KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Memorial Hermann Health System

Is this your company?

Memorial Hermann Health System

Add a Review

Memorial Hermann Health System Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Hermann Health System President and CEO Dr. David L. Callender
Dr. David L. Callender
157 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall Good benefits, good team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment, good benefit(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seems out of touch with the needs of employees(in 23 reviews)

  • "Health insurance benefits need to improve(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Memorial Hermann Health System and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Learned so much

      Oct 24, 2020 - Medical Laboratory Technologist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Full of opportunities Plenty of leadership potential

      Cons

      Bonuses aren’t impactful Upper management arrogance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      TIRR: therapist burnout; high turnover rate for rehab therapists

      Nov 17, 2020 - Speech Language Pathologist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for clinical growth Diversity of patient population Research oriented

      Cons

      Limited healthcare options with benefits; basically pigeon-holed into only using Memorial Hermann primary and specialty care. Pay in comparison to other major hospitals in med center. Minimal flexibility with schedule. Upper management seems out of touch with the needs of employees. Also, changes that significantly impact pay, schedules, and responsibilities are made without any warning. Limited opportunity for growth within career (as a therapist - I can’t speak for other occupations)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Material Management

      Jan 17, 2021 - Materials Management Specialist in Sugar Land, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Job availability across city Stable work occupation Prioritize patients

      Cons

      Pay is sub average Inflexible schedule Infrequent pay increases Low pay increases Corrupt upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't bother getting into non-clinical roles if you're not well-connected

      Jun 8, 2020 - Patient Relations Coordinator in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good values, great connection with community, good place if you're clinical (especially a nurse), decent benefits. They did their best to take of their people during the COVID-19 pandemic, protecting its employees and providing benefits to everyone that kept them safe as much as possible. And there was good work/life balance as an employee, as I was never expected to take work home after my shift ended.

      Cons

      Working here in non-clinical roles is a big "who you know" game. I applied to several internal positions I was qualified for, only to: a) not receive any communications from the recruiter and be left 'in consideration' for over 6 months; or b) be reject from the internal application system without any communications from the recruiter as to why I was not considered or how to improve my opportunity for advancement. I was close enough to three of the roles to discover that the hired persons had less qualifications and experience than me. Managers get by on their relationships with upper management, and not their results, i.e., if you suck up to the right people your lack of qualifications won't matter. Despite always 'exceeding expectations', there was never an opportunity to get more than a 1% raise. My manager expected me to be extremely grateful one year when they gave me a 1.04% raise, over the standard 1.00% raise. Leadership is not very diverse, even though the organization is. I've worked in 4 other hospitals and never had an experience as bad as working at Memorial Hermann. I would never work at another Memorial Hermann hospital even if my pay was tripled because the suck-up culture left such a bad taste in my mouth.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall Good

      Dec 7, 2019 - Social Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent and the amount of time-off provided is nice.

      Cons

      First learning my job there was no training and I often felt my performance was terrible because there was no communication from upper management on how well I was doing. I felt discouraged and unmotivated at times. I did eventually receive a positive performance review after 6 months but prior to that I felt in the dark.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      You can do better...

      Apr 29, 2019 - Staff RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff I work with

      Cons

      Aside from my actual job, this was my least liked hospital system to work for. The pay is not as competitive as other hospitals and the revolving door of upper management is annoying.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      N/a

      Jun 29, 2019 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family atmosphere with good front line staff

      Cons

      Upper management wanting more patients and less staff to take care of them

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Culture

      Apr 8, 2019 - Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers were great to work with

      Cons

      Benefits expensive, nickel and dime everything, parking, upper management bubble look down upon others

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Horrible

      Dec 15, 2010 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to be very independent regarding patient care, Nurses enjoy autonomy in communicating with medical staff and communicating with case workers and other support staff. Computers are ubiquitous in the workplace and fairly easy to use. Technology department can usually help out if there is a problem. Hiring and training were for the most part easy and effective.

      Cons

      Poor management and absolutely no flexibility regarding schedule. new grads should beware of working here due to inflexibility. Very difficult, if not impossible to transfer (seen it myself), poor benefits and starting salary compared to other hospitals. Workload is brutal with RN expected to handle everything that may fall their way, even things that are out of reasonable control. Focus is definitely based on patient satisfaction than a healthy work environment and quality care. How can you expect good patient satisfaction when everyone is overworked and underpaid (nurses and techs)? No flexibility regarding scheduling and upper management is based on who has worked there the longest without any regard to how effective they are. Fear of reprisal for reporting anything and anyone that you feel is doing a poor job. Burnout is constant and abounds. Even more than usual for nurses.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Desktop Support At it's Worst!

      Jun 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are OK, could be better. Really enjoy working with my co-workers.

      Cons

      There use to be a time I enjoyed coming to work but now, not so much! In the past 3 years, things have really went downhill is this department and it's mainly due to new upper management that do not have a clue on how the system works. That being said, they start playing the blame game on the employees who has been there for years and fired them while they keep there jobs! Bring in old friends from previous jobs to fill in roles and lay the ones who has been there for years off and offer them higher pay! Forget about career growth in this department! That will never happen, the Director himself barely speaks to anyone unless you're one his buddies from his old job or someone he personally knows, It's seems that he is on a mission to take out the employees who has been there for years, to bring in new ones! So far, it has been working 2 lay-offs (brought in more buddies to fill those roles) fired a Manager who been there for years. Also,a lot of turn overs. People are either transferring to new departments or leaving altogether. I'm sure it will be more to come! I'm in the process myself to look for new work before I become the next target!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Memorial Hermann Health System Job Seekers

    Graduate Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Patient Access Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Staffing Specialist (Premiere Staffing )
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Memorial Hermann Health System? Share Your Experiences

    or