Mediafly Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mediafly CEO Carson Conant (no image)
Carson Conant
8 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment

    Cons

    More transparency surrounding company goals

    Mediafly2018-03-23
  2. "Great learning experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mediafly

    Pros

    Great company culture, you'll learn a lot, flexible hours

    Cons

    Can be tedious/desk job, sometimes may not have enough to do

    Mediafly2017-10-03
  3. Helpful (7)

    "A great place to develop and advance your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is careful in who they hire so you are usually surrounded by capable and experienced people that understand how to be professional and are good at that they do. Most of the people here love their profession and are dedicated to their craft. A big plus, to me at least. Each employee has a lot of freedom around our time management and how we go about accomplishing our tasks. The freedom is what keeps me engaged and excited coming to work every day. There is a level of trust placed in you to get the job done and get it done well. Makes for awesome learning experiences when we fail and when we succeed. I would put the freedom as the #1 benefit of Mediafly, CEO as #2. He is just so open, flexible, approachable and is a champion for your needs. If you need something, he will get it done. Sometimes you don't even need to say anything, he can see it. Sometimes just a simple discussion is enough and any issue/problem you have is removed. Anything you need to get your job done, he will get it to you. I have considered leaving Mediafly couple times, and every single time CEO is what brings you back in, addresses the issues and you are back in business.

    Cons

    The problem space can get a bit stale/boring. There are a few egos on the engineering side that can be annoying to deal with, especially when working on new features, but it's not too bad, just something that you have to deal with.

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-04-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good, bad, and ugly"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time

    Pros

    Great office.Free snacks. Outstanding health care for a company this size. More or less like all my coworkers. Group outings a few times a year. Free lunch a couple times a month. Big name clients. CEO is ultra dedicated... To a fault really.

    Cons

    Company/product direction changes almost as regularly as the seasons. CEO is upbeat and friendly but also puts himself into everyones business. He picks the problem of the day/week/month and is determined to solve it but often will make it worse. The entire system relies on one engineer. If he leaves the company will fall apart in weeks as he is the only one who knows how it all works. We are in desperate need of a product manger to actually decide what the focus should be as the CTO seems disengaged at times even though he is smart and a nice guy. Doesn't seem comfortable leading. Product is awesome front end but back end seems to fall apart every other day.

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-04-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time

    Pros

    At Mediafly you matter. I have worked for several other companies and have never felt as important and valued as I do here. Each member of the Mediafly team is approachable and takes an honest interest in your well-being. This stems from the approachability of our C-suite, and is spread throughout each department. Just because everyone is friendly does not mean that their are not expectations. Tough love is certainly no stranger to the office as we continue to grow and become a more successful company. The atmosphere that our leadership team has created motivates each team to work harder and become better at what they are doing. Foosball, ping-pong and snacks are great breaks from an otherwise hardworking office. Looking for a career in sales? Mediafly has created a solution that is changing the way sales reps interact with their prospects and clients. Prove yourself capable of performing and you move up - simple as that.

    Cons

    Our message seems to be different from person to person. I do think this will become solidified and more uniform with the addition of our marketing team. No real cons.

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-01-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Mediafly is the place to be at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the open environment working here at the company. The employees here are top notch. The majority of the Engineers are Senior level and are very good at what they do. Everyone is willing to help you out when you are stuck. There are also many other perks that make this job great. Great office, stand up desks, ping pong, free food from PeaPod, the ability to work from home. Oh yeah...they provide you with a laptop (macbooks) and really make you feel comfortable! My supervisor also makes it a priority to set myself up for a good career going forward in my position. Executives are really good. It was very impressive that the CEO and CFO talked to the entire company and asked for our input and answered questions before we receiving Institutional funding. They really made sure we got the right deal.

    Cons

    The marketing message has consistently changed. However, having been here for almost 3 years I feel we are reaching to a solid state now.

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-01-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Founder & CEO is friendly and approachable, sits in the middle of the open office (not off in a corner) and genuinely cares about people. Everyone here is nice, intelligent and really strong in their respective areas. Love the weekly Peapod deliveries, health care and an amazing office.

    Cons

    Messaging has changed a lot as the product has evolved and new customer needs identified. Don't think this is unique to Mediafly (or any rapidly growing startup for that matter).

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-01-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for those with some work experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very open work environment in terms of implementing new ideas and collaborating across different functions of the company. I am a current employee in the Sales function and can't say enough about how great it is to work in this department. The head of Sales has done just about every sales job in the software industry and has positioned every single member up for success. The ability to advance your career is completely dependent on yourself and a great example is the fact that I was promoted in less than a year of starting. Sales compensation is very lucrative and straight forward (no excel sheet needed to calculate your commission). The business development function includes both lead gen and the opportunity to manage your own clients.

    Cons

    Typical challenges with any start-up in that you must be a self starter and have to figure some things out on your own. The company is in massive growth mode so there is a need to implement scalable processes which is why I recommend it for those who have at least a few years of work experience.

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2016-12-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "High Growth Tech Company- State of the art HQ"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediafly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mediafly has a family-like, winning culture that celebrates wins across functions (Sales, Ops, Product, Marketing), we work in a state of the art office on Mag Mile. I've been selling for Mediafly for two years after being with several start ups in Chicago. Mediafly rewards their talent, when they win, better than any company I've been with. I was promoted after 18 months with the company. The sales organization is built on having fun and winning deals, it is a great product for sales people to buy in to. Former athletes and those with a competitive DNA thrive here. The executive team is very down to earth and it feels like we are in this thing together. Our market has been identified by the largest analyst firms as an essential market for enterprises to invest in. We have closed more new business clients in 2016 than any other year in company history. Future is bright!

    Cons

    Too many tasty snacks in the free office pantry. Honestly, I've been with start ups...large corporations and can say Mediafly treats their people is second to none. (No serious Cons come to mind after 25 months of employment)

    Continue reading
    Mediafly2017-01-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn"

    5.0
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Mediafly for less than a year

    Pros

    Great first experience into marketing, fun company culture, prime location

    Cons

    Not as much interaction with upper management

    Mediafly2016-08-16
Found 11 reviews