Medical College of Wisconsin Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Medical College of Wisconsin President & CEO John R. Raymond
John R. Raymond
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, no room for advancement, too much ignoring of unprofessional behavior by leaders(in 9 reviews)

  • "Lower pay, limited room for advancement(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Large Campus Competitive Pay Nice People

    Cons

    Parking Feel like a number with huge database

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-01-15

    Medical College of Wisconsin Response

    April 6, 2020Benefits Director

    Thank you for your review and feedback; I am glad to hear your employment experience with MCW has generally been very positive. We are proud of our competitive pay and benefits package and we recognize our Institutional growth has created temporary parking challenges. Our organization is actively reviewing multi modal transportation plans to address these concerns and we certainly look forward to the future completion of the 87th street construction. We appreciate your patience as we continue to focus on making parking improvements for patients and employees!

  2. "Fine place to work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful work, opportunity to publish

    Cons

    Low pay, don’t always feel appreciated by faculty and staff

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-05-27
  3. "patient care"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Practtioner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time

    Pros

    Independent, and overall friendly staff and physicians

    Cons

    It was a new position and there was no specific training so I have approximately 2 weeks of training in the hospital setting not with the physicians. The primary physicians that I worked with spoke critically behind your back and never discussed ways to improve communication. Those that were critical also did not respond to pages and messages in a timely manner. Admitted to their failures when I left and stated that they would work to fix issues with next candidate.

    Continue reading
    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-05-28
  4. "Admin Assistant job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Wauwatosa, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time

    Pros

    Awesome atmosphere, great people to work with, everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    Not many cons. Have to park very far away when you arrive at work.

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-05-12
  5. "Been a great learning experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheduling Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intense training, friendly faces, people are willing to help

    Cons

    Management, short breaks, short lunches, mistakes are sometimes broadcasted

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-05-10
  6. "Take the Time to Read through the Reviews"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    paycheck, looks good on your resume, possibility to meet cool people

    Cons

    Some people seem to skyrocket through job titles while others can't get a promotion to save their lives. Who you know seems to be the trick to the gave. Be willing to "network" because if you don't play the game, the game will be playing you.

    Continue reading
    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-05-22
  7. "Great Education"

    5.0
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time

    Pros

    Supportive environment, cutting edge research, and constantly challenged!

    Cons

    Can't really think of anything.

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-04-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Could be Better if they walk their talk"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mediocre work environment.

    Cons

    Pigeon held in position prevents from moving up with the company. Zero work life balance in my dept.

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-02-25

    Medical College of Wisconsin Response

    April 6, 2020Benefits Director

    Thank you for your feedback, each employee’s experience with MCW is important to us. The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) encourages employees to have open dialogue with their supervisor regarding their career path and work life balance concerns. In addition, MCW supports the transfer or promotion of qualified internal candidates and we encourage you to consider both upward and lateral opportunities across MCW departments.

  9. "Medium"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are polite and there are opportunities for research

    Cons

    Groups don't collaborate or are too much easygoing

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-02-22

    Medical College of Wisconsin Response

    April 6, 2020Benefits Director

    Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you found the people of MCW to be polite and that you appreciated the many research opportunities MCW has to offer. We regret that you were not able to find a group to collaborate with. MCW has several methods to bring researchers with mutual research interests together such as the Faculty Collaboration Database, the Interdisciplinary Collaborative Research Network and the monthly research publication series. We encourage you to utilize these resources to find collaborators.

  10. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical College of Wisconsin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, time off, flexible, family oriented

    Cons

    Depending on the department some management is terrible

    Medical College of Wisconsin2020-02-07

    Medical College of Wisconsin Response

    April 6, 2020Benefits Director

    Thank you for your review and feedback; we are glad to hear your employment experience with MCW has generally been very positive. I regret to learn of your experience with some management within the Institution. Our Talent Planning and Development team regularly train faculty and staff on the importance and expectation of cultivating a respectful and inclusive work environment. It is important to us to learn more about your concerns as we strive to hold all faculty and staff to high standards as outlined in our Code of Conduct. If you’d like to talk more about your experiences, please reach out to MCW’s Office Human Resources and/or the Ombuds Office.

Found 302 reviews