KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Memorial Hermann Health System

Is this your company?

Memorial Hermann Health System

Add a Review

Memorial Hermann Health System Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated Dec 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Hermann Health System President and CEO Dr. David L. Callender
Dr. David L. Callender
157 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall Good benefits, good team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment, good benefit(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seems out of touch with the needs of employees(in 23 reviews)

  • "Health insurance benefits need to improve(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Memorial Hermann Health System and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "health insurance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Been working for 4months

      Oct 3, 2019 - RN, Bsn in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great help from co-workers, supportive managers

      Cons

      Health insurance is not soo good No scheduled lunch break

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good but needs improvement.

      Oct 22, 2020 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great learning experience in ICU

      Cons

      Health insurance benefits need to improve

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical hospital.

      Dec 3, 2020 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Sugar Land, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, magnet focused, but overall a decent hospital. No hospital can be perfect.

      Cons

      Below average pay, sub par health insurance, understaffed, hard to advance in career

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall good company

      Nov 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of people to work with.

      Cons

      Too many changes in leadership, terrible health insurance, no clear direction regarding the future.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Incredible place to work!

      Oct 28, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TIRR is seriously one of the best facilities I've ever worked in (and I've worked in multiple settings, both full time and as contract). The culture here has constantly pushed me to grow as a clinician and as a person. Being "good" at what we do isn't enough - we strive to constantly be better and better in order to provide the patients with the best possible chance of recovery. The patients and their families inspire me daily and my co-workers are some of the most dedicated, compassionate therapists I've ever seen.

      Cons

      It is a high-stress facility. That just comes from working with the catastrophic injuries that we see on a daily basis. It's impossible NOT to get close to the patients and families that we see for at least an hour and a half every day, for sometimes several weeks. That being said, I do feel like our management and leadership staff do a good job of preparing us and giving us the resources we need to do our job as well as throw in some fun stuff here and there just to "de-stress." As for benefits, health insurance gets worse each year with less coverage, higher premiums and higher deductibles.

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Nurturing Community

      Jul 24, 2015 - Family Nurse Practitioner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy working for this company. Everyone here is passionate about what they do! I work in one of the outpatient clinics. My hours are good and the staff is great. The whole culture of the company is just inviting. This Hospital system truly cares for it's staff.

      Cons

      The two cons I have noticed my short time working here is the response of HR to applying for different positions. I don't have health insurance through Memorial Hermann but I heard it was not that great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      NICU RN

      May 4, 2017 - Registered Nurse, Critical Care in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is constantly expanding so you can most likely find a position anywhere in the Houston area. The TMC location is very high acuity so it is an excellent place to learn. They are very education focused and are willing to reimburse for training and certifications. Lots of opportunity to transfer to other departments

      Cons

      The health insurance is limited to Memorial Hermann facilities for the most part, and it gets more expensive every year. They are often making budget cuts which usually results in more work for the nurses. At least in the NICU, they make you feel expendable and can easily be replaced. Constant turn over rate Very heavy assignments

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not the worst

      Feb 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Higher paying than some but ruthless about standby/call and changing work schedules. Most of the employees are team players. The staff is friendly.

      Cons

      The health insurance is costly and doesn't cover enough with all providers. My provider was originally in the HMO. Then left the group. I selected another PCP at that group and now I am finding less and less being covered including meds.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      There is room for improvement.

      Oct 8, 2013 - Clinical Staff in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are hospitals all over the city; job stability; reasonable salaries and benefits.

      Cons

      Few opportunities to move up the ladder; health insurance applies exclusively to Memorial Hermann facilities and Memorial Hermann contracted physicians and providers; performance reviews have all but disappeared; no opportunities to negotiate salaries from one year to the next; upper executives and directors get all the perks; not sure how managers are selected. There are some very mediocre managers.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Anonymous

      Sep 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, decent 401k but limited fund choices, some very good people. Management is "ok". Some professional autonomy. Room to improve.

      Cons

      The employee health insurance is absolutely, unequivocally, and totally garbage. You're better off just being uninsured. It's actually insulting how poor the insurance is. Mandatory mail order pharmacy, prior authorizations for a bandaid or an aspirin. Worst health plan I've ever seen in my entire life.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Memorial Hermann Health System Job Seekers

    Graduate Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Patient Access Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Staffing Specialist (Premiere Staffing )
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Memorial Hermann Health System? Share Your Experiences

    or