Memorial Hermann Health System Recruiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Memorial Hermann Health System Recruiter Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Hermann Health System President and CEO Dr. David L. Callender  (no image)
Dr. David L. Callender
2 Ratings
  1. "I Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team, super supportive leadership, very open to trying new things, organization is highly relationship driven, lots of technology/tools to make my job easier

    Cons

    teleworking is still being explored but we are making progress

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2020-02-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation & Benefits Occasional Telework HR All Hands Meetings

    Cons

    The Talent Acquisition Department is a circus and has lost credibility within the organization. The Recruiters are not the problem. The leadership staff are vindictive micro managers that cause issues instead of creating solutions. The processes are lacking and the Recruiters are under constant pressure. Memorial Hermann is a revolving door for healthcare professionals because the salaries and incentives are not competitive compared to other local hospitals. The feedback provided by Hiring Managers carry weight that has the potential to derail your career. If you join this organization you should prepare to be pressured and treated unfairly. The leaders have lost touch with their team members and are unsupportive. The pressure has become intense and the morale has severely lowered. Some Recruiters are in fear of their jobs and livelihood. This department feels like a sinking ship and all aboard will drown. The best time to leave the department or the organization is now. The department has hired additional TA staff to work within a broken system. Their morale is high now as new hires but they will eventually drown too. Retaliation is common within the department but it’s best to speak up by standing up for the truth.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2020-02-07

    Memorial Hermann Health System Response

    February 14, 2020

    As the leader of TA, I feel it necessary to respond to this email for clarification. Recruiting is a tough job and not everyone is suited for the role. I have the upmost respect for the profession and am honored to be the leader of such a great team. We have high standards and the pace is fast. Our department treats each other like family and many of our recruiters have been here for years. We have a lot of exciting things going on at Memorial Hermann, as well as within our department. Is it perfect, no but its exciting and for those recruiters who want to make a difference, love a challenge, and have a passion for what they do, I would encourage you to reach out to me or any member of our TA team to learn more.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Culture and Toxic Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Semi-Flexible work schedule -Good Compensation -Friendly Co-Workers -Cafeteria On-Site -Walking distance to Memorial City Mall and Westin Starbucks

    Cons

    The culture at Memorial Hermann is lacking and underwhelming. The TA leadership team is fairly new to leadership and doesn’t have the right skills to lead people. The leaders don’t have clear direction for their teams or themselves. The metrics for Recruiters are undefined, unfair and unrealistic. The Managers don’t understand people management, effective communication or growth and development for their team members. Recruiters are written up and disciplined for the smallest things. The leadership team allows Hiring Managers to blatantly disrespect their Recruiters to the utmost degree. The TA Department could be much better with the right leaders in place. I cannot name one single leader in TA that is prepared to lead others. The environment is stressful, toxic and the Recruiters have low morale. The senior leaders of TA are not visible. You will only see the senior leader when there is a problem or a systemwide HR meeting. The “senior leader” has ineffective leadership skills.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2020-01-29
  4. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth potential Teamwork Work from home once a week

    Cons

    Hiring Managers can be difficult

    Memorial Hermann Health System2017-05-08
  5. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO! Great culture. Lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Medical insurance, nothing else really

    Memorial Hermann Health System2016-10-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like my teammates and our team. Job security. Fair/good pay. We work well together to get a lot done. Some people care a lot about us and their work.

    Cons

    New system is not good. Too many jobs to fill and it can be stressful even if you do good. Some people never happy with how much we do and focus on the little mistakes. Our hiring managers often blame us more than they should. Most are good though.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2016-05-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay if you negotiate well up front. Decent benefits They won't fire you even if you are completely incompetent. The organization does a lot of great work in the community. The name recognition on your resume will help land you a job somewhere else. Continuing education onsite that you can take to another organization that is looking to implement organizational changes for the better. You can move up pretty fast as long as you do not rock the boat or if you know someone. The recruitment managers really do care and want to see you succeed. Jim Garman is a dynamic public speaker along with most of the C- Suite. You learn so much from their talks during the HR meetings Employee satisfaction is pretty high throughout the hospital staff in most of the hospitals.

    Cons

    The organization is a non-profit which would normally be a good thing but they waste SO MUCH money it makes your head spin. The resources they waste on out of town recruitment events that have 0% ROI could be spent on employee development or in community health & awareness programs. The C-Suite seems to be out of touch with what their direct reports are really up to. The recruitment director is not an effective leader, not objective and somewhat sexist. Recruitment expectations are very reasonable and honestly the metrics are not even real numbers. You can easily put a candidate in offer status and count it as a hire and no one will know the difference. I am not sure why they do not base the numbers off the HRIS system on the day the new hire starts which is a real number but I think recruitment director does not want this to change because his bonus gets tied into how many "hires" there are a year. There is a lot of turnover but it is a great chance to learn and meet new people from different industries. Unequal pay for women compared to men in the department based on experience.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2015-07-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Leader in Houston healthcare market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Hermann Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, okay benefits and working for largest company in Houston. Great healthcare provider and leader in the market.

    Cons

    Limited upside career wise, lots of dinosaurs still roaming around, not for the aggressive money making types. Management could be better.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Hermann Health System2013-01-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews