Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews in New York, NY | Glassdoor

Memorial Sloan Kettering New York Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
26 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York, NY

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Last but not least there is no room for growth unless you work in administration or at the Main campus in NY (in 16 reviews)

  • Base post doc salary with no experience is 50K, which does not really defray the high cost of living in New York (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Housekeeping aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - House Keeping Aid in New York, NY
    Former Employee - House Keeping Aid in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company they cut the great benefits that make them medium when I start working there 14 years ago top 1 now on the 80s

    Cons

    Bad and poor management people in the administration of the department who don't have any idea how to run the department and abuse of the employees because they are afraid to lose their jobs

    Advice to Management

    To de administration clean the director and crew before is too late

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. If you'd like to share additional feedback - please send us a direct message on www.facebook.com/MSKCareers.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "great benefits, decent support, cruddy laboratory environments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Fellow in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Fellow in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    post doc fellows get free benefits for self and spouse, admin support is pretty good

    Cons

    aside from undetermined hours, laboratory environment is terrible. the smarter people are, the more childlike politics and games they place. most people in an academic research setting have not worked outside of academics or are fresh graduates that have fallen straight into research, so be aware- they don't understand professionalism, and dont understand the difference between 'friends' and gossip. Many of the bosses or research mentors are quite the same, regardless of their expertise.

    Advice to Management

    have professionalism courses for PIs, post docs, medical fellows to attend. the game of telephone should not be allowed to be played in such a setting

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that as a fellow at MSK you found our benefits offerings valuable. We will also share your feedback with our leadership team.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits to offset substandard workplace environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Physician in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, including 403b employer match, healthcare plan options, good vacation AND generous sick day balances. Good employee perks and subsidized housing.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency. Ambiguous advancement criteria. Substandard leadership and mentoring. Very political climate. Shortage of competent colleagues. Below average salary.

    Advice to Management

    None. Advice to potential/current employees: Management has a set agenda. Align with it and you'll be fine.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoy the benefits offerings and time off. It's disappointing to see that you have found a negative experience with leadership and mentoring. We... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of burned out scientists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exposure to top level science. Being part of a hospital allows cross-pollination between clinical and basic science. Located in New York city.

    Cons

    The complete lack of mentorship for post-docs and graduate students by most PIs is one of the biggest issues. The environment is not welcoming to women - the gender ratio of laboratory heads is abysmal.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jan 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your comments regarding the cutting edge research performed at MSK, and we encourage you to contact your HR Business Partner to discuss the concerns you've expressed.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Physican Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    My experience -Great co workers and admins descent salary -but not great overall
    too many managers in roles where they do not know the position but get hired because of their degree and not experience
     seniority means very little

    Cons

    POA's have no job growth- no upward mobility no flexible schedules in comparison to other similar positions -for those who do not know the role of a POA - it Is to handle and basically manage the entire office similar to an office manager position however MSK does not compensate appreciate or offer any flexibility in the position; that is why no one stays for long and most will leave to work at other institutions
    also during inclement weather be prepared-you are expected to be at your desk on time without hearing a "be safe" or we want you to be careful because you are important to us or a general wish of your well being -no you need to answer those phones it's more important to them then your safety

    Advice to Management

    Offer flexible schedules or telecommuting opportunities to POA's studies show it increases moral - retains employees and show some appreciation-most long time employees don't feel appreciated - I believe MSK is capable of change and really living up to being one of the best employers to work for if it really respects and treats ALL of its employees fairly

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that your experience as a Physician Office Assistant didn't meet your expectations. We are extremely appreciative of our staff members at all... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Clinical Research Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Supervisor in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Challenging work
    -Intelligent, driven people
    -Fulfilling work, you know you're contributing to an incredible cause

    Cons

    -Work/life balance isn't great
    -Often feel like a cog in the wheel
    -Alarmist culture, negligible issues are magnified and everything becomes a blame game
    -Hierarchical culture, the MDs are often condescending and rude
    -"No news is good news" culture, positive feedback is rare and sparse
    -Salary is way below market rate
    -High rate of staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Highlight your employees' positive attributes and successes as well as their personal areas of improvement. Increase baseline salaries and consider offering bonuses- this will help with staff retainment and work ethic. Promote a healthy work environment that is non-judgmental of peers and that does not perpetuate gossip.


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Difficult to be promoted...poor communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Great benefits, good team players

    Cons

    Worked there for 21 years and they refused to promote me even with excellent yearly performance appraisals! They have preference among their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Need to evaluate the Latin employees more closely and grant the promotions to those who really work hard and are dedicated to the well care of patients and work hard to deliver the center's mission!

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    May 31, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear your experience was negative, especially around promotional opportunities. If you'd like to share additional details, that may allow us to... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "My department is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hospital has lots of money so in theory patient care is put first

    Cons

    My department is full of managers who do not communicate with each other and/or do not like each other. This creates problems that affect job satisfaction and patient care, too. The department also employs very dated technology and is very wasteful of money.

    Advice to Management

    Pare down management and employ modern technology.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    May 31, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you'd like to share additional details, that may allow us to help future team members - please private message us on our Facebook page at... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than a year)

    Pros

    Innovative Oncology Research and Care

    Cons

    silos, bureaucracy, entrenchment, unbalanced,


  10. "Research Study Assistant 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, work with like-minded individuals who are all interested in furthering their careers in medicine

    Cons

    Incredibly unorganized, you are expected to become an excel wizard on your own (hire a CIS student instead), very tedious and overwhelming workload, overtime is a necessity

    Advice to Management

    Hire CIS majors instead of pre-medicine students for research/administrative careers


Showing 26 of 881 reviews
Reset Filters