MelroseWakefield Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

MelroseWakefield Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Michael V. Sack
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay but lots of responsibilities(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vested frontline leadership and executive team. CEO is a nurse. Family atmosphere. Emphasis on quality of care and growth.

    Cons

    Can think of none. Same challenges as in healthcare everywhere today.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-05-10
  2. "Emergency Room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Critical Care in Melrose, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ER nurses and manager are all awesome

    Cons

    Paper charting, barely any help with patients, no supplies, and only one doctor on.

    Advice to Management

    Nurses won’t stay if they are not paid accordingly

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-05-08
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nutritionist in Melrose, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Managers and directors really care and want to help you succeed.

    Cons

    So many changes lately, I know many former colleagues that got laid off

    Advice to Management

    I know it all comes down to money and being profitable but try to at least give advance notice and a larger severance package so families can survive if you must say goodbye to them, please

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-04-06
  4. "A great starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Melrose, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start as a new RN. A lot of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Can be a bit cliquish on the floors. Management needs to be more attentive and receptive to nurses wanting to further education.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in teaching nurses up to date information. Constantly hold workshops for nurses to learn new material. Rounding with physicians need to be more systematic.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-03-08
  5. "bad management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff. small community hospital.

    Cons

    poorly pay, bad management and understaff at multi-department.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-03-05
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Melrose, MA

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare for less than a year

    Pros

    Good healthcare, good salary

    Cons

    Nothing back about them at all

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2019-01-11
  7. "Average employment experience with above average coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You help people every day and the mission is easy to be motivated by. Northern suburban location saves a lot of commuting time Everyone here is really pleasant to work with. There are exceptions but it's generally nice.

    Cons

    Largest con is that the firm is going through the managed chaos of a merger and pays as you'd expect a non-profit to. If you're expecting to make the trade of a lower salary for a higher quality of life, that may not be practical in the short-term. However, take this note regarding salary in stride. I'm very happy with what I'm making presently. Note to readers: Michael Sack hasn't been the CEO at MWHC for at...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Integrating with two other hospital networks isn't easy and some of the decisions along the way are hard. So long as you keep treating employees/people with respect and empathy everything else will work out.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2018-10-17
  8. "senior nutritionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    nice coworkers, nice environment here

    Cons

    low pay, leadership changes here

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2018-06-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Reputation is Fading FAST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Medford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've met some great people here.

    Cons

    Company was mismanaged for years, and they are now attempting to balance the budget by overloading employees at every level, sometimes at the expense of patient care. If you like doing 5 jobs at once, this is the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    When I started at Hallmark, it was named one of the Best Places to Work in Massachusetts. Turnover was very low, and the culture was fun and supportive. Now, people are just trying to survive every day, and are burned out beyond belief. I've never seen a place go downhill so fast, and have never worked in such a dour and negative environment. Balancing the budget at the cost of your employees' satisfaction is a slippery...

    Show More
    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2018-04-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Completely Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prospective Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, none at all as far as I can tell.

    Cons

    See others reviews as noted.

    Advice to Management

    Get your H.R. act together before you waste peoples time interviewing for jobs just o learn there is no definitive start date, no defined responsibilities and location-scope undetermined.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2018-04-14
Found 58 reviews