Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews in New York City, NY | Glassdoor

Memorial Sloan Kettering New York City Reviews

Updated April 24, 2017
437 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York City, NY Area

437 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Last but not least there is no room for growth unless you work in administration or at the Main campus in NY (in 15 reviews)

  • Base post doc salary with no experience is 50K, which does not really defray the high cost of living in New York (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Registered Nurse: CN1"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Received excellent health benefits, salary, on the job training, and an amazing nurse internship.

    Cons

    Had to work 2 years of nights before finally getting to a point where a day position opened up.

    Advice to Management

    Nurse to patient ratios should be a goal

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    We appreciate your positive comments!


  2. "Overall a Good Institution"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Well funded, good employee wellness programs, very good benefits in light of the current insurance marketplace.

    Cons

    Rampant credentialism for the most minimal of administrative/clerical positions in the research division especially.

    Advice to Management

    A better focus on practical administrative career succession and a little less on the credentials. Paper certificates do not imply competence.


  3. "Great place to work...if you can get in for an interview...do it!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary II in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Secretary II in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    great benefits and opportunities to learn outside of your job specs

    Cons

    "the more you know the more you do"; it IS a 'non-profit' organization

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for the positive comments; we take great pride in MSK's commitment to giving our employee's the opportunity to learn and advance their careers.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "session assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    meet a ton of new people, be apart of the patient experience, become part of a tight knit family, great benefits and pay

    Cons

    employee burnout,long hours, thats all

    Advice to Management

    listen to the suggestions your employees give you, they know what works

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We recognize that healthcare can often require long hours, and appreciate your continued commitment to MSK and our patients.


  6. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People, their mission, overall culture

    Cons

    I have nothing really bad to say about MSKCC

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks so much for your positive feedback; we're pleased to hear that you find MSK to be a great place to work!


  7. "Administrative Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The benefits and job stability are great. There is a great work life balance supported by all.

    Cons

    It can be very difficult to more up, especially from an entry level position. Change happens slowly and you don't get much exposure to other departments. The salary is mediocre and disappointing after working there for 3 years and seeing the difficulty at gaining a higher up position with a higher salary, though my reviews were always great.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments regarding our excellent benefits and work culture. If you'd like to discuss your concerns about opportunities for advancement in more detail, we recommend contacting your HR ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice people, great benefits, great salary

    Cons

    Always have to be very efficient

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate with us more

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback regarding our workforce culture and benefits, and will share your comment about the importance of communication from management.


  9. "OPRep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outpatient Center Representative in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Outpatient Center Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, and wonderful people and environment.

    Cons

    Inconsistent work hours (draining), no room for advancement, no matter how overqualified you are. You have to know the right person in order to get anywhere (interview). I loved my job, but it was getting boring and i needed something more challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Management never seemed to want to advance you or your skills and held back your growth as a career person. Putting me in a hard decision to advance my skills and leave the organization all together. This eventually hurts the company, and lose out on great employees.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of burned out scientists"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exposure to top level science. Being part of a hospital allows cross-pollination between clinical and basic science. Located in New York city.

    Cons

    The complete lack of mentorship for post-docs and graduate students by most PIs is one of the biggest issues. The environment is not welcoming to women - the gender ratio of laboratory heads is abysmal.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jan 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your comments regarding the cutting edge research performed at MSK, and we encourage you to contact your HR Business Partner to discuss the concerns you've expressed.


  11. "Great Place to Work!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Good work environment
    -Room for Growth
    -Tuition Reimbursement
    -Great Location

    Cons

    -Traveling time/commute
    -Divide between departments
    -Some facilities not fully equipped

    Advice to Management

    -Management does a great job in maintaining high standards

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your positive comments; we agree that MSK is a great place to work!


Showing 437 of 799 reviews
Reset Filters