Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews | Glassdoor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews

Updated April 17, 2018
990 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

990 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • work/life balance can be skewed (in 21 reviews)

  • Room for growth varies depending on clinic/interest/management (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "POA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Amazing experience working with physicians and management

    Cons

    Not even pay for the amount of doctors covering


  2. "happy with msk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, culture, good co-workers, a good place to work overall

    Cons

    compensation is a bit low, especially for where it is located

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great and supportive organization, but falls to the whims of corporate practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than a year)

    Pros

    MSKCC is a great organization. I was a loud and proud employee. As a staff nurse I felt supported by my superiors. I always had appropriate resources available to me to do the best job I could.

    Cons

    Like any hospital, MSKCC struggles with nurse retention. Management fails to hire nurses at a steady rate and waits until a mass exodus happens to fill the gaps. I have heard that until a position is physically vacated, the job cannot be posted by HR. Unfortunately, quantity is valued over quality and my manager hired nurses who were not qualified for my unit. This is one of the reasons I left.

    Advice to Management

    Nurses are the backbone or your organization, not money. Plan your budgets wisely. So what if you're overstaffed for 3 months? 3 months later you won't be and nurses will be unhappy and leave and you're paying people overtime.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We take your feedback seriously and will share it with nursing leadership. We wish you the best of luck in your next role.


  4. "Fund Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and ability to create your own work day, and path to success.

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of desire to compensate employees competitively.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. It's unfortunate to hear that you were disappointed with the compensation for your role, and wish you the best of luck in your next opportunity.


  5. "Session Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Great mission, sense of pride working for MSK. Highly professional environment and comprehensive training program. Salary is decent for an entry level position, and comes with a great benefits package. Plenty of opportunity for overtime. Above anything else, satisfaction of helping patients in any way that you can.

    Cons

    The hours can be brutal. It starts to take a toll on your health when you are scheduled to stay late one day (until 7:30 pm) and scheduled in early the next day (7:15 am) and you have a long commute to top it off. Also, I felt that in the hiring process they were not as clear as they could have been pertaining to what exactly you do in this role. To sum it up, the vast majority of what you do is schedule appointments, treatments, and tests for patients. Unless you want to climb up the administrative ladder, there is little room for advancement in this position. In most cases you would have to obtain outside education/skills in order to transition to another track.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing. They micro manage to the point of calling you for arriving 2 minutes late, even if you consistently stay later than scheduled to cover a clinic that is running behind. Doing that can cause employee morale to go down because you may feel unappreciated by management.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We recognize the hard work and dedication that our Session Assistants bring to our clinics and most importantly our patients each day. Thank you for your time with MSK... More


  6. "Inviting calm atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Technologist in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Medical Technologist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on projects. Co workers were patient and friendly. Cafeteria food is good.

    Cons

    I loved working there. I worked in the lab and Lockers are small..

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you found the MSK environment and your colleagues warm and inviting. We wish you the best of luck in your new role.


  7. "The best in Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits and management staff.

    Cons

    Not all the managers are qualified to lead.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.l We're pleased to hear you enjoy the benefits offerings at MSK and our leadership.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    great resources
    good foundation for a new nurse

    Cons

    diversity is poor. there isn't a minority that you'll meet who tells you that they don't see MSK as institutionally racist. the treatment of colored staff is horrible. the opportunities to be on committees or for advancement in career aren't offered either. though if I was a white female I would say this is where you want to be,

    Advice to Management

    diversify upper management, the mistreatment starts there! the work culture is horrible which is why the hospital has a horrible turnover rate for new employees. as a manager, if you see mistreatment make it your mission to correct and actually partake in resolving the issue and preventing it from occurring again rather than watching it happen, and continually keeping a blind eye.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. MSK is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer committed to diversity and inclusion in all aspects of recruiting and employment. If you would like to share... More


  9. "Memorial Sloan Kettering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - POA in New York, NY
    Current Employee - POA in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    You have to climb a specific ladder to move up.

    Advice to Management

    If someone shows potential give them an opportunity to grow.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you appreciate our benefits offerings and encourage you to take advantage of our learning and development benefits as well.


  10. "Best Hospital to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    This hospital gives you the opportunity to advance. Great competitive salaries

    Cons

    Wished they were more MSK locations in Florida

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are proud of our opportunities for growth and development across the organization.


Showing 990 of 1,052 reviews
Reset Filters