Mediacom Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Mediacom Communications Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 317 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Mediacom Communications CEO Rocco B. Commisso
Rocco B. Commisso
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free cable & discounted internet services(in 25 reviews)

  • "There are some really good benefits to working for the company(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "very strict - low pay salary- very little to no raises(in 23 reviews)

  • "Lower pay than other cable companies, slack by management on vehicle repairs, say they'll give overtime but hound you for it(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work at your own pace most of the time, management was very good with communication and working with each other to solve issues, company vehicle, discount on services, company phone and tablet, health insurance, 401k

    Cons

    Pay seemed lower than other companies

    Advice to Management

    Turnover rate seemed high for intro techs, pay them more and more will stay

    Mediacom Communications2018-10-25
  2. "Complete and total chaos from top to bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Moline, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job and a paycheck.

    Cons

    There are too many too list.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and start over.

    Mediacom Communications2019-07-11
  3. "Mediacom is a friendly company to work for with many opportunities for bonuses and advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Technician in Jacksonville, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediacom Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My favorite part of the job is being in control of my work day but also having coworkers in town that will all work together if needed.

    Cons

    One bad thing about my position is not knowing if I'll get off work on time everyday. My route has to be complete by the end of the day whether I have to work late or help fellow employees finish their work as well.

    Advice to Management

    The point system is fairly accurate but could still use some tailoring.

    Mediacom Communications2019-06-10
  4. "Great Co-Workers, Backwards Performance Targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Service Representative I in Waseca, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and supervisors. Somewhat flexible hours.

    Cons

    Employer emphasized sales and processing calls/customers quickly. Job was to troubleshoot and correct problems customers were having with service but this always took a backseat in reviews. Very poor communication between departments.

    Advice to Management

    This position should focus on helping customers, instead it felt like I was meant to be a glorified CS Rep. Improve communication between departments. I was unable to communicate with anyone outside my office and at times it felt like my supervisors could not either.

    Mediacom Communications2019-05-23
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediacom Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Advancement Opportunities Co-workers Management Pay increases

    Cons

    Starting pay Turnover Slow processing

    Mediacom Communications2019-05-02
  6. "Not bad for a first job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Representative in Monroe, NY

    I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, decent chances for advancement for entry level. Many opportunities for overtime.

    Cons

    It's a call center. That means metrics/performance are based on how fast you get people off the phone, how well you follow the script, how little you can go without getting up from your desk, and you have to be on time down to the minute.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people more or they will keep leaving.

    Mediacom Communications2019-05-09
  7. "Accounting Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      coworkers were nice to work with

      Cons

      very strict - low pay salary- very little to no raises

      Mediacom Communications2019-03-06
    • "Enjoyed working as Tech support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gulf Breeze, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed and friendly call center environment

      Cons

      Cannot think of any cons

      Mediacom Communications2019-01-15
    • "Contingent on Professional Preference"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Mediacom Communications full-time

        Pros

        Opportunities to work with other departments

        Cons

        Resources (literature) are not updated, communication often lacking internally

        Mediacom Communications2019-01-28
      • "mediacom"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Technician in Des Moines, IA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Mediacom Communications full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        free cable.. low price internet.

        Cons

        management, micromangement of everything that you do

        Mediacom Communications2019-01-22
      Found 317 reviews