Melton Truck Lines Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Melton Truck Lines Chairman and CEO Bob Peterson
Bob Peterson
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Solid company that truly cares about driver(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great company to start and learn the ropes with(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home time Is only one day for 7(in 14 reviews)

  • "As an OTR driver, typical to be away from home for weeks at a time(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company Ever!

      May 11, 2021 - Lead Generation Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A positive work place to thrive and grow!

      Cons

      None that I have experienced.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Organization

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, stable company, fair pay, good benefits

      Cons

      Fast paced industry, lots of moving parts. Trucking can be a tough industry but is a fun challenge.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Apr 13, 2021 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, great dispatchers, great pay. For company drivers. You ask for home time they do their best to get you their. ( don't be mad at the miles when your going home. It's too keep you close. So you can get home soon. )

      Cons

      I don't have any at this time. 6 months with them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for the great feedback. We appreciate you!

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay away!!!!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you need a starter company

      Cons

      Took six drug test in the 6months I worked there. Including hair test!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great pay

      Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are allowed to earn as mutch as you want

      Cons

      None none none none none

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Media Information Supervisor

      Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled you're enjoying your career at Melton.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 18, 2021 - OTR Flatbed Driver in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The absolute amazing treatment of they're drivers and they're families

      Cons

      Could definitely get a little better on the load planning side of things

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for the great feedback. We appreciate you!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Home away from home

      Feb 23, 2021 - OTR Professional Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll get plenty of training in and out of orientation.

      Cons

      You will have to get used to tarping a lot of your loads.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for the great feedback! Our drivers do tarp and secure loads about 2-3 times per week. However, our drivers were all very excited when we increased our tarp pay to $100 per load in February! We know this is a very strenuous part of the job, and we want to reward them for it.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great starter or forever home

      Mar 23, 2021 - Class A Truck Driver in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company for a new cdl holder

      Cons

      mininum pay, forced dispatch, governed at 65

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. According to the National Survey of Driver Wages, we are a top-paying company. New CDL holders can start here at $0.46/mile. We also recently doubled our tarp pay to $100/load! You are correct when you say we are forced dispatch. Our Recruiters bring that up during the interview process. Additionally, you are also correct when you say our trucks are governed at 65 miles per hour. That is the speed we have found to be the most efficient when it comes to miles per gallon. We offer a Fuel Bonus to our drivers that has the potential to earn them an additional $6,000 per year.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place for new drivers.

      Feb 9, 2021 - OTR Truck Driver in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good equipment! Decent Pay. Nice hotel room during orientation.

      Cons

      Too much micromanagement. Some DMs are not good at their jobs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for your review of our company. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry you felt micromanaged by your Driver Manager. Please know, we would never put our drivers in danger just to make a delivery on time. Safety is our top priority, and we trust our drivers to know what is and isn't safe for them. If our drivers think it's unsafe to be driving, we trust them to pull over and park for the time being. If you would like to provide further details about your situation, please give us a call.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Culture

      Jan 27, 2021 - Administration in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful culture and team members at Melton. Really fun place to work.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Melton Truck Lines Response

      Advertising and Social Media

      Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate the five-star rating.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Melton Truck Lines Job Seekers

    OTR Truck Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Melton Truck Lines? Share Your Experiences

    Melton Truck Lines logo
    or