Melton Truck Lines Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Melton Truck Lines Chairman and CEO Bob Peterson
Bob Peterson
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "The management have your back in all your needs- good pay, home time, good equipment, timely repair and great benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great company to start and learn the ropes with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Home time is an issue, but any driver with some time and expereince should expect to be out a few weeks(in 13 reviews)

  • "Away from home for months at a time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Cartersville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Melton Truck Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Communication is superb, you get updates timely.

    Cons

    There’s none if you communicate with the management your concerns.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-05-10

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    May 11, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Melton Truck Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They definitely treat you more than just a number and make you feel apart of some big and important

    Cons

    Being away from your family

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-05-14

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    May 18, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback about opening up more dedicated routes.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Melton Truck Lines"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Melton Truck Lines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked with Melton for nearly 19 years. My favorite part of working for Melton is the people. We all treat one another like family. I always feel like my thoughts and ideas are heard. The facility I work in is beautiful. We have a store that provides trendy Melton Gear for wearing in and out of the office. We have an onsite Gym and a Wellness Coordinator. This is an excellent representation of how invested Melton Truck Lines is in the health of its employees. We have an onsite Cafe that offers a wide variety of delicious cuisine. Our Executive Team makes good decisions all the time allowing us to weather even the toughest economic storms. These are just a few of the reasons I love working at Melton Truck Lines.

    Cons

    There are frustrations time to time as you find in all jobs, but I don't have any specific cons to note about working at Melton Truck Lines.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-05-08

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    May 8, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We count ourselves lucky for employees like you.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Melton Truck Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company for new drivers.good training

    Cons

    Not enough money, a lot of unnecessary tarping

    Melton Truck Lines2020-04-24

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    April 27, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for the great feedback. Our drivers tarp loads on average 2-3 times per week. The loads we tarp are based on the customer's preference. According to the Survey of Drivers Wages, we are a top paying company in the industry. Our drivers are paid from $0.46/mile to $0.57/mile. Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus, our freight has temporarily slowed some. Our Operations Department is diligently checking the status of every truck at the start and end of each day. You can always reach out to your Driver Manager for tips on how to maximize your hours and earn more money.

  5. "Amazing experience ever step of the way"

    5.0
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver 

    I worked at Melton Truck Lines full-time

    Pros

    Excellent facilities Excellent workers from drivers to office and cook employees. Great company to start and learn the ropes with. Takes care of their employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes things aren’t explained in detail and your left hanging until further clarification.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-04-26

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    April 28, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and 5-star review!

  6. "Pretty good place to get started in flatbed. Good training and pay. If you want to flatbed check them out"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Melton Truck Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They’re pretty good at working with you on things

    Cons

    Different for everyone’s personal experience if you can find any

    Melton Truck Lines2020-04-15

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    April 16, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for the great feedback and 5-star review!

  7. "Ok place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Melton Truck Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good miles, Decent Pay, Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Difficult hometime, truck was in poor condition.

    Melton Truck Lines2020-04-04

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    April 6, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for your 4-star review. We are sorry you didn't get the home time you were wanting. Our drivers are all OTR 2-3 weeks out and 2-3 days home. Our fleet averages 1.5 years old. Our shop and outside repair is there to help our drivers if something happens with their equipment.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Response to a September 10, 2019 response about milage"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Melton Truck Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My DM treats me with respect.

    Cons

    The weekly mileage is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-02-20

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    February 20, 2020Social Media Intern

    We strive to always communicate the most accurate information to drivers, especially about miles. We quote average miles based on a fleet-wide assessment. Please keep in mind that there are some seasonal variances as well. Each individual driver's mileage can vary depending on their time management, trip planning, and more. Therefore, it's difficult for us to address your specific issue without your communication to our office personnel. Our Driver Managers are here as a resource and are able to offer specific advice on how to gain more miles - that is why we encourage drivers to that contact point. However, if you would like to speak with someone other than your driver manager, we do have a Driver Help Desk available at 918.270.9613.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Employee Friendly Company. Competitive Pay. Challenging."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Melton Truck Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is health-focused. Easy to workout at the gym during lunch break. Friendly/Caring Coworkers. You feel like you're a part of the Melton family. Movement in the company is possible. Great benefits and good pay. Fleible work hours. Standing desks.

    Cons

    Transportation industry can be demanding in the summer, but dead/dangerous in the winter for drivers. They are away from their families for long periods and often lonely. As an office employee, you are often put in the position of providing emotional support for drivers. This be can a major pro, but it's also challenging. It can become too draining if you're introverted, and especially if put in a position of direct communication with drivers.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-01-30

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    February 3, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for the 4-star review. We appreciate this very detailed feedback.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good and Bad, It is what you make of it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Melton Truck Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Terminals, Higher than average pay including other additional things like tarp and multi-stop that can increase earnings. Good introduction to Flatbed and over the road. Kenworths were nice, Freightliners were showing their age. Most of office staff in Tulsa were nice and polite. First DM was awesome. I would tell new drivers to go here, just be careful and stand up for yourself to Maintenance and dispatch. I did like Melton and appreciated the opportunity they extended to me. Had my head been in a different place I might still be there.

    Cons

    I was given a truck with several bad engine leaks at Orientation, was told "have Tulsa take care of it in a few weeks if you get by there." Arrived at Tulsa, immediately went through inspection where they identified same issues and told me to arrange to have it fixed myself when I took hometime and sent on my way again. One of these leaks was the main pressure line for the fuel rail on the engine. Truck interior was also filthy and had rancid melted butter coating inside of Fridge. Truck had supposedly just been serviced, cleaned, and detailed, somehow I don't believe that. My DM was informed of these things immediately, as was The maintenance supervisor at Tulsa. I was finally given another trucks 3 weeks later after making a stink about it almost daily to my DM. Funny thing was they didn't fix the issue in Tulsa becasue they said I didn't have the time, though I was there for 2 days and then took a load North and sat in Gary Indiana for another 54 hours waiting to unload. My trip planning was poor, sitting for me was common. In a 3 week span I had a 54 hour wait to unload, a 22 hour wait to get loaded, and then another 21 hour wait for my DM to find me a load after they asked me to hurry across Indiana and Illinois as quickly as possible so I could unload early and pick up a load that "was waiting." On my first trip home I was contacted by my DM and asked to drop everything and go do a repower so another driver wouldn't have to sit and wait until Monday to be unloaded. I was paid for the repower but its pretty inconsiderate to bother drivers at home after being out almost 4 weeks. Last gripe why do you make drivers purchase/make their own edge protectors and V-boards. Yes the cardboard ones you are given at terminals are okay but they're really single use and god forbid they get wet. No driver should leave the yard without adequate load protectors. It is after-all your straps and chains we're trying to protect. My first laod out of Birmingham needed V-boards but with 20 minutes to get across town to get loaded, I had no time to purchase the materials, let alone make them and the Birmingham terminal had nothing in the way of dunnage let alone v board material. Home time is an issue, but any driver with some time and expereince should expect to be out a few weeks. However, there are many OTR Flatbed companies getting drivers home every week so I don't think the "this is an OTR company," line Melton likes to quote is very valid. In the end though that final 21 hour wait to get a load was the end of it for me, I saw a pattern developing that wasn't being addressed and I didn't see it changing. So I took the truck back to a terminal and left.

    Continue reading
    Melton Truck Lines2020-01-23

    Melton Truck Lines Response

    January 24, 2020Advertising and Social Media

    Thank you for providing such detailed feedback and letting us know about your maintenance issue. We are sorry that you had to deal with this. Melton provides the best equipment possible for our drivers however, all trucks have maintenance issues now and then. Please know that we are having our Maintenance Department look into this to prevent this from happening in the future.

Found 91 reviews