Meijer Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Meijer President and CEO Richard Keyes
Richard Keyes
719 Ratings
Pros
  • "They allowed me to have a flexible schedule(in 138 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and a great team(in 131 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Generally only hire people in at part time(in 121 reviews)

  • "The stores in Michigan seem to be do a lot more for ther team members and community members(in 100 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Meijer and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Pharmacy Technician

      Feb 16, 2021 - Pharmacy Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My pharmacy manager was an amazing pharmacist that really cared for his patients. The work environment in the pharmacy was diverse and inclusive.

      Cons

      Working with floaters is not fun

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good

      Feb 10, 2021 - Store Manager in Southgate, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good hours, fair wage, friendly

      Cons

      pay, breaks, lunch, uniform, parking

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work overall, could use improvement though

      May 12, 2021 - Inventory Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of freedom and flexibility as long as you do your job

      Cons

      Could use improvements company-wide to help with efficiency and productivity

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A nice place to work

      Feb 26, 2021 - Clinical Research Coordinator in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment to work in..nice facilities, nice coworkers. Mostly 9 to 5, few mandatory Saturdays. Culture is nice. Good job in a pinch but will wear you out fast. People with actual knowledge and skills move on to better companies after a while.

      Cons

      Pay is low based on the amount of knowledge, experience, how difficult and demanding the job is and how much they expect of you in terns of productivity and volume. No advancement opportunities, it is a job not a career. Some times it seems they don't know what they are doing and in an effort to increase profit, they change all their policies in a drop of a hat and then expect you to re-learn everything from scratch without losing productivity. Benefits are expensive. Only 40 hrs PTO and you can't accumulate. Very short breaks. Not much recognition, no reward for going above and beyond other than a "good job" email. Very mentally draining. Inadequate sick leave..integrated in your total of 80 hrs a year. You can't really go on a vacation and be seriously sick the same year. Very strict point system. You miss a few days of work, you are fired which means your hard work and your knowledge is not appreciated. They can always train someone else,.right?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Unethical

      Apr 5, 2021 - Starbucks Lead Barista & Barista Trainer in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None whatsoever no advancements opportunities no nothing

      Cons

      Everything! I was employed at kroger for 7 years and it was horrible. I quit thinking meijer would offer better opportunities for advancement and boy was I wrong! It’s completely way worse than kroger. Meijer treats their employees terrible they don’t care at all! I was a Starbucks lead and I was basically set up to fail completely! They always scheduled me alone I couldn’t fulfill orders or anything else of importance. I wasn’t allowed breaks and if I left to run to the restroom I would then be paged constantly! The management I would call repeatedly letting her know I needed a break and they would not answer and swear there phone didn’t ring only to find out they were outside taking one of many smoke breaks. They have been telling other employees and management that they won’t stop until I’m fired I’ve spoke to hr about the things said and it gets swept under the rug and brushed off! The management is very inconsistent, we have an employee who has called off every week does no call no shows and shows up late for every shift yet still has a job but when I’m 3 minutes late it’s a huge problem. I have been singled out and discriminated against on more than one occasion and nothing was done! I was promised $1 raise when taking over Starbucks and it’s been a year and still NOTHING I do all ordering inventory write schedules resets you name it for nothing more than broken promises! The management is terrible which makes for a very hard work environment!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Like it or not, you got to put up with anything that comes your way, good or bad.

      Jan 8, 2021 - Team Leader in Kenosha, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with some of the best people I have in my life.

      Cons

      With the pandemic going on, corporates (like market directors) and line leaders are putting a lot of pressure on all of us. With online shopping being offered now, it's getting worse. Corporate just bombarded us with offering online shopping/pickup with very minimal time to train. A lot of us at the store I work at maybe had an hour maximum to be trained at it and you're expected to work quickly and fast as possible. Corporate need better preparations about the online store, the website online, and need more assurance to the customers that we are all going through tough time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy, well paying job

      May 12, 2021 - Cashier in Lexington-Fayette, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good for a customer service job and scheduling is flexible.

      Cons

      Standing for long hours and management is bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent Cashier Experience

      May 12, 2021 - Cashier in Port Huron, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount on products. Fast past work environment

      Cons

      Can't sit while scanning items

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Meijer

      Mar 29, 2021 - Union Steward/Fashions Clerk in Jackson, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay with 35 cent raises for every 700 hours worked, Management is understanding twards personal days and approving vacation days. Meijers as a company does have very good intentions twards customer satisfaction and driving sales efficiently and effectively. They are generally respectful twards other Teammembers treatment within the workplace.

      Cons

      Indirect communication skills from management, occasionally unorganized with tasks at hand. Does not train their employees effectively and makes other Associates perform their job duties for them occasionally. Many team accomplishments go unrecognized both in person and in Achievers. Does not offer the most qualified individuals for management, it is based on favoritism in my opinion from what I have personally observed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Medical insurance specialist

      May 11, 2021 - Medical Biller in Rochester Hills, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Spacious Friendly environment Teammates fine

      Cons

      Cashier good Fresh vegetables Fruits Groceries

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,694 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Meijer Job Seekers

    Store Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Asset Protection Team Leader
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Meijer? Share Your Experiences

    or