Medical City McKinney Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Medical City McKinney CEO Ernest C. Lynch (no image)
Ernest C. Lynch
3 Ratings
  1. "Good starter hospital"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pct in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small hospital, nice people, staff is helpful and supportive.

    Cons

    Always understaffed, patient to staff ratio not always safe.

    Medical City McKinney2019-11-11
  2. "RN"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy commute, loved my coworkers

    Cons

    I feel that the pay was a bit low.

    Medical City McKinney2019-04-01
  3. "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork and awesome coworkers.

    Cons

    Management is focused solely on patient satisfaction.

    Medical City McKinney2019-01-28
  4. "Not bad for a for profit hospital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is the people!! Great staff to work with. Benefits are decent but not great for a hospital. Flexible scheduling. HCA is world wide, so ability to transfer is a big bonus.

    Cons

    This is a "for profit" hospital so money and dollar signs mean everything here and sometimes patient care is adversely effected by management wanting to "make the numbers" by leaving staffing short.

    Medical City McKinney2018-11-25
  5. "Watch your back."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in McKinney, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay fairly well for the market.

    Cons

    The nurses like to start drama, gossip, and have cliques. If you’re not their cup of tea, they will do anything they can to get you out of there. Short staffed ALL of the time.

    Medical City McKinney2018-10-07
  6. "Registered Nurse"

    4.0
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, recognition when warranted, supportive management, competitive salary

    Cons

    Frequent turnover, short staffed at times

    Medical City McKinney2018-09-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney full-time

    Pros

    Awesome staff & coworkers - like a family

    Cons

    Hiring process turnaround too slow

    Medical City McKinney2018-04-20
  8. "RN"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management takes hcaps scores and customer service very seriously. tuition reimbursement. strong teamwork atmosphere

    Cons

    old facility, needs remodeling.

    Continue reading
    Medical City McKinney2018-02-26
  9. "Surgical tech student"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Medical City McKinney

    Pros

    I can only speak of the wonderful staff in surgery, but during my short time here (1 semester) I met the most caring, dedicated and hard-working health care professionals that truly love their job. ALL of the staff... from the orderly, to the anesthesia techs, to the nurses, to staff in SPD to the surgical techs... work together to make sure the patients' needs are met. There is a level of respect from all members that is rare and hard to find. I honestly have never seen such strong teamwork in a business/employer before. This is a small hospital so it feels like family. If you or a family member or friend need surgery, I would highly recommend choosing Med City McKinney.

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences or complaints during my semester long clinical.

    Medical City McKinney2018-02-03
  10. "Great Place to Gain Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PBX Operator in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Medical City McKinney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get overtime if wanted but don't have to. Great if you are going to school. Supervisor is willing to work around schedule.

    Cons

    Work alone unless on days. You can't leave the office until someone else is there to cover. If your replacement is late you have to stay over. If you need a day off that is not scheduled, you have to find your own coverage. If someone leaves the company the team has to pick up the extra shift.

    Continue reading
    Medical City McKinney2018-01-20
Found 25 reviews