MelroseWakefield Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

MelroseWakefield Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
MelroseWakefield Healthcare CEO Michael V. Sack (no image)
Michael V. Sack
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Going downhill badly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare

    Pros

    It used to be a fine place to work. Great orientation program for new nurses, good managers who supported and encouraged their staff, competitive pay, great teamwork and helpful co-workers who made a busy community hospital a satisfying and happy environment.

    Cons

    Unfortunately that's all gone. Census is so low that it can't possibly support the hospital. Management is in constant turmoil. Current manager spends her time playing politics and desperately going round to nursing homes trying to bring in more patients. Housekeeping and support staff have been cut and outsourced so much they can't keep up with their work. Current nursing manager goes on tirades and mistreats... others, probably due to stress. There is no way to improve your career or advance here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sadly, I'm leaving. LMH needs major overhaul of both the hospital and the nursing management, but I don't think think they have the money or the vision to do that. Even the most recent merger attempt doesn't look promising. So sad.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-08-17
  2. "Sr. Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Medical Assistant in Melrose, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare

    Pros

    Experience, work life balance, respect

    Cons

    training, cross coverage, multiple offices

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-06-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "More of a headache than anything else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Schedule is flexible. Most co-workers are great people. Most of the staff members are friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Though shedule is flexible, pay rates are far lower than they should be, so work/life balance is lacking in that department. The training I recieved, better off, the lack thereof, is pretty disgracful. There is no "right" way to do anything, and if you ask people questions/for assistance, you will get a million different answers. Management* (speaking for my department and specifically about one person in... particular), only seems to pay attention after something goes wrong. Management* seems to be incapable of acting on employee feedback. Our department is continuously short-staffed. Multiple call-outs on the regular. Management* should truly reevaluate the way that they address their employees, as the wording in most emails is far more acusive than constructive. Management* continuously emails about mistakes you've made, but fails to respond when you come back at them with questions/advice on how to improve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that can work more than twice every-other week. Start paying attention to employee feedback if you ever want department moral to improve. THINK before you type/speak and show respect for your staff members/fellow employees. Implement a cohesive training plan for all new hires, so everyone starts their positions on the same page. Bandages don't last, you need to re-work your department from the ground up;... temporary fixes only go so far.

    Show More
    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-05-16
  4. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst in Woburn, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare

    Pros

    Very helpful and easy-going atmosphere. Strong Management and head of department

    Cons

    Some work could get monotonous.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-04-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, work-life balance, location

    Cons

    low pay, management/leadership, few perks

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them well, unhappy employees lead to an ineffective work enviroment

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-03-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "MWH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great co workers. Good relationships between departments

    Cons

    Management does not listen to employees

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-02-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Upper level of management has no interest in anyone below them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MelroseWakefield Healthcare for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Healthcare is a great field to work in.

    Cons

    Ridiculously high number of managers who continue to get promoted to higher "titles". Regular employees have had raises decreased and withheld for 3 month. Highest level of leadership only works to make each other happy and turns a blind eye to the rest of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    You are losing everything by taking advantage of them and not doing a thing for them.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-02-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hallmark Health Inc. Provided a Pleasant Work Environment and Competitive Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    I was fortunate enough to work with some talented individuals. Mid level management/direct supervisor was competent and fair. Salary and benefits packages were competitive. I felt very comfortable, well treated, and overall appreciated as an employee/contributor.

    Cons

    Upper management (as at any healthcare organization) is overpaid compared to the value executives bring to the company.

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-01-21
  9. Helpful (4)

    "VNA & Hospice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare

    Pros

    Nice People who are willing to help with questions.

    Cons

    Asked to do many more duties than required in job description

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2016-01-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MelroseWakefield Healthcare

    Pros

    Great Hospital Location Great Patient population

    Cons

    Overworked Too many managers Very low pay Micromanaged

    MelroseWakefield Healthcare2015-11-05
Found 58 reviews