Meltwater Reviews | Glassdoor

Meltwater Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Meltwater CEO Jorn Lyseggen
Jorn Lyseggen
352 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is a challenge if you don’t manage your time well(in 80 reviews)

  • "You have no work-life balance, which some of us wouldn't mind as much if we were more appreciated(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you are ready to work hard and like upward movement this is a great place to start your career

    Cons

    Can be challenging if you are not good at delivering on your sales results.

    Meltwater2019-10-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I will look back at this job and laugh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have honestly met some of my best friends through Meltwater. There are cool events (where alcohol is typically enforced) and you get to expense a lot of things. The people are young and mostly cool enough to get along with.

    Cons

    You're expected to put in more work than you are paid to do, and you are not compensated fairly considering the amount of tech/customer success jobs out there. You can make nearly double anywhere else for the same amount of work. Management expects you to care enough about hitting your targets without fair compensation? Lol. If you are early or late to work, you are judged by your management. Don't even get me... started on monthly quotas/targets. The "culture" is enforced as a way to get people to drink the kool aid. Management intimidates you in order to make you work hard to hit targets, but the fact of the matter is no clients wants to spend extra money on this part of their business. I've had people ask me for recommendations or help with interviews, and I have straight up told them - you don't want to work here.

    Show More
    Meltwater2019-12-07
  3. "Overall Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meltwater is a fast paced environment but also a ton of fun. This was my first experience in a business to business sales role and I learned a vast amount of skills and knowledge in a short period of time. I met many amazing people who are super motivated and driven to work hard like myself. The culture is fun if you like a lively office - open floor plan and music throughout the day. It made coming to work fun but... maybe not for everyone if you prefer to work alone or in a quiet place.

    Show More

    Cons

    No major cons, I was disappointed to have to leave but due to some issues in my personal life I had to make a change and move out of the DC area completely. I still keep in touch with a bunch of the friends I made at Meltwater though!

    Advice to Management

    Better communication from top management down would be helpful.

    Meltwater2019-10-21
  4. Helpful (11)

    "If you see a positive review, it’s a lie!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your co-workers and learning experience are the only positive aspects of this company.

    Cons

    I want to keep this brief, as it’s not something I’d typically do but seeing positive reviews on here frustrates me so much. 2 years ago, sitting in Meltwater my Managing Director called all the managers into the room and showed us negative reviews on here. That MD then asked us to write positive reviews to push the “negative” ones down. This type of attitude and personality perfect describes the entire... companies business practice. I’m shocked that this company hasn’t fallen to pieces yet, and is still riding on “fake it to you make it”. They sell the least important product a firm could have... I’m not going to ramble on here, you can read the rest of the horror stories. They are all true. It only took me quitting Meltwater to realize how terrible of a place it really is. Each employee suffers from Stockholm syndrome. Not to mention, go to any other company and you’ll make more money and work less hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire actually management.

    Meltwater2019-10-11
  5. "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time

    Pros

    Pay is great straight out of college if you meet objectives.

    Cons

    Long work hours and hard to take time off

    Meltwater2019-10-11
  6. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Acquisition in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don’t believe there is a better place to learn sales and leadership early on in your career than Meltwater. This company teaches you everything from cold calls to professionalism to leadership and negotiation. You will work hard but you should want to work hard when starting out in your career and Meltwater is the type of company that has high expectations but is also there for you on a ‘rainy day’. The management... team are often young but they are extremely loyal and usually truly care about their people.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are not driven or career focused this might not be the place for you. People work here to learn, develop and move up.

    Advice to Management

    Work on aligning management so that everyone gets the same, awesome experience that I got, regardless of which location they are based at.

    Meltwater2019-10-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "They are trying to encourage you to have a work-life balance while you really can't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at Meltwater full-time

    Pros

    Very vibrant culture and supportive crowd

    Cons

    Extensive workload and there's just no life

    Meltwater2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fast paced, disorganized, work hard play hard culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success, Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meltwater has tons of perks: free snacks, monthly team events, beer, catered lunches, solid PTO plan, unlimited sick days, access to upper management, and AMAZING health care benefits (seriously, the health benefits are solid). The people are generally enthusiastic, caring, passionate, driven humans. It depends on the team you're on, but there is lots of opportunity to make friends you actually want to hang out... with outside of work. The offices are smaller (about 30 people) so you get to know your coworkers really well. The hour lunch break in the day is also really nice. The technology you get to work with is very cool. Meltwater is a very competitive company, and is always working to be the first to get their hands on the next big thing in media monitoring. This makes the sales pitches really dynamic. Also, the bonus structure is pretty generous.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything in the company operates around monthly quotas. These quotas are not easy to hit. Every role, both customer success and client acquisition, is extremely metrics driven. What this leads to is pushy, transnational sales processes. Client acquisition has the luxury of a bit more of a consultative sales process, but customer success is under a ton of pressure to get every penny out of their clients as... possible. There is a great deal of pressure trickling down from upper management and both employees and clients feel it. From my experience, many long standing clients are left feeling burned by the flood of inbound calls and mass sales emails they receive every. single. month. and if they've been around for more than a minute, they start to avoid you. Work/life balance is feasible if you stay very, very organized and are passionate about Meltwater. However, most individuals spend their week nights prospecting, putting in client notes, doing client work, pulling reports, composing presentations, etc. (essentially anything that isn't actively driving the possibility of revenue, which is confined to the day) People are promoted to management once they've mastered their quotas, but not everyone is meant to be a manager and the company allows these people to burn through a few new hires before moving them into a producer role. Its luck of the draw for most newbies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time on management training. The phrase "people don't leave bad jobs, they leave bad managers" applies here. There are some great managers here, but there are some rotten one's that are pushing good people out. I believe both employees and clients would appreciate the flexibility of a longer sales process and quarterly quotas. Clients can see straight through the false urgency enforced at the end of... the month. Also, the dress code feels outdated for the software space.

    Show More
    Meltwater2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great People & Culture, No work/life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people there are great, everyone is fun and outgoing and there is definitely room to grow your career and make a lot of money

    Cons

    that said, there is no work/life balance. You will work weekends, you will be expected to come early and stay late most days, sick days are PTO

    Meltwater2019-09-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Don't trust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best way to learn sales I've come across, point blank. From Month 1, you are hit with a quota and the only realistic way to hit it is to jump in with both feet, listen to what your managers are telling you, and work your butt off. If you want to start a career in sales, this is a great place to get your feet wet. The majority of coworkers are the most fantastic people I've ever met.

    Cons

    Where to begin. First off, review Meltwater's responses to most of these reviews. Templated with zero thought or compassion towards their former employees. Management is filled with people who have never had another job outside of Meltwater, resulting in unrealistic expectations of an industry that is BEYOND saturated. They treat their employees like children and, despite the overwhelmingly negative reviews by... former employees, seem to have no intention on changing. Also--many of these reviews were written by young employees that were coerced by management to write 5 star reviews with the promise of a good lead or a gift card for coffee. The only in-depth and thought out reviews on here? Negative. That should tell you something.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent with your employees and start to treat them with respect.

    Meltwater2019-09-23
Found 574 reviews