Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews in New York, NY | Glassdoor

Memorial Sloan Kettering New York Reviews

Updated April 24, 2017
399 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York, NY

399 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Last but not least there is no room for growth unless you work in administration or at the Main campus in NY (in 15 reviews)

  • Base post doc salary with no experience is 50K, which does not really defray the high cost of living in New York (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Excellent place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Charge RN in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Charge RN in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    MSK seems to hire the cream of the crop. Lazy co-workers or people just there to collect a paycheck are very rare.

    Cons

    Having time to pursue projects can be difficult, as the workload is high.

    Advice to Management

    Add structured time allowed for promotional requirements and to increase employee interest/prevent stagnation or overwork


  2. "MSKCC Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Study Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Research Study Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent benefits, elite team, amazing patient work, some opportunities like conference visits and presentations to develop skills

    Cons

    too much overtime expectation, growing demand is not being appropriately matched with a growing staff, people are overworked.

    Advice to Management

    hire more folks, focus on retaining them and not getting what you can out of them.


  3. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, low key environment

    Cons

    Co-workers are not motivated, not much advancement

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that you feel there aren't enough advancement opportunities and encourage you to review the open job opportunities on the Internal Job ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Interesting work & people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bioinformatics Engineer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Bioinformatics Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Forefront of cancer treatment
    - Nice colleagues
    - See impact of your work

    Cons

    - Research can be isolated

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication between research groups. Set up more shared services. Performance reviews should include anonymous management reviews as well.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're proud to hear that you are seeing the impact and value of your work on the forefront of cancer treatment, and will share your feedback regarding group communication ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, diverse group of hard workers, there are interesting networking opportunities that may be of interest for the younger generation

    Cons

    Some managers are not equipped to supervise the incoming millennials and it effects negatively in the long run for their budding careers

    Advice to Management

    Share your past experience with your staff, offer constructive criticism, not just negative feedback

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Nov 22, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We're proud to hear that you enjoyed your diverse and hard-working colleagues. We're disappointed to hear that you found some issues with millennial management, we ... More


  7. "Great"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Pharmacy Technician in New York, NY
    Current Intern - Pharmacy Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering as an intern (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly staff everywhere from doctors to security to enviornmental services

    Cons

    Can't think of anything except everything is about cancer!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Long term employee with MSK"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    MSK takes care of its employees and makes sure that staff it has trained have the best opportunities within MSK so that they do not look outside. The benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Being in New York, space is always an issue and often the work done may not be rewarded with an appropriate office space.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and promote the visibility of your employees prior to their asking for such recognition.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Nov 4, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear that you recognize our training opportunities and benefits. As an organization in an exciting growth mode, we understand that space ... More


  9. "Sessions Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Session Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Session Assistant in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Being able to help people who actually need it

    Cons

    Clinic I worked for was very unorganized and the supervisor didn't do anything to solve the issue

    Advice to Management

    Like secret shoppers, put in some secret patients at 53rd st

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Nov 4, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear your feedback in relation to the clinic that you worked in and will share with our leadership team.


  10. "Postdoctoral Research Scholar"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scholar in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scholar in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great science, Good benefits, Nice workplace

    Cons

    Less salary as compared to NYC

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Oct 14, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as a Post Doc Research Scholar. We're happy to hear that you enjoy the workplace, benefits and exciting science that is happening here at MSK.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Secretary III"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Secretary III in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Secretary III in New York, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    They help pay for school through tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Not easy to change departments or careers

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review. We're proud to offer tuition reimbursement to our full-time employees of $12,500/year and for qualifying part-time employees, $6,250/year. We're disappointed to hear ... More



Showing 399 of 797 reviews
Reset Filters