Mellanox Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Mellanox Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Eyal Waldman
49 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Houston, TX

      I worked at Mellanox full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Greate technology, good learning curve

      Cons

      Bad organizational management, no transparency

      Mellanox2019-03-13
    • "Mellanox Technologies Senior Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mellanox full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Highly technical company as a whole - very R&D oriented Top notch technology Compensations and benefits are good People are great - at US offices that I worked with

      Cons

      Company is divided between US and Israel both culturally and management-wise Promotion path not clear - varying across different teams

      Advice to Management

      Management should draw authority lines. Way too many VPs and product lines without a clear direction for the company as a whole. This leads to missing the opportunity on top notch technologies such as SiP.

      Mellanox2018-01-15
    • Helpful (5)

      "Senior Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Monterey Park, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mellanox

      Pros

      Outstanding company to grow and develop a career, excellent payment, solid company and wealth ambition to be the best and always the first in the market.

      Cons

      - Extreme competitive environment. - Pushy deadlines that usually are not realistic. - Load of work is higher than any other company.

      Mellanox2015-12-11
    • Helpful (4)

      "Medium sized compnay with small size company culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mellanox for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great product; access to wide variety of expertise within the company; approachable management; young company; can learn a lot;

      Cons

      Long hours; not so much competitive compensation package; everything is rushed in this company; deadlines are set to push the teams work harder.

      Advice to Management

      Upper management communicate pretty well with all the teams about the objectives and goals of the company. The deadlines needs to be more realistic.

      Mellanox2015-08-27
    • Helpful (17)

      "Worst company I have ever worked for. I have never seen so many broken bits in my life."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mellanox full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They do pay your salary, the check does not bounce. But they have this sales pay plan where part of it is impossible to get. They call it focus revenue. The focus revenue conveniently comes out at zero every quarter. They have health insurance to cover you for the stress.

      Cons

      The technology is very buggy and features don't work. I have never seen so many broken bits in my life. Based in Israel and they are clearly in charge and the Americans get the fun of being the company grunts. They accept no feedback on how to do things differently. It's like being in the military, just keep your mouth shut and take orders. They give you no training, you must learn on your own. They have all these...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get a new CEO. I mean come on, you can't even be late to a meeting if you have to use the bathroom? That's extreme. I've never heard a CEO make such a ridiculous comment in my life at a sales conference.

      Mellanox2014-12-02
    • Helpful (8)

      "Most dehumanizing tech company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mellanox full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Mellanox is a place where if you learn well on your own and learn well being thrown from fire to fire in the most chaotic way imaginable then you will learn tons. Admittedly most of the learning will come from your clients correcting you. In Mellanox the quality of the clients you work for is much larger than that of the company itself.

      Cons

      Less than negative work life balance. Management is encouraged to "push" employees to their "limits". This is literally in a management guide I came across in their grossly disorganized public folders and directories. Employee burnout is at an all time maximum during my time there. The turn over makes it so trying to bring anyone into the fold is a nightmare. Middle management is completely untrained and in most...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You will never keep good talent under your hood as long as you treat people the way you do.

      Mellanox2014-10-08
    • "Technology oriented company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mellanox full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Work on the bleeding edge features of telecom Good Salaries & Nice offices.

      Cons

      This place has a rough culture

      Mellanox2019-07-21
    • "Quality and leading edge technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Raanana
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Mellanox full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Mellanox is probably the most challenging company at which I have worked. The amount of work, the number of details, procedures, technologies, tools, that all need to be mastered, all contribute to the intensive environment that is Mellanox. I am not complaining; in a way, Mellanox represents what I have been striving for, often unsuccessfully, for much of my career. At previous places of work, it was often my job...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not that the time budgeted is always enough. Mellanox has a reputation for demanding long work hours, but this has improved greatly in recent years. Friday work is much less frequent that it used to be.

      Mellanox2019-07-09
    • "Greate Company to work in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - QA Engineer in Raanana
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mellanox full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      High level of technologies and very professional management Great environment and team.

      Cons

      Can't find any Cons, just good company

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what are you doing now !!!

      Mellanox2019-07-05
    • "Firmware Engineer, Mellanox, Tel Aviv"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Firmware Engineer in Tel Aviv-Yafo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mellanox for more than a year

      Pros

      Good place to work in

      Cons

      Salary is under of the avrg

      Mellanox2019-06-20
    Found 72 reviews