Meltwater Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Meltwater CEO John Box
John Box
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work environment, great colleagues(in 47 reviews)

  • "Hard work pays off, especially in client acquisition(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of work life balance and different rules of engagement across different trams(in 93 reviews)

  • "Long hours and you will work hard(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture, awesome remote policy and interesting tech

      Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Remote policy is great - Ability to move around the world - A lot of flexibility in choice of technology, a lot of newer technologies used - Engineering leadership is great - Great values shown and actively supports diversity and inclusion. - Great work life balance, PTO policy etc.

      Cons

      - As in all bigger companies sometimes things takes a bit of time. - Sometimes communication from management could be better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Portfolio of Clients

      May 11, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is great culture, and amazing co workers

      Cons

      I think the con's are relative based on individual ability because as I mentioned there is great culture, co workers and management but if you're unable to meet quotas, be a top seller and hit every KPI it becomes quite daunting with long hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Learn Customer Success

      Apr 3, 2021 - Customer Success Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Seasoned leadership with proven results at the company - it's true much of the management started there careers there, but I see this as a pro, as you get to learn the ropes of the organization and industry from truly knowledgeable and experienced people. - Commissions and bonus structures are team oriented, making the environment less competitive and cut throat. - The majority of internal processes have been refined and work as they should, making your day to day much easier in comparison to other SaaS companies who are in more of a start-up mode. - People are young, fun and full of great energy. - The product is sharp, intuitive and continuously evolving to stay competitive. - Company understands best practices for Customer Success and has the joint support of marketing and sales.

      Cons

      Pre-Covid - the music was too loud at the office, making it difficult to concentrate for some and hear clients on calls.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Redefined My Career

      Dec 22, 2020 - Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot overstate how much I have learned working at Meltwater. These are some of the most driven people I've ever met, and each and every person I've interacted with at Meltwater seems to be striving for professional excellence and to grow themselves personally and professionally. I also love that you have full control over the direction of your career and the speed with which you develop. They really do put their money where their mouth is when they say that they want their employees to stay with the company and grow within the organization. I feel valued and I feel like my voice is heard and respected here.

      Cons

      Maybe not a con for some, but can be extremely fast-paced, which occasionally leads to reactionary decisions. There has definitely been some slight near-sightedness in middle management, but senior leadership generally does a really good job of making sure that those in people management have what it takes to be there and those more suited to individual contribution are allowed to grow and be promoted on that track. Executive leadership is very receptive and very in-tune to their teams.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Learned a lot. Terrible management culture though.

      Apr 2, 2021 - Client Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Develop sales skills. Make friends with colleagues.

      Cons

      Anxiety, stress, constant pressure to sell, unethical business practices. Be prepared to burn contacts because your manager forces you to call 15 times in one day or email every hour to sign a contract, especially last day of the month. Shady short sighted business practices. Micromanagement is a severe understatement. Emails are proof read and you are trained to “parrot” what your manager is telling you to say on a live call as they listen in without the client knowing. You are told to “turn off your brain”. Also, it’s not media “intelligence” it’s a glorified news clipping service that provides minimal value to organizations, but you are expected to shove the product down clients throats anyway. I am SHOCKED clients pay what they pay.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid this place

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met really cool people - you get really close with your coworkers, but part of that is bonding over how miserable you are all the time Work with interesting clients

      Cons

      Just way too many to list Micromanagement Insane hours that you are not paid for - work early to late and most sundays for at least 5 hours 0 Diversity, I mean 0 Everyone who stays is drinking the kool aid, most people leave in under a year There are so many better software companies to work for and get into sales - Avoid Meltwater and find a company that cares about your growth and mental health and will pay you fairly

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture and People

      Apr 6, 2021 - Sales Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with

      Cons

      Stressful sales quota on a monthly basis

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wouldn't recommend

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can launch your sales career, you will learn a lot fast and get to immediately do the full sales cycle, young employees

      Cons

      Absolutely no work-life balance. Prepare to have major Sunday scaries prospecting and worrying about Monday. Leadership is manipulative and stuck in their ways. Sales consultants are treated as a number and it is very low pay for the number of hours put in.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great company to work for!

      Mar 30, 2021 - Sales Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -fast paced -fun -competitive -flexbile -make close friends

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say - truthfully, the role is what you make of it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A sales driven company where people come first

      Dec 8, 2020 - Sales Leader in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing opportunity to work with inspiring people from all over the world. sales is the common denominator for life at meltwater. we are super passionate about sales and when it comes to teaching sales, executing on our sales methodology and driving a commercial process......i have to imagine meltwater is second to none. you get paid well for the work you do, you get recognition if you do well, promotions are most often merit based and you are encouraged to 'take up space' at all levels of the business.

      Cons

      being a sales company, we can oftentimes short sight decisions whilst chasing goals and or targets. our products are respected world over, but there can sometimes be misalignments with our brand positioning/product offerings and market appetite. we're rarely outgunned but there are some instances when we've been caught on the back foot with product development and innovation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 772 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Meltwater Job Seekers

    Sales Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Client Success Representative
    Learn About the Job
    International Management Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Meltwater? Share Your Experiences

    Meltwater logo
    or