Melaleuca Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Melaleuca CEO Frank L. VanderSloot
Frank L. VanderSloot
354 Ratings
Pros
  • "They give 90 dollars of free products a month(in 39 reviews)

  • "Offers a career path and great benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Because it is fast paced, sometimes we outrun each other(in 22 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management direction(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Benefits

      May 3, 2021 - Call Center Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits at this company right now

      Cons

      No complaints to speak of right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent pay with a lot of stress

      Apr 25, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Rexburg, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      $10.50 an hour is very tough to beat in a low skill requiring job in Idaho, so very good pay. Having a $90 check each month to spend on products is nice, their products are ridiculously priced, but they are rather nice, and free in this case. Management in my experience was super nice and easy to work with, they showed their care for me in my time. Supervisors as well. Working from home was great and made working much easier.

      Cons

      Call center work is very stressful, you are always supposed to be 100% ready to work and give it "World Class" which if not met you run the risk of getting that call graded thus receiving a "bad grade" and putting you lower on the "rank" of employees. Extremely high expectations, it's not cold calling but they expect you to sell mediocre services like a home security system or a virus-protection software. If you don't, well then your call grades suffer. Getting time off is next near impossible. In order to get a lunch break, I know it's not required in the state of Idaho, you have to work 7 hours. If you're below that threshold, which they schedule 6.5 hour shifts for that reason, you get 4% of your shift as "Personal Time." So, if you work a 6 hour shift, you get around 14 minutes. Month ends are not fun, part time work goes from around 20 hours to 30 hours. For the first few days of the month and last few, your shifts are lengthened. More stress and higher call volume. Finally, the stress on "Melaleuca is not an MLM" drove me crazy. The idea that they're Direct Consumer Marketing, which really sounds like a term they made themselves, is asinine. You can only get member pricing by enrolling under someone's "organization" and then committing. to a ridiculous amount of product purchasing each month, around $90 -100 is what I saw usually. Of course, that can be relieved by offering memberships to others which then pays yourself. It creates a triangular, or pyramid, form. The companies policies are tricky and sneaky, you can't cancel over the phone but you can enroll like that. Customers pay for shipping, the product point commitment, the Back Up Order.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Managment and Work/Life Balance

      Apr 13, 2021 - Supply Chain Analyst in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits like Health Care plan

      Cons

      This is a high stress workplace with an absolutely toxic culture, particularly in the Supply Chain Department (Forecasting & Planning). Management picks and chooses favorites and leaves the rest out to dry. Pay is horrible for the amount of work put in. You're time is closely monitored (even as a salary employee) and you are expected to put in 45-50 hours a week minimum (especially if you want to advance). Not very family friendly for a company that claims to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Customer Oriented

      May 4, 2021 - Wellness Representative in Rexburg, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cares about its customers. recognizes good work often. likes to promote internally.

      Cons

      sometimes it is easy to be forgotten. a lot of turnover

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Flexibility, Employee Recognition, Family Feeling, Safety Awareness and Career Growth.

      Dec 22, 2020 - Workforce Management in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During COVID this has really been accentuated! Within a few days, we had moved over 400 people from working in the call centers, to working from home to ensure their safety. If you do have to go into the buildings, there are many safety precautions that you have to go through to ensure there is no spreading of any virus'. This continues even 10 months after the out breaks in the U.S. started. You would think that you would fall through the cracks working from home, but quite the contrary, recognition and encouragement still continues and many are being noticed that may have not have been in the past. We have seen many promotions while excellent work ethics continue and are constantly seeing others move into 'bigger and better' areas of the company! As they do, they are congratulated via emails or virtual meetings we are in, just as many families are finding during this tough time. It's great to know you can still continue to grow your career, especially as our company itself is growing and expanding to new levels that we haven't seen in years past!

      Cons

      Need more hours in the week to do all I want to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience, plenty of negatives

      Feb 22, 2021 - Supply Chain Analyst in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed the people I worked with (not management). I also got exposure to tons of different aspects of Supply Chain because we were expected to wear so many hats and do so much.

      Cons

      Management is not transparent. Had a friend fired and they told everybody in the department that he "resigned", and that if we were asked, we should "tell people he resigned." They are not transparent on how to gain promotions. They will not give raises to keep up with cost of living. They refused to change bonus metrics when Covid hit, causing us all to make thousands less in 2020. Despite all of that, long hours over 40/week are expected. In sum - large workload with very poor reward. But sometimes we get a "good job!" and told how much money the company is making.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place.

      Apr 26, 2021 - Customer Service Agent in Rexburg, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and willing to work with your schedules

      Cons

      They really want you to stay with the company forever. They tend to be super critical and take every single call you make as if it’s the first one. It’s a little ridiculous but other than that it’s a good place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company to work for

      Apr 16, 2021 - Operations Manager in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and career opportunity

      Cons

      If you are not passionate and dedicated, not the company to work for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company

      Apr 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s good. I mean like good good. The goodest.

      Cons

      Nope. Not one thing. Nothing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      True Brand Management Experience

      Dec 29, 2020 - Brand Marketing in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Privately held company who values hard work, results, and entrepreneurial mindset. Trust is the true currency at Melaleuca, and by doing the right thing that benefits the consumers and stakeholders, trust is liberally given. From a marketing standpoint, this may be the only multi-billion dollar company that I'm aware of that allows undergraduate students to have true brand marketing experience that is meaningful and real. If those looking for a publicly held position at a fortune 500 company knew Melaleuca, and the level of true Brand experience, I think people would reconsider their desired employer. Also, I came on board during the COVID-19 situation. The company has been forward thinking with precautions, accommodations, etc. I've felt safe, thought of, and respected despite not seeing my co-workers in person each day.

      Cons

      South East Idaho can be a cold area to live in. If people need 80 degree weather every day, this would not be the company to work for.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 459 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Melaleuca Job Seekers

    Supply Chain Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Software Developer (Analyst II)
    Learn About the Job
    Independent Marketing Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Management In Training Program (MIT)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Melaleuca? Share Your Experiences

    Melaleuca logo
    or