a Diversity in Tech panel at HQ
MediaMath photo of: Women in Tech breakfast in APAC
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MediaMath Job Seekers Also Viewed

Turn Logo
Turn

3.6

133 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 427 MediaMath reviews submitted anonymously by MediaMath employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MediaMath is right for you.