Medical Services of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Medical Services of America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Ronnie L. Young
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with patients and families(in 4 reviews)

  • "I have previously worked for 2 of the largest Home Health and Hospice companies in the US before coming to work for MSA(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disconnect between home health & hospice; though, AE's represent/ promote both(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay and company doesn't want to invest in employees over time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "RN Hospice Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice RN Case Manager in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Services of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schedules are flexible, co-workers are team players. Strong communication with the interdisciplinary teams in caring for the patients and their family members.

    Cons

    More prn staff for nursing, MSW, and Bereavement would be much appreciated as some families need more support and comfort than others.

    Medical Services of America2018-11-17
  2. "Fair and Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources/Recruiting in Lexington, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medical Services of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have previously worked for 2 of the largest Home Health and Hospice companies in the US before coming to work for MSA. So far, MSA has the best culture y far of any other company. The company is large, but not cut throat. My Manager isn't a Dictator and trusts me to do my job. If there is a problem, it's dealt with fairly and honestly. I'm not in management and at past companies, I was often the "fall guy" when there...

    Show More

    Cons

    They are a smaller company so they don't have as many resources in regards to my department as some of the larger companies.

    Medical Services of America2019-01-17
  3. "Warehouse Supervisor-MediHomeCare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Medical Services of America full-time

    Pros

    Managers are usually very accommodating to your personal needs ie time off, scheduling, etc.

    Cons

    No wage increases in over 7 years Little support from the corporate body Very little training given

    Advice to Management

    Provide proper training, give raises to valuable employees, and the corporate office needs to provide more logistical support to the individual offices.

    Medical Services of America2019-01-03
  4. "RUN FAST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Columbia, SC

    I have been working at Medical Services of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are no cons to state

    Cons

    Horrible management, unprofessional, untruthful, never given a raise, no appreciation for extra work but expected.

    Medical Services of America2019-01-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Medxpress Nebulizer supervisor / Cpap Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Lexington, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medical Services of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Start looking for a new Job ASAP

    Cons

    Don’t walk! Run!! They care only about their bottom line. Employees and patients mean nothing to them.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone beginning with the CRO start over!

    Medical Services of America2018-11-19
  6. "Raises are obsolete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Medical Services of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work schedule, ok PTL hours, pretty lenient when it comes to appointments.

    Cons

    No incentive to really be better, no chance of a raise, ever! Large turnover. Lack in Management and the CEO's are only out for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees incentive to want to stay!

    Medical Services of America2018-10-22
  7. "Great interdisciplinary home health team. Everyone worked very well together."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Physical Therapist in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Medical Services of America

      Pros

      Great interdisciplinary home health team.

      Cons

      The documentation program was tough to work with.

      Medical Services of America2018-10-04
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Norfolk, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Medical Services of America full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Little oversight and goals always change

      Cons

      Poorly managed and leadership waffles

      Advice to Management

      Hire new management

      Medical Services of America2018-09-25
    • "The Usual Medical Supply Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Medical Services of America full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Assist those in need, set hours, decent PTO, friendly staff (at the location level)

      Cons

      High demand, no chance of a raise, corporate leadership and training is non existent.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees, they are the ones actually on site dealing with issues and most often know the best way to resolve issues before they become issues, take their advice. Hold people accountable for their actions, especially at the corporate level. The good old boy system has buried many decent companies with a good opportunity to grow but failed to recognize those opportunities because they were listening to toxic...

      Show More
      Medical Services of America2018-07-12
    • "Om"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, SC

        I worked at Medical Services of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The bosses were awesome and patients were great.

        Cons

        Corporate closed the branch I worked in.

        Medical Services of America2018-05-18
      Found 103 reviews