Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Sloan Kettering President & CEO Craig B. Thompson
Craig B. Thompson
862 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, competitive salary, great benefits(in 207 reviews)

  • "Excellent environment for working with good benefits(in 121 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance mostly terrible(in 55 reviews)

  • "There are no cons to working at MSK(in 47 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Memorial Sloan Kettering and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Research Project Associate

      Feb 21, 2021 - Research Project Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, tuition reimbursement, excellent doctors and nurses

      Cons

      High turnover in entry-level positions, minimal training

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Supportive management

      May 22, 2021 - Clinical Research Supervisor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive management with understanding of room to grow via project management

      Cons

      Very busy workload, yet meaningful

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for the feedback, we’re proud to have you as a member of our team.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great colleagues, not enough room for growth

      May 24, 2021 - Care Coordinator II in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've never worked somewhere with nicer individuals. I truly met some of my best friends to this day because everyone who works here is naturally empathetic and compassionate. On the administrative team, everyone supports each other and it is not uncommon for a colleague to quietly pick up extra work to assist another struggling team member. This was my first job out of college so I found this culture to be incredibly helpful. They also train you incredibly thoroughly so that by the time you are on your own you feel very confident which I appreciated. A lot of opportunity for overtime Many sites offer a 4-day work week TUITION REIMBURSEMENT!!

      Cons

      Growth opportunities are incredibly limited. I postponed a promotion to interview for a job in a different department (same job but different specialty) and I went through three interviews and then 5 months of radio silence only to be told they were going with an outside hire. When I asked the team that interviewed me for feedback they did not respond and I never was given any clarity on how to improve my chances so I didn't apply again. Also during my 3+ years at the institution, we were consistently short-staffed which definitely contributed to a lot of burnout on the staff. It is very common to be asked to stay multiple hours past your shift with little to no notice.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It is more than what you think.. just know what you're getting in to!

      Jun 13, 2021 - Care Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful facility, fantastic supportive peers, wonderful patients. Great to engage with patients and get to know them and be there for them. The salary and benefits are competitive; especially great for new college grads.

      Cons

      The training does not prepare you for what you will take on at regional locations outside of main campus. Locations are understaffed and overworked. . You have more tasks than what you are led to believe, and it can be very stressful. Morale is low in this role, even with the most experienced CC's as complaints of stress and burnout are rampant. You do not receive your schedule one week in advance - you actually receive it late Thursday evening / Friday the week before. Work follows you home, as no matter how short-staffed, whatever you don't complete will follow you to the next day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company....Terrible Internal Management at Certain Departments

      Mar 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company itself is a great place to work with competitive pay and benefits. Many of the departments collaborate well with each other and you truly feel like you are contributing to the mission of the organization which is to focus on providing the best treatment for cancer.

      Cons

      Unfortunately leadership at some departments particularly in support services like Environmental Health & Safety lack true leadership skills or concern for the department. Internal mobility and diversity is something the company is focused on but this has not been communicated with department heads who are insistent on hiring out for roles where internal staff are more than capable of stepping into these roles (these lower level staff end up training the senior managers who last only 1 to 2 years most with the cycle continuing). Additionally, age and educational biases exist in senior leadership at certain departments where younger staff members who have the experience and skills to step into leadership positions are not promoted due to biases by department heads against age and/or educational background.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience. There are many initiatives underway to address internal career mobility, as well as Equality, Diversity and Inclusion across the Institution. If you’d like to share additional details, please contact your supervisor or your Human Resources Business Partner.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company...

      Apr 28, 2021 - Office Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the company, the pay is good and the pay raises are often. I like that I get vacation and sick hours earned on every check. A lot of other benefits and pretty good job stability. A lot of room to grow depending on where you are. A lot of classes offered that you can take advantage of to grow and learn from.

      Cons

      A lot of the services can be like high school. A lot of gossip. This is NOT limited to fresh out of college people. The assistant to the former chief of the Thoracic service is the biggest gossip there is and she is not young. A lot of overall negative energy if you land in a bad service or one with a lot of people who want to talk and socialize all day and not work. I suggest if you can in this position, you can be a floater and test out the service. This way you can leave like I did once you notice how bad it is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good env

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice ppl and good salary

      Cons

      Less flexible in work and intense work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      May 4, 2021 - Patient Care Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment and teamwork among the staff members. The patients are always expressing their gratitude for the care they're given. This is truly a great company that makes you feel like you belong here and always expresses your work is appreciated.

      Cons

      As a pct for main pacu, the only con I can think of is having to work 5 days worth of 8 hour shifts in the beginning. As someone who is planning to go to nursing school while working full time might find this difficult to manage both responsibilities. However, the manager is always welcoming about trying to work with you about your schedule if you have any aspirations that will require you to rearrange your work and school schedules.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good but can be better

      Feb 5, 2021 - Office Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Institution as a whole, company core values, staff appreciation. Great benefits overall - 20 days of backup day care a plus.

      Cons

      Lacking inclusion and equity for working parents especially during COVID-19 due to lack of resources/schooling/daycare for our children. Not really flexible/family friendly. Forcing staff in my current role to come onsite when we had successfully completed our tasks 100% for a few months.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you’d like to share more, please contact the HR Resource Center (hrrc@mskcc.org).

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very Silo'd

      Jun 2, 2021 - IT Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very smart and kind people work here

      Cons

      The Org structure is very convoluted. It's hard to find the right people to work with and collaborate effectively. Little to no design or requirements for new products come from leadership causing a lot of responsibilities to be shifted downwards. Since connecting the dots is difficult, we have an incredible number of meetings which takes time away from getting actual work done, leading to poor work-life balance. There are a lot of politics in play as well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,013 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Memorial Sloan Kettering Job Seekers

    Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Research Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Research Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Memorial Sloan Kettering? Share Your Experiences

    or